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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission of Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the 
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation 
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or 
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective 
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to 
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months 
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; S. Bernard 
Goodwyn. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

February 2008 through December 2008 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

24:11 January 16, 2008 February 4, 2008 

24:12 January 30, 2008 February 18, 2008 

24:13 February 13, 2008 March 3, 2008 

24:14 February 27, 2008 March 17, 2008 

INDEX 2 Volume 24  April 2008 

24:15 March 12, 2008 March 31, 2008 

24:16 March 26, 2008 April 14, 2008 

24:17 April 9, 2008 April 28, 2008 

24:18 April 23, 2008 May 12, 2008 

24:19 May 7, 2008 May 26, 2008 

24:20 May 21, 2008 June 9, 2008 

INDEX 3 Volume 24  July 2008 

24:21 June 4, 2008 June 23, 2008 

24:22 June 18, 2008 July 7, 2008 

24:23 July 2, 2008 July 21, 2008 

24:24 July 16, 2008 August 4, 2008 

24:25 July 30, 2008 August 18, 2008 

24:26 August 13, 2008 September 1, 2008 

FINAL INDEX Volume 24  October 2008 

25:1 August 27, 2008 September 15, 2008 

25:2 September 10, 2008 September 29, 2008 

25:3 September 24, 2008 October 13, 2008 

25:4 October 8, 2008 October 27, 2008 

25:5 October 22, 2008 November 10, 2008 

25:6 November 5, 2008 November 24, 2008 

25:7 November 18, 2008 (Tuesday) December 8, 2008 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Fall 2007 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 21, dated June 
25, 2007). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 55-30-10 through 1 VAC 55-30-90 Added 23:26 VA.R. 4413-4416 10/3/07 
1 VAC 55-30-10 through 1 VAC 55-30-90 Erratum 24:7 VA.R. 940 -- 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-110 (Forms) Amended 23:26 VA.R. 4452 -- 
2 VAC 5-210-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1096 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-210-41 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1097 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-580-10 through 2 VAC 5-580-310 Repealed 24:2 VA.R. 72 10/16/07 
2 VAC 5-585-10 through 2 VAC 5-585-4070 Added 24:2 VA.R. 72-133 10/16/07 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-50-40 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4107 * 
3 VAC 5-50-50 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-80 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-100 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-130 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4109 * 
3 VAC 5-50-140 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4110 * 
3 VAC 5-70-225 emer Added 24:10 VA.R. 1257 1/2/08-1/1/09 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 5-36-50 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 638 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-60 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 644 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-70 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 645 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-90 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 647 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-100 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 649 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-110 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 654 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-120 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 655 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-130 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 656 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-140 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 657 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-150 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 659 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-200 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 662 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-210 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 670 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-220 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 675 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-50 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1258 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-130 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1259 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-210 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-5 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-200-10 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 676 10/26/07 

                                                           
* Objection to Fast-Track Rulemaking 24:1 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 15-270-40 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 676 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-270-80 Added 24:6 VA.R. 676 10/26/07 
4 VAC 15-270-90 Added 24:6 VA.R. 677 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-320-25 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1265 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-100 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1274 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-20 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-60 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-70 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-360-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1276 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 555 11/1/07 
4 VAC 20-150-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1277 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-55 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-90 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 471 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-252-100 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 471 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-252-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-150 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-230 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-260-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 472 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 472 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-30 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 473 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-35 Added 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-60 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-25 Added 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 960 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 emer Amended 24:8 VA.R. 962 11/28/07-12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1282 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-650-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 475 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-650-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 475 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 475 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Erratum 24:5 VA.R. 621 -- 
4 VAC 20-720-40 through 4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 478-480 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-95 Added 24:4 VA.R. 480 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-110 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 480 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-10 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 133 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-20 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 133 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 136 9/1/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 556 11/1/07 
4 VAC 20-960-45 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-47 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 965 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1120-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3871 6/28/07 
4 VAC 20-1130-10 through 4 VAC 20-1130-70 Added 24:8 VA.R. 968-970 12/1/07 
4 VAC 25-20 (Forms) Amended 23:24 VA.R. 3968 -- 
4 VAC 25-50-10 through 4 VAC 25-50-110 Repealed 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07 
4 VAC 25-130-777.17 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3875 7/1/07 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-20-10 through 6 VAC 15-20-230 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3697-3703 8/9/07 
6 VAC 15-61-10 through 6 VAC 15-61-300 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 970 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-10 through 6 VAC 15-62-120 Added 24:8 VA.R. 970-979 1/24/08 
6 VAC 20-120-40 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4177 9/19/07 
6 VAC 35-20-37 emer Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4178 8/1/07-7/31/08 
6 VAC 35-180-10 through 6 VAC 35-180-170 Added 24:5 VA.R. 557-561 1/1/08 
6 VAC 35-190-10 through 6 VAC 35-190-110 Added 24:2 VA.R. 137-139 10/31/07 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6 VAC 40-50-80 emer Added 23:23 VA.R. 3876 7/1/06-12/29/07 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6 VAC 40-50-80 Added 24:9 VA.R. 1103-1104 2/6/08 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-21-10 through 8 VAC 20-21-730 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4179 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-22-10 through 8 VAC 20-22-760 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4179-4214 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3876 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-190-10 Repealed 24:5 VA.R. 562 1/1/08 
8 VAC 20-500-10 Repealed 24:5 VA.R. 563 1/1/08 
8 VAC 20-541-10 through 8 VAC 20-541-60 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4214 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-542-10 through 8 VAC 20-542-600 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4214-4270 9/21/07 
8 VAC 35-60-10 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 35-60-20 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 35-60-30 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 40-140-10 through 8 VAC 40-140-90 Added 23:22 VA.R. 3704-3706 7/1/07 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-20-203 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 564 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-20-204 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 565 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-40-20 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 566 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-50-20 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 570 12/12/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
9 VAC 5-50-400 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 573 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-50-410 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 573 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-60 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-90 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-92 Added 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-95 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-100 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 580 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 587 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1061 Added 24:6 VA.R. 679 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1062 Added 24:6 VA.R. 680 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2061 Added 24:6 VA.R. 681 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2062 Added 24:6 VA.R. 682 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3061 Added 24:6 VA.R. 683 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3062 Added 24:6 VA.R. 683 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3400 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 594 12/12/07 
9 VAC 20-60-18 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1106 2/6/08 
9 VAC 20-130-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 480 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 484 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-60 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 484 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-70 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 484 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-90 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 485 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-110 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 485 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-120 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 486 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-120 Erratum 24:6 VA.R. 889 -- 
9 VAC 20-130-125 Added 24:4 VA.R. 488 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-125 Erratum 24:6 VA.R. 889 -- 
9 VAC 20-130-130 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-140 Repealed 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-150 Repealed 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-165 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-175 through 9 VAC 20-130-230 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 490-493 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-200 Erratum 24:6 VA.R. 889 -- 
9 VAC 25-20-10 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 701 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-20 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 702 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-30 Repealed 24:6 VA.R. 702 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-40 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 702 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-50 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 703 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-60 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 703 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-90 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 704 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-100 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 704 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-110 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 705 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-120 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 706 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-130 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 708 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-146 Added 24:6 VA.R. 708 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-147 Added 24:6 VA.R. 709 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-148 Added 24:6 VA.R. 709 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-149 Added 24:6 VA.R. 709 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 313 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-31-100 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 711 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-120 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 309 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-31-165 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 333 11/14/07 
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9 VAC 25-31-220 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 731 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-290 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 735 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-460 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 738 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-475 Added 24:6 VA.R. 738 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-485 Added 24:6 VA.R. 738 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-505 Added 24:6 VA.R. 739 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32 (Forms) Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1316 -- 
9 VAC 25-32-40 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 739 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-60 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 739 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-80 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 740 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-100 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 743 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-140 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 743 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-210 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 744 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-220 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 745 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-240 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 745 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-300 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 745 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-310 through 9 VAC 25-32-760 Added 24:6 VA.R. 746-781 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-120-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-50 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1109 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-40 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1125 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1132 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1136 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-116 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1140 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1142 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-260-5 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 139 9/11/07 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 140 9/11/07 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 908 ** 
9 VAC 25-260-50 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-187 Added 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-310 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-480 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-660-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1144 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1145 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1147 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1156 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1157 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1158 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1159 2/6/08 

                                                           
** Effective upon filing notice of U.S. EPA approval with Registrar. 
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9 VAC 25-680-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1170 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1172 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1174 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1175 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1176 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1188 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1190 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3881 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3888 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3895 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 140 11/15/07 
9 VAC 25-720-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3901 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 147 11/15/07 
9 VAC 25-790-10 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 784 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-50 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 787 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-60 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 787 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-120 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 788 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-130 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 790 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-150 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 790 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-180 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 791 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-200 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 791 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-240 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 791 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-540 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 792 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-550 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 792 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-570 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 795 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-580 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 797 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-590 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 797 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-600 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 798 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-660 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 799 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-880 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 799 1/1/08 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-45-10 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 595 12/12/07 
11 VAC 10-45-25 Added 24:5 VA.R. 596 12/12/07 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-31-2300 through 12 VAC 5-31-2970 Added 24:6 VA.R. 806-818 1/1/08 
12 VAC 5-40-10 through 12 VAC 5-40-190 Repealed 24:6 VA.R. 806 1/1/08 
12 VAC 5-90-80 emer Amended 24:5 VA.R. 597 10/24/07-10/23/08 
12 VAC 5-125-10 through 12 VAC 5-125-180 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3904-3919 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-421-10 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 149 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-90 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 157 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 157 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 158 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-140 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 158 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-160 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-170 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-180 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-190 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-230 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-250 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-295 Added 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-300 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-330 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-340 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-350 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-360 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-430 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-440 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-450 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-460 Added 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-500 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-530 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-550 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-560 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-570 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-580 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-590 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-600 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-670 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-720 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-765 Added 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-780 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-790 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-800 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-830 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-840 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 169 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-850 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 169 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-860 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 170 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-870 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 170 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-880 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-890 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-900 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-910 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-920 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-930 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-940 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 172 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-950 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 172 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-970 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-990 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1000 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1010 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-1020 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1030 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1040 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1070 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1090 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1260 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1300 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1320 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1330 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1340 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1350 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1360 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1370 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1460 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1510 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1530 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1540 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1640 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1660 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1670 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1690 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1710 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1720 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1730 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1750 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1780 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1810 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1880 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1890 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1900 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2010 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2080 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2190 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2210 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2320 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2630 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-2680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2710 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2790 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2810 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2840 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2850 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2870 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2880 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2930 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2990 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3040 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3210 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3230 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3370 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3380 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3450 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3510 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3560 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3580 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3590 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3660 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3750 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 187 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3800 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3815 Added 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3860 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3900 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3970 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4000 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4035 Added 24:2 VA.R. 190 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4050 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4070 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-585-70 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 602 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-510 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 602 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-600 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 607 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-610 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 607 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-620 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 612 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-630 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 614 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-760 through 12 VAC 5-585-830 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4298-4301 10/1/07 
12 VAC 30-10-820 Added 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/31/07 
12 VAC 30-60-500 emer Added 23:26 VA.R. 4427 8/8/07-8/7/08 
12 VAC 30-80-40 emer Amended 24:3 VA.R. 377 10/1/07-9/30/08 
12 VAC 30-120 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4080 -- 
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12 VAC 30-120-370 emer Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4029 9/1/07-8/31/08 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4032 9/1/07-8/31/08 
12 VAC 30-120-1500 through 12 VAC 30-120-1550 Added 24:6 VA.R. 819-829 12/26/07 
12 VAC 30-135-100 through 12 VAC 30-135-360 Added 24:2 VA.R. 196-218 12/1/07 
12 VAC 35-115-10 through 12 VAC 35-115-250 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4301-4340 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-90 Erratum 24:6 VA.R. 889 -- 
12 VAC 35-115-145 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4329 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-146 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4330 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-160 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4332 9/19/07 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-31 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4079 -- 
13 VAC 5-91 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4080 -- 
13 VAC 5-112-340 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 979 1/23/08 
13 VAC 10-40-20 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 911 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-60 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 914 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-80 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 915 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-100 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 916 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-110 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 917 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-120 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 917 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-130 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 917 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-170 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 920 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-190 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 920 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-210 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 921 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-230 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 921 11/13/07 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-215-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-30 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3769 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-80 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-420-10 through 14 VAC 5-420-60 Added 24:7 VA.R. 926-931 2/15/08 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3933 8/23/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.6 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.66 Appendix D Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.302 through 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.308 

Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 

16 VAC 25-90-1910.399 Subpart S Appendix A  Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-170 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1285 2/20/08 
18 VAC 41-70-10 through 18 VAC 41-70-280 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4349-4359 9/20/07 
18 VAC 50-30-10 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 416 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-40 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 418 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-90 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-120 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-130 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 420 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-190 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 421 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-200 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 422 11/15/07 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 24, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 4, 2008 

1337 
 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
18 VAC 50-30-220 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 422 11/15/07 
18 VAC 60-20-17 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 424 11/29/07 
18 VAC 60-20-71 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1287 3/10/08 
18 VAC 65-10-10 through 18 VAC 65-10-80 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 226-228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-110 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 85-20-140 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 27 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4360 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4361 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-20-290 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07 
18 VAC 85-20-400 through 18 VAC 85-20-420 Adding 23:25 VA.R. 4362-4363 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-40-61 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 28 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-40-61 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-40-65 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 28 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-50-58 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-80-72 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-101-152 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 30 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-110-155 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 30 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-120-130 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 229 10/31/07 
18 VAC 90-20-30 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4363 10/1/07 
18 VAC 90-20-225 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4364 10/1/07 
18 VAC 90-30-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-121 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1289 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-240 Added 24:3 VA.R. 427 11/29/07 
18 VAC 90-40-100 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 831 1/11/08 
18 VAC 90-60-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 429 11/29/07 
18 VAC 95-10-10 through 18 VAC 95-10-80 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 231-232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-10-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-10-110 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-10-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-30-10 through 18 VAC 95-30-210 Added 24:6 VA.R. 832-837 1/2/08 
18 VAC 105-20-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3791 9/24/07 
18 VAC 110-20-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 983 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-180 Erratum 24:3 VA.R. 444 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-321 Added 24:8 VA.R. 986 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-411 through 18 VAC 110-20-416 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 986-987 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-30-15 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-40-10 through 18 VAC 110-40-50 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 430-431 11/14/07 
18 VAC 110-50-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-160 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-170 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-180 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-190 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 112-20-81 emer Added 24:4 VA.R. 497 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-90 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 497 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-130 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 498 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-131 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 498 11/1/07-10/31/08 
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18 VAC 112-20-150 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 499 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 120-40-10 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4038 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-15 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4039 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-20 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4039 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-60 Repealed 24:3 VA.R. 433 12/29/07 
18 VAC 120-40-80 through 18 VAC 120-40-360 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4040-4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-221 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4043 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-222 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4043 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-295 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4048 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-342 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4050 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-370 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-380 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-385 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-390 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-400 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-410 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-411 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-411.1 through 18 VAC 120-40-411.21 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4054-4064 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4064 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.1 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.2 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.3 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-420 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4066 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-430 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4066 9/5/07 
18 VAC 130-20-10 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 838 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-30 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 842 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-60 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 843 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-110 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 844 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-170 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 844 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-180 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 844 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-210 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 846 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-220 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 847 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-230 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 847 1/1/08 
18 VAC 135-30 (Forms) Amended 24:1 VA.R. 41 -- 
18 VAC 135-40 (Forms) Amended 24:1 VA.R. 43 -- 
18 VAC 135-50-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3794 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-220 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-400 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-60-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1230 3/1/08 
18 VAC 150-10-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-110 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-120 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
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18 VAC 150-20-30 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 436 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 436 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-140 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 437 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-220 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-230 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-240 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-70-6 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-7 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-9 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 989 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 991 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-40 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 994 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 995 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 997 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-80 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 998 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-90 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-110 through 19 VAC 30-70-660 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001-1070 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-170-15 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 233 10/1/07 
19 VAC 30-170-50 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 233 10/1/07 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-417-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 513 10/9/07 
20 VAC 5-417-50 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 513 10/9/07 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
21 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3940 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-95 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3943 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-330 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3947 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3949 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-160 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3950 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-200 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3954 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-110 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4079 -- 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3959 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-110-75 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3960 7/1/07 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1295 3/6/08 
22 VAC 40-35-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3962 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-90 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3966 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-10 through 22 VAC 40-41-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3796-3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-55 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-72-55 Added 24:5 VA.R. 616 12/12/07 
22 VAC 40-72-367 Added 24:5 VA.R. 616 12/12/07 
22 VAC 40-72-930 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 38 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-72-960 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 39 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-375-10 through 22 VAC 40-375-60 Repealed 24:5 VA.R. 616 12/12/07 
22 VAC 40-470-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-685-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
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22 VAC 40-770-10 through 22 VAC 40-770-160 Repealed 24:2 VA.R. 234 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-771-10 through 22 VAC 40-771-160 Added 24:2 VA.R. 234-242 11/1/07 
22 VAC 42-10-10 through 22 VAC 42-10-1000 Repealed 24:6 VA.R. 849 12/28/07 
22 VAC 42-11-10 through 22 VAC 42-11-1090 Added 24:6 VA.R. 850-885 12/28/07 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-210-485 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-693 emer Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4364 7/26/07-07/25/08 
23 VAC 10-210-6041 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4068 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-6042 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-6043 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-240-20 through 23 VAC 10-240-60 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4372-4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-100 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-130 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-140 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-150 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-200 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-210 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-240 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-270 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-280 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-300 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-310 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-330 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-340 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-360 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-380 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-400 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-420 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-430 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-450 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-460 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 20-120-10 through 24 VAC 20-120-180 Repealed 24:4 VA.R. 516 1/1/08 
24 VAC 20-121-10 through 24 VAC 20-121-220 Adding 24:4 VA.R. 516-529 1/1/08 
24 VAC 22-20-10 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 439 12/1/07 
24 VAC 22-20-20 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 440 12/1/07 
24 VAC 27-10-10 through 24 VAC 27-10-120 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4071-4075 9/20/07 
24 VAC 30-45-10 Added 24:2 VA.R. 243 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-45-20 Added 24:2 VA.R. 243 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-45-30 Added 24:2 VA.R. 244 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-200-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 529 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 530 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-30 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 531 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-35 Added 24:4 VA.R. 532 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 533 11/28/07 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Board intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 3VAC5-50, Retail Operations. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to prohibit nudity on premises licensed 
for the sale of mixed beverages, and conform 3VAC5-50-140 
with a decision of the Fourth Circuit U. S. Court of Appeals 
by exempting performances involving serious literary, 
artistic, scientific, or political expression from the regulation's 
nudity prohibitions. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 5, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Jeffrey L. Painter, Legislative and 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control, P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone 
(804) 213-4621, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 
or email jeffrey.painter@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-924; Filed January 9, 2008, 9:20 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Board intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 3VAC5-50, Retail Operations. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to set out specific types of dangerous 
activity that alcoholic beverage licensees may not allow, or 
fail to take reasonable steps to prevent, control, or end on 
their licensed premises. The amendments will prohibit a 
licensee from operating a licensed establishment where 
violations of the criminal law are so frequent and serious as to 
constitute a continuing threat to public safety. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 5, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Jeffrey L. Painter, Legislative and 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control, P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone 

(804) 213-4621, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 
or email jeffrey.painter@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-925; Filed January 9, 2008, 9:21 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
9VAC25-720, Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation. The purpose of the proposed action is to consider 
Louisa County’s petition to add nutrient waste load 
allocations (WLAs) for its Zion Crossroads wastewater plant. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
33 USC 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 10, 2008. 

Agency Contact: John M. Kennedy, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4312, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-210; Filed January 9, 2008, 12:25 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING  

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Charitable Gaming Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
11VAC15-22, Charitable Gaming Rules and Regulations. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to (i) amend the 
definitions to reflect changes made by Chapters 160, 226 and 
347 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly and (ii) amend the 
Conduct of Games section (a) regarding the sale of instant 
bingo, (b) to address paid callers and managers, (c) to remove 
the annual report being allowed as a substitute for a quarterly 
report if the organization had no further charitable gaming 
income during the reporting period, and (d) to change the late 
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penalty from $25 per day until the report is filed, to a 
maximum of 30 days. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §18.2-340.19 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 5, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Harry M. Durham, Interim Director, 
Department of Charitable Gaming, James Monroe Building, 
101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-2598, FAX (804) 786-1079, or email 
harry.durham@dcg.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-960; Filed January 15, 2008, 12:39 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Charitable Gaming Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
11VAC15-31, Supplier Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to define "last sale game" and "bingo 
jackpots" to clarify those terms as used in Chapters 196 and 
790 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §18.2-340.19 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 5, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Harry M. Durham, Interim Director, 
Department of Charitable Gaming, James Monroe Building, 
101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-2598, FAX (804) 786-1079, or email 
harry.durham@dcg.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-961; Filed January 15, 2008, 12:48 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 12VAC 5-66, 
Regulations Governing Durable Do Not Resuscitate 
Orders. The purpose of the proposed action is to improve 
processes and ensure consistent care throughout the health 
care continuum with regard to do not resuscitate orders. 
Intended amendments include, but are not limited to (i) 

clarifications to ensure that patient's wishes regarding do not 
resuscitate orders are honored as provided for in §54.1-2987.1 
of the Code of Virginia and (ii) amendments to increase the 
availability of the authorized Durable Do Not Resuscitate 
Order Form. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 7, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Michael Berg, Compliance Director, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7615, FAX (804) 864-7580, or 
email michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1132; Filed January 11, 2008, 11:30 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes Board 
intends to consider promulgating the following regulations: 
16VAC25-73, Regulation Applicable to Tree Trimming 
Operations. The purpose of the proposed action is to reduce 
or eliminate employee injuries and fatalities by considering 
for adoption a comprehensive regulation to address 
nonlogging, arborist/tree trimming and cutting operations on 
residential and commercial work sites. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 6, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Regina P. Cobb, Agency Management 
Analyst Senior, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-
Taylor Building, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-0610, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email regina.cobb@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1044; Filed January 7, 2008, 3:27 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes Board 
intends to consider promulgating the following regulations: 
16VAC25-185, Confined Space Standard for Agriculture. 
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The purpose of the proposed action is to reduce or eliminate 
injuries, illnesses and fatal accidents associated with confined 
space hazards in agriculture, and to provide agricultural 
employees and employers with protective measures to use 
before and during entry into agricultural confined spaces to 
prevent entrants from being exposed to toxic or low oxygen 
atmospheres, hazardous chemicals and engulfment hazards. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 6, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Regina P. Cobb, Agency Management 
Analyst Senior, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-
Taylor Building, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-0610, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email regina.cobb@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1045; Filed January 7, 2008, 3:29 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
16VAC25-60, Administrative Regulation for the Virginia 
Occupational Safety and Health Program. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to provide Virginia Occupational 
Safety and Health (VOSH) personnel with procedures on how 
to exercise the commissioner’s statutory authority to take and 
preserve testimony, examine witnesses and administer oaths, 
in instances where witnesses/employees/supervisors refuse 
requests for interviews or refuse to answer specific questions 
posed by a VOSH inspector. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 6, 2008. 

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Policy and Planning 
Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Building, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1046; Filed January 7, 2008, 3:26 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 
(amending 3VAC5-50-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 9, 2008, through January 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jeffrey L. Painter, Legislative and 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control, P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone 
(804) 213-4621, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 
or email jeffrey.painter@abc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

On August 2. 2007, Judge Walter D. Kelley, Jr., of the 
United States District Court for the Eastern District of 
Virginia entered a preliminary injunction, enjoining the 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board and its agents from 
enforcing 3 VAC 5-50-140, as well as those portions of 
§§ 4.1-225, 4.1-226, and 4.1-325 of the Code of Virginia 
which prohibit lewd conduct on licensed premises and 
nudity and topless entertaining at mixed beverage 
establishments in Virginia. The court found that these 
provisions of the law were facially unconstitutional 
because they are overbroad. This ruling follows the 
decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the 
Fourth Circuit in the case of Carandola v. Fox, 470 F.3d 
1074 (2006), which held similar North Carolina laws 
overbroad because the statute did not contain an 
exemption for legitimate artistic expression. In its order 
enjoining enforcement of the current Virginia laws and 
regulation, the District Court indicated that the Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Board could move for dissolution of the 
preliminary injunction should the Commonwealth enact a 
statute or regulation that complies with the standards set 
forth in Carandola. 

There is convincing documented evidence that sexually-
oriented businesses, because of their very nature, have a 
deleterious effect on both the existing businesses around 
them and the surrounding areas adjacent to them, causing 
crime and other adverse effects on the health, safety and 
welfare of the public.  Without the enjoined Code and 
regulation provisions, there is currently no state law or 

regulation governing sexually oriented entertainment at 
establishments licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages, 
presenting an imminent threat to public health and safety. 

This emergency action will make three substantive changes 
to 3 VAC 5-50-140 to conform it to the Carandola decision 
and restore the status quo with respect to the regulation of 
nudity and sexually oriented behavior in licensed 
establishments.  First, it will add an exemption to the 
restrictions for legitimate theatrical performances and 
other performances involving serious literary, artistic, 
scientific, or political expression.  Second, it will prohibit 
nudity on mixed beverage licensed premises, as currently 
prohibited by the enjoined statutory provisions.  Finally, it 
will define the term “reasonably separated” as used in the 
existing portion of the regulation, to more clearly define 
the separation which must be maintained between nude 
entertainers and patrons in licensed establishments. 

3VAC5-50-140. Lewd or disorderly Prohibited conduct on 
licensed premises. 

While not limited thereto, the board shall consider the A. 
The following conduct upon any licensed premises to 
constitute lewd or disorderly conduct is prohibited: 

1. The real or simulated display of any portion of the 
genitals, pubic hair or buttocks, or any portion of the breast 
below the top of the areola, by any employee, or by any 
other person; except that when entertainers are on a 
platform or stage and reasonably separated from the 
patrons of the establishment, they shall be in conformity 
with subdivision 2; 

2. The real or simulated display of any portion of the 
genitals, pubic hair or anus by an entertainer, or any 
portion of the areola of the breast of a female entertainer. 
When not on a platform or stage and reasonably separate 
from the patrons of the establishment, entertainers shall be 
in conformity with subdivision 1; 

3. Any real or simulated act of sexual intercourse, sodomy, 
masturbation, flagellation or any other sexual act 
prohibited by law, by any person, whether an entertainer or 
not; or 

4. The fondling or caressing by any person, whether an 
entertainer or not, of his own or of another's breast, 
genitals or buttocks. 

As used in this section, the term "reasonably separated" shall 
mean that no portion of the body of an entertainer may come 
in contact with any portion of the body of a patron. 
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B. No mixed beverage licensee shall permit any person to 
enter or remain on the premises with less than a fully-opaque 
covering of the genitals, pubic hair or buttocks, or any portion 
of the breast below the top of the areola. 

C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to persons 
operating theaters, concert halls, art centers, museums, or 
similar establishments that are primarily devoted to the arts or 
theatrical performances, when the performances that are 
presented are expressing matters of serious literary, artistic, 
scientific, or political value. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-924; Filed January 9, 2008, 9:20 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations (adding 
3VAC5-50-145).  

Statutory Authority: §§4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 9, 2008, through January 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jeffrey L. Painter, Legislative and 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control, P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone 
(804) 213-4621, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 
or email jeffrey.painter@abc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble:  

On August 2. 2007, Judge Walter D. Kelley, Jr., of the 
United States District Court for the Eastern District of 
Virginia entered a preliminary injunction, enjoining the 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board and its agents from 
enforcing that portion of §4.1-225 of the Code of Virginia 
which prohibits alcoholic beverage licensees from 
allowing disorderly conduct on licensed premises in 
Virginia. With enforcement of this Code section enjoined, 
the board has no provision of law or regulation to address 
serious public safety issues on licensed premises.  
Approximately 20 pending disciplinary cases involving 
violations of peace and good order had to be continued 
generally or dismissed because of the injunction. In just the 
first weekend following the injunction’s issuance, three 
persons were injured, two seriously, in violent events at 
two of the licensed premises operated by plaintiffs in the 
lawsuit resulting in the injunction. The emergency 
regulation lists specific types of dangerous activity which 
licensees may not allow, or fail to take reasonable steps to 
prevent, control, and/or end on their licensed premises. It 
also prohibits a licensee from operating a licensed 
establishment where violations of the criminal law are so 
frequent and serious as to constitute a continuing threat to 
public safety. 

3VAC5-50-145. Dangerous and illegal conduct. 

A. No licensee shall permit, or fail to take reasonable steps 
to prevent, control, and/or end, the following conduct on its 
licensed premises: 

1. Fighting; 

2. Conduct involving an unreasonable risk of bodily harm 
to participants or others; 

3. Conduct having a direct tendency to cause acts of 
violence by the person or persons at whom, individually, 
such conduct is directed; or 

4. Violations of the criminal laws of the Commonwealth. 

B. No licensee shall operate an establishment where 
violations of the criminal law on or immediately adjacent to 
the premises are so frequent and serious as to be deemed a 
continuing threat to public safety. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-925; Filed January 9, 2008, 9:21 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 5. CORPORATIONS  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with §2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 5VAC5-20. State Corporation 
Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (amending 
5VAC5-20-20, 5VAC5-20-140, 5VAC5-20-150, 5VAC5-20-
170, 5VAC5-20-240).  

Statutory Authority: §§12.1-13 and 12.1-25 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 15, 2008.  

Agency Contact: William H. Chambliss, General Counsel, 
State Corporation Commission, 1300 East Main Street, P.O. 
Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9671, 
FAX (804) 371-9240, or email 
william.chambliss@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments expand the rules pertaining to electronic 
filing requirements to (i) include permitting the electronic 
filing of documents suitable for public disclosure less than 
100 pages in length and (ii) describe the process for 
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submitting large exhibits in hardcopy to accompany 
electronic filings. 

In response to comments filed by interested parties, the 
commission made several revisions from the proposed 
version of the regulation. The commission will now accept 
electronic filings at any time and the submission will be 
deemed filed on the date and at the time the electronic 
document is received by the commission’s database. If the 
document if filed electronically after the close of business 
or on a weekend or holiday, the document will be deemed 
filed on the next regular business day. A filer will receive 
an electronic notification identifying the date and time the 
document is received by the commission’s database. 
Another change permits electronic service on parties or 
staff in cases where all parties and staff have agreed to 
such service, or where the commission has provided for 
such service by order.  

AT RICHMOND, JANUARY 15, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. CLK-2007-00005 

Ex parte: In the matter concerning revised 
State Corporation Commission Rules of 
Practice and Procedure 

FINAL ORDER REVISING STATE CORPORATION 
COMMISSION RULES OF PRACTICE AND 

PROCEDURE 

The State Corporation Commission's ("Commission") Rules 
of Practice and Procedure, now codified at 5 VAC 5-20-10 et 
seq. ("Rules"), were last revised in 2001 in Case No. 
CLK-2000-00311.[1] Since then, changes have occurred in 
the industries and businesses subject to the regulatory 
authority of the Commission, including advancement in 
technology and increased reliance on electronic methods of 
communication in standard business practices. 

By Order entered on August 10, 2007, the Commission 
issued a proposed revision to the Rules ("Proposed Rules") 
which incorporated a procedure for electronic filing of 
documents with the Commission in lieu of paper copies. This 
August 10, 2007 Order invited interested parties to comment 
upon and suggest modifications or supplements to, or request 
a hearing on, the Proposed Rules. The Proposed Rules were 
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations and were 
made available at the Office of the Clerk of the Commission 
and the Commission's website. Interested parties were given 
until September 25, 2007, to file comments, proposals, or 
requests for hearing with the Clerk of the Commission in the 
proceeding. 

Nine parties submitted comments on the Proposed Rules, 
each supporting the concept of permissible electronic filings 

while suggesting some amendments to the Proposed Rules 
and the procedure for electronic filing. No requests for a 
hearing on the Proposed Rules were submitted. The parties 
submitting comments were: Cox Virginia Telcom, Inc.; 
Central Telephone Company of Virginia and United 
Telephone-Southeast, Inc.; Office of the Attorney General, 
Division of Consumer Counsel; Appalachian Power 
Company; The Conrad Firm; Brian R. Greene, Esquire; 
Virginia Electric and Power Company; Hunton & Williams 
L.L.P; and Columbia Gas of Virginia, Inc. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 
Proposed Rules and the comments and proposed 
modifications suggested by the interested parties, is of the 
opinion and finds that the revised Proposed Rules, as set forth 
in Attachment A hereto, should be adopted effective 
February 15, 2008. The Commission has considered all of the 
comments filed herein and made some revisions to the 
original Proposed Rules attached to the August 10, 2007 
Order. Said revisions are apparent from the tracked 
modifications captured in Attachment B, the version of the 
revised proposed rules filed with the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

The Commission acknowledges that a number of 
commenters have requested that a document submitted 
electronically be considered filed when the Commission 
receives the document, rather than having to wait for the 
manual date stamp process to occur. The Commission will 
now accept electronic filings at any time. The submission will 
be deemed filed on the date and at the time the electronic 
document is received by the Commission's database. If a 
document is filed electronically after the close of business or 
on a weekend or holiday, the document will be deemed filed 
on the next regular business day. Additionally, for the 
convenience of users of the electronic filing system, a filer 
will receive an electronic notification identifying the date and 
time the document is received by the Commission's database.  

The Commission believes that these changes to its Rules and 
filing processes will benefit the public generally and regular 
practitioners before the Commission specifically. We are also 
modifying the filing and service Rule (Rule 140) to permit 
electronic service on all parties and staff in cases where all 
parties and staff have agreed to such service, or where the 
Commission has provided for such service by order. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The current Rules of Practice and Procedure as set forth 
in 5 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. are hereby revised and changed, 
effective February 15, 2008, and are adopted in the form as 
reflected in Attachment A to this Order. 

(2) A copy of this Order and the Rules adopted herein shall 
be forwarded to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 
publication. 
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(3) This case shall be dismissed from the Commission's 
docket of active proceedings, and the papers filed herein shall 
be placed in the Commission's file for ended causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: E. Ford Stephens, Esquire, Christian & 
Barton, L.L.P., 909 East Main Street, Suite 1200, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219-3095; Brian R. Greene, Esquire, 
SeltzerGreene, PLC, Bank of America Center, 1111 East 
Main Street, Suite 1720, Richmond, Virginia 23219; 
Edward Phillips, Esquire, Embarq, Mailstop NCWKFR0313, 
14111 Capital Boulevard, Wake Forest, North Carolina 
27587-5900; Anthony J. Gambardella, Jr., Esquire, Woods 
Rogers PLC, 823 East Main Street, Suite 1200, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219; JoAnne L. Nolte, Esquire, The Conrad Firm, 
P.C., 1520 West Main Street, Suite 204, Richmond, Virginia 
23220; M. Renae Carter, Esquire, Dominion Resources 
Services, Inc., Law Department, P.O. Box 26532, Richmond, 
Virginia 23261; T. Borden Ellis, Esquire, Senior Attorney, 
NiSource Corporate Services Company, 1809 Coyote Drive, 
Chester, Virginia 23836; Richard D. Gary, Esquire, 
Hunton & Williams LLP, Riverfront Plaza, East Tower, 
951 East Byrd Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219-4074; Kiva 
Bland Pierce, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the 
Attorney General, Insurance and Utilities Regulatory Section, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; and the 
Commission's Office of General Counsel. 

 
[1] Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte: In the matter concerning revised State Corporation Commission Rules 
of Practice and Procedure, Case No. CLK-2000-00311, 2001 S.C.C. Ann. 
Rpt. 55. 
5VAC5-20-20. Good faith pleading and practice.  

Every pleading, written motion, or other [ paper document ] 
presented for filing by a party represented by an attorney shall 
be signed by at least one attorney of record in the attorney's 
individual name, and the attorney's mailing address and 
telephone number, and where available, telefax number and 
email address, shall be stated. An individual not represented 
by an attorney shall sign the individual's pleading, motion, or 
other paper document, and shall state the individual's mailing 
address and telephone number. A partnership not represented 
by an attorney shall have a partner sign the partnership's 
pleading, motion, or other paper document, and shall state the 
partnership's mailing address and telephone number. A 
nonlawyer may only represent the interests of another before 
the commission in the presentation of facts, figures, or factual 
conclusions, as distinguished from legal arguments or 
conclusions. In the case of an individual or entity not 
represented by counsel, each signature shall be that of a 
qualified officer or agent. The pleadings need not be under 
oath unless so required by statute. The commission may 
provide, by order, a manner for acceptance of electronic 
signatures in particular cases.  

The commission allows electronic filing. Before filing 
electronically, the filer shall complete an electronic document 
filing authorization form, [ receive establish ] a filer 
authentication [ identification number from password with ] 
the Clerk of the [ State Corporation ] Commission and 
otherwise comply with the electronic filing procedures 
adopted by the commission. [ Upon establishment of a filer 
authentication password, a filer may make electronic filings 
in any case. ] All documents submitted electronically must be 
capable of being printed as paper documents without loss of 
content or appearance. 

The signature of an attorney or party constitutes a 
certification that (i) the attorney or party has read the 
pleading, motion, or other paper document; (ii) to the best of 
the attorney's or party's knowledge, information, and belief 
formed after reasonable inquiry, it is well grounded in fact 
and is warranted by existing law or a good faith argument for 
the extension, modification, or reversal of existing law; and 
(iii) it is not interposed for any improper purpose, such as to 
harass or to cause unnecessary delay or needless increase in 
the cost of litigation. A pleading, written motion, or other 
paper document will not be accepted for filing by the Clerk of 
the Commission if not signed.  

An oral motion made by an attorney or party in a 
commission proceeding constitutes a representation that the 
motion (i) is well grounded in fact and is warranted by 
existing law or a good faith argument for the extension, 
modification, or reversal of existing law; and (ii) is not 
interposed for any improper purpose, such as to harass or to 
cause unnecessary delay or needless increase in the cost of 
litigation.  

5VAC5-20-140. Filing and service.  

A formal pleading or other related document shall be 
considered filed with the commission upon receipt of the 
original and required copies by the Clerk of the Commission 
no later than the time established for the closing of business 
of the clerk's office on the day the item is due. The original 
and copies shall be stamped by the Clerk to show the time 
and date of receipt. The commission may by order make 
provision for electronic filing of documents, including 
facsimile.  

Electronic filings may be submitted at any time [ .  
However, to ensure timely filing on the specific day of 
submission, the document must be received at least one hour 
before the close of business of the clerk's office. A document 
submitted electronically shall be printed by the Clerk of the 
Commission and shall be considered filed with the 
commission when the document is time and date stamped by 
the Clerk of the Commission and will be deemed filed on the 
date and at the time the electronic document is received by 
the commission's database; provided, that if a document is 
received when the clerk's office is not open for public 
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business, the document shall be deemed filed on the next 
regular business day. A filer will receive an electronic 
notification identifying the date and time the document is 
received by the commission's database.  An electronic 
document may be rejected if it is not submitted in compliance 
with these rules ].  

When a filing would otherwise be due on a day when the 
clerk's office is not open for public business, the filing will be 
timely if made on the next regular business day when the 
office is open to the public. When a period of 15 days or 
fewer is permitted to make a filing or take other action 
pursuant to commission rule or order, intervening weekends 
or holidays shall not be counted in determining the due date.  

Service of a formal pleading, brief, or other document filed 
with the commission required to be served on the parties to a 
proceeding or upon the commission staff, shall be effected by 
delivery of a true copy to the party or staff, or by deposit of a 
true copy into the United States mail properly addressed and 
stamped, on or before the date of filing. Service on a party 
may be made by service on the party's counsel.  [ 
Alternatively, electronic service shall be permitted on parties 
or staff in cases where all parties and staff have agreed to 
such service, or where the commission has provided for such 
service by order. ] At the foot of a formal pleading, brief, or 
other document required to be served, the party making 
service shall append a certificate of counsel of record that 
copies were mailed or delivered as required.  [ The 
commission may, by order, provide for electronic service of 
documents, including facsimile. ]  Notices, findings of fact, 
opinions, decisions, orders, or other paper documents to be 
served by the commission may be served by United States 
mail. However, all writs, processes, and orders of the 
commission, when acting in conformity with §12.1-27 of the 
Code of Virginia, shall be attested and served in compliance 
with §12.1-19.1 or §12.1-29 of the Code of Virginia.  

5VAC5-20-150. Copies and format.  

Applications, petitions, responsive pleadings, briefs, and 
other documents must be filed in an original and 15 copies. 
Except as otherwise stated in [ this chapter these rules ], 
submissions filed electronically are exempt from the copy 
requirement.  

One copy of each responsive pleading or brief must be 
served on each party and the commission staff counsel 
assigned to the matter, or, if no counsel has been assigned, on 
the general counsel.  

Each document must be filed on standard size white opaque 
paper, 8-1/2 by 11 inches in dimension, and must be capable 
of being reproduced in copies of archival quality. 
Submissions filed electronically shall be made [ as a in ] 
portable document format (PDF) [ file ].  

Pleadings shall be bound or attached on the left side and 
contain adequate margins. Each page following the first page 

must shall be numbered. If necessary, a document may be 
filed in consecutively numbered volumes, each of which may 
not exceed three inches in thickness. Submissions filed 
electronically may not exceed 100 pages of [ printed text of ] 
8-1/2 by 11 inches [ in dimension ].  

Pleadings containing more than one exhibit should have 
dividers separating each exhibit and should contain an index. 
Exhibits such as maps, plats, and photographs not easily 
reduced to standard size may be filed in a different size, as 
necessary. Submissions filed electronically that otherwise 
would incorporate large exhibits impractical for conversion to 
electronic format shall be identified in the filing and include a 
statement that the exhibit was filed in hardcopy and is 
available for viewing at the commission or that a copy may be 
obtained from the filing party.  [ Each Such ] exhibit shall be 
filed in an original and 15 copies.  

All filed documents shall be fully collated and assembled 
into complete and proper sets ready for distribution and use, 
without the need for further assembly, sorting, or 
rearrangement.  

The Clerk of the Commission may reject the filing of any 
document not conforming to the requirements of this [ rule 
section ] .  

5VAC5-20-170. Confidential information.  

A person who proposes in a formal proceeding that 
information to be filed with or submitted to the commission 
be withheld from public disclosure on the ground that it 
contains trade secrets, privileged, or confidential commercial 
or financial information shall file this information under seal 
with the Clerk of the Commission, or otherwise submit the 
information under seal to the commission staff as may be 
required. One copy of all such information also shall be 
submitted under seal to the commission staff counsel assigned 
to the matter, or, where no counsel has been assigned, to the 
general counsel who, until ordered otherwise by the 
commission, shall disclose the information only to the 
members of the commission staff directly assigned to the 
matter as necessary in the discharge of their duties. Staff 
counsel and all members of the commission staff, until 
otherwise ordered by the commission, shall maintain the 
information in strict confidence and shall not disclose its 
contents to members of the public, or to other staff members 
not assigned to the matter. The commission staff or any party 
may object to the proposed withholding of the information.  

Upon challenge, the filing party shall demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the commission that the information should be 
withheld from public disclosure. If the commission 
determines that the information should be withheld from 
public disclosure, it may nevertheless require the information 
to be disclosed to parties to a proceeding under appropriate 
protective order.  
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Whenever a document is filed with the clerk under seal, an 
expurgated or redacted version of the document deemed by 
the filing party or determined by the commission to be 
confidential shall be filed with the clerk for use and review by 
the public. A document containing confidential information 
[ cannot shall not ] be submitted electronically. An 
expurgated or redacted version of the document may be filed 
electronically. Documents containing confidential 
information [ shall must ] be filed in hardcopy and in 
accordance with all requirements of [ this chapter these 
rules ]. 

When the information at issue is not required to be filed or 
made a part of the record, a party who wishes to withhold 
confidential information from filing or production may move 
the commission for a protective order without filing the 
materials. In considering such [a] motion, the commission 
may require production of the confidential materials for 
inspection in camera, if necessary.  

5VAC5-20-240. Prepared testimony and exhibits.  

Following the filing of an application dependent upon 
complicated or technical proof, the commission may direct 
the applicant to prepare and file the testimony and exhibits by 
which the applicant expects to establish its case. In all 
proceedings in which an applicant is required to file 
testimony, respondents shall be permitted and may be 
directed by the commission or hearing examiner to file, on or 
before a date certain, testimony and exhibits by which they 
expect to establish their case. Any respondent that chooses 
not to file testimony and exhibits by that date may not 
thereafter present testimony or exhibits except by leave of the 
commission, but may fully participate in the proceeding and 
engage in cross-examination of the testimony and exhibits of 
commission staff and other parties. The commission staff also 
shall file testimony and exhibits when directed to do so by the 
commission. Failure to comply with the directions of the 
commission, without good cause shown, may result in 
rejection of the testimony and exhibits by the commission. 
With leave of the commission and unless a timely objection is 
made, the commission staff or a party may correct or 
supplement any prepared testimony and exhibits before or 
during the hearing. In all proceedings, all evidence must be 
verified by the witness before introduction into the record, 
and the admissibility of the evidence shall be subject to the 
same standards as if the testimony were offered orally at 
hearing, unless, with the consent of the commission, the staff 
and all parties stipulate the introduction of testimony without 
need for verification. An original and 15 copies of prepared 
testimony and exhibits shall be filed unless otherwise 
specified in the commission's scheduling order and public 
notice, or unless the testimony and exhibits are filed 
electronically and otherwise comply with [ this chapter these 
rules ]. Documents of unusual bulk or weight and physical 
exhibits other than documents need not be filed in advance, 

but shall be described and made available for pretrial 
examination.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-780; Filed January 16, 2008, 11:15 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health has 
claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
where no agency discretion is involved.  The State Board of 
Health will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-220. Virginia Medical Care 
Facilities Certificate of Public Need Rules and 
Regulations (amending 12VAC5-220-10, 12VAC5-220-
110, 12VAC5-220-130, 12VAC5-220-200).  

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-12 and 32.1-102.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Carrie Eddie, Policy Analyst, Department of 
Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone 804-367-2157, FAX 804-527-4502, or 
email carrie.eddy@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

In conformance with Chapter 502 of the 2007 Acts of the 
Assembly, the amendments increase the threshold for 
capital expenditure projects from $5 million to $15 million 
and adjust such projects needing only registration from $1 
million/$5 million to $5 million/$15 million. An exception 
is added allowing the State Health Commissioner to 
approve cost overruns greater than 20% when an 
applicant can demonstrate that the increases are 
reasonable and do not result from any material expansion 
of the project. 

In addition, the definitions of clinical health services, 
health planning region, medical care facility, project, 
 regional health planning agency, and state medical 
facilities plan are amended for conformity with §32.1-
101.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
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12VAC5-220-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Acquisition" means an expenditure of $600,000 or more 
that changes the ownership of a medical care facility. It shall 
also include the donation or lease of a medical care facility. 
An acquisition of a medical care facility shall not include a 
capital expenditure involving the purchase of stock. See 
12VAC5-220-120. 

"Amendment" means any modification to an application that 
is made following the public hearing and prior to the issuance 
of a certificate and includes those factors that constitute a 
significant change as defined in this chapter. An amendment 
shall not include a modification to an application that serves 
to reduce the scope of a project. 

"Applicant" means the owner of an existing medical care 
facility or the sponsor of a proposed medical care facility 
project submitting an application for a certificate of public 
need. 

"Application" means a prescribed format for the presentation 
of data and information deemed necessary by the board to 
determine a public need for a medical care facility project. 

"Application fees" means fees required for a project 
application and application for a significant change. Fees 
shall not exceed the lesser of 1.0% of the proposed capital 
expenditure or cost increase for the project or $20,000. 

"Board" means the State Board of Health. 

"Capital expenditure" means any expenditure by or in behalf 
of a medical care facility that, under generally accepted 
accounting principles, is not properly chargeable as an 
expense of operation and maintenance. Such expenditure 
shall also include a series of related expenditures during a 12-
month period or a financial obligation or a series of related 
financial obligations made during a 12-month period by or in 
behalf of a medical care facility. Capital expenditures need 
not be made by a medical care facility so long as they are 
made in behalf of a medical care facility by any person. See 
definition of "person." 

"Certificate of public need" means a document that legally 
authorizes a medical care facility project as defined herein 
and which is issued by the commissioner to the owner of such 
project. 

"Clinical health service" means a single diagnostic, 
therapeutic, rehabilitative, preventive or palliative procedure 
or a series of such procedures that may be separately 
identified for billing and accounting purposes as defined in 
§32.1-102.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner who 
has authority to make a determination respecting the issuance 
or revocation of a certificate. 

"Competing applications" means applications for the same 
or similar services and facilities that are proposed for the 
same planning district or medical service area and which are 
in the same review cycle. See 12VAC5-220-220. 

"Completion" means conclusion of construction activities 
necessary for substantial performance of the contract. 

"Construction" means the building of a new medical facility 
or the expansion, remodeling, or alteration of an existing 
medical care facility. 

"Construction, initiation of" means that a project shall be 
considered under construction for the purpose of certificate 
extension determinations upon the presentation of evidence 
by the owner of: (i) a signed construction contract; (ii) the 
completion of short term financing and a commitment for 
long term (permanent) financing when applicable; (iii) the 
completion of predevelopment site work; and (iv) the 
completion of building foundations. 

"Date of issuance" means the date of the commissioner's 
decision awarding a certificate of public need. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Designated medically underserved areas" means (i) areas 
designated as medically underserved areas pursuant to §32.1-
122.5 of the Code of Virginia; (ii) federally designated 
Medically Underserved Areas (MUA); or (iii) federally 
designated Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSA). 

"Ex parte" means any meeting that takes place between (i) 
any person acting in behalf of the applicant or holder of a 
certificate of public need or any person opposed to the 
issuance or in favor of the revocation of a certificate of public 
need and (ii) any person who has authority in the department 
to make a decision respecting the issuance or revocation of a 
certificate of public need for which the department has not 
provided 10 days written notification to opposing parties of 
the time and place of such meeting. An ex parte contact shall 
not include a meeting between the persons identified in (i) 
and staff of the department. 

"Gamma knife surgery" means stereotactic radiosurgery, 
where stereotactic radiosurgery is the noninvasive therapeutic 
procedure performed by directing radiant energy beams from 
any source at a treatment target in the head to produce tissue 
destruction. See definition of "project." 

"Health planning region" means a contiguous geographical 
area of the Commonwealth with a population base of at least 
500,000 persons that is characterized by the availability of 
multiple levels of medical care services, reasonable travel 
time for tertiary care, and congruence with planning districts 
as defined in §32.1-102.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
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"Informal fact-finding conference" means a conference held 
pursuant to §2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Inpatient beds" means accommodations within a medical 
care facility with continuous support services (such as food, 
laundry, housekeeping) and staff to provide health or health-
related services to patients who generally remain in the 
medical care facility in excess of 24 hours. Such 
accommodations are known by varying nomenclatures 
including but not limited to: nursing beds, intensive care 
beds, minimal or self care beds, isolation beds, hospice beds, 
observation beds equipped and staffed for overnight use, and 
obstetric, medical, surgical, psychiatric, substance abuse, 
medical rehabilitation and pediatric beds, including pediatric 
bassinets and incubators. Bassinets and incubators in a 
maternity department and beds located in labor or birthing 
rooms, recovery rooms, emergency rooms, preparation or 
anesthesia inductor rooms, diagnostic or treatment procedures 
rooms, or on-call staff rooms are excluded from this 
definition. 

"Medical care facility" means any institution, place, 
building, or agency, at a single site, whether or not licensed or 
required to be licensed by the board or the State Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services 
Board, whether operated for profit or nonprofit and whether 
privately owned or operated or owned or operated by a local 
governmental unit, (i) by or in which facilities are maintained, 
furnished, conducted, operated, or offered for the prevention, 
diagnosis or treatment of human disease, pain, injury, 
deformity or physical condition, whether medical or surgical, 
of two or more nonrelated mentally or physically sick or 
injured persons, or for the care of two or more nonrelated 
persons requiring or receiving medical, surgical, or nursing 
attention or services as acute, chronic, convalescent, aged, 
physically disabled, or crippled or (ii) which is the recipient 
of reimbursements from third party health insurance programs 
or prepaid medical service plans. For purposes of this chapter, 
only the following medical care facility classifications shall 
be subject to review: as defined in §32.1-102.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

1. General hospitals.  

2. Sanitariums.  

3. Nursing homes.  

4. Intermediate care facilities, except those intermediate 
care facilities established for the mentally retarded that 
have no more than 12 beds and are in an area identified as 
in need of residential services for people with mental 
retardation in any plan of the Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services.  

5. Extended care facilities.  

6. Mental hospitals.  

7. Mental retardation facilities.  

8. Psychiatric hospitals and intermediate care facilities 
established primarily for the medical, psychiatric or 
psychological treatment and rehabilitation of alcoholics or 
drug addicts.  

9. Specialized centers or clinics or that portion of a 
physician's office developed for the provision of outpatient 
or ambulatory surgery, cardiac catheterization, computed 
tomographic (CT) scanning, gamma knife surgery, 
lithotripsy, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), magnetic 
source imaging (MSI), positron emission tomographic 
(PET) scanning, radiation therapy, nuclear medicine 
imaging except for the purpose of nuclear cardiac imaging, 
or such other specialty services as may be designated by 
the board by regulation.  

10. Rehabilitation hospitals.  

11. Any facility licensed as a hospital.  

For purposes of this chapter, the following medical care 
facility classifications shall not be subject to review:  

1. Any facility of the Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services.  

2. Any nonhospital substance abuse residential treatment 
program operated by or contracted primarily for the use of 
a community services board under the Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services Comprehensive Plan.  

3. Any intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded 
that has no more than 12 beds and is in an area identified 
as in need of residential services for people with mental 
retardation in any plan of the Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services.  

4. Any physician's office, except that portion of the 
physician's office which is described in subdivision 9 of 
the definition of "medical care facility, " excluding that 
portion dedicated to providing nuclear cardiac imaging.  

5. The Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center of the 
Virginia Department of Rehabilitative Services.  

"Medical service area" means the geographic territory from 
which at least 75% of patients come or are expected to come 
to existing or proposed medical care facilities, the delineation 
of which is based on such factors as population 
characteristics, natural geographic boundaries, and 
transportation and trade patterns, and all parts of which are 
reasonably accessible to existing or proposed medical care 
facilities.  

"Modernization" means the alteration, repair, remodeling, 
replacement or renovation of an existing medical care facility 
or any part thereto, including that which is incident to the 
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initial and subsequent installation of equipment in a medical 
care facility. See definition of "construction."  

"Operating expenditure" means any expenditure by or in 
behalf of a medical care facility that, under generally 
accepted accounting principles, is properly chargeable as an 
expense of operation and maintenance and is not a capital 
expenditure.  

"Operator" means any person having designated 
responsibility and legal authority from the owner to 
administer and manage a medical care facility. See definition 
of "owner."  

"Other plans" means any plan(s) which is formally adopted 
by an official state agency or regional health planning agency 
and which provides for the orderly planning and development 
of medical care facilities and services and which is not 
otherwise defined in this chapter.  

"Owner" means any person who has legal responsibility and 
authority to construct, renovate or equip or otherwise control 
a medical care facility as defined herein.  

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 
association or any other legal entity, whether governmental or 
private. Such person may also include the following:  

1. The applicant for a certificate of public need;  

2. The regional health planning agency for the health 
planning region in which the proposed project is to be 
located;  

3. Any resident of the geographic area served or to be 
served by the applicant;  

4. Any person who regularly uses health care facilities 
within the geographic area served or to be served by the 
applicant;  

5. Any facility or health maintenance organization (HMO) 
established under §38.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia that is located in the health planning region in 
which the project is proposed and that provides services 
similar to the services of the medical care facility project 
under review;  

6. Third party payors who provide health care insurance or 
prepaid coverage to 5.0% or more patients in the health 
planning region in which the project is proposed to be 
located; and  

7. Any agency that reviews or establishes rates for health 
care facilities.  

"Physician's office" means a place, owned or operated by a 
licensed physician or group of physicians practicing in any 
legal form whatsoever, which is designed and equipped solely 
for the provision of fundamental medical care whether 
diagnostic, therapeutic, rehabilitative, preventive or palliative 
to ambulatory patients and which does not participate in cost-

based or facility reimbursement from third party health 
insurance programs or prepaid medical service plans 
excluding pharmaceuticals and other supplies administered in 
the office. See definition of "medical care facility."  

"Planning district" means a contiguous area within the 
boundaries established by the Department of Housing and 
Community Development as set forth in §15.2-4202 of the 
Code of Virginia, except that for purposes of this chapter, 
Planning District 23 shall be divided into two planning 
districts: Planning District 20, consisting of the counties of 
Isle of Wight and Southampton and the cities of Chesapeake, 
Franklin, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk and Virginia Beach; 
and Planning District 21, consisting of the counties of James 
City and York and the cities of Hampton, Newport News, 
Poquoson and Williamsburg.  

"Predevelopment site work" means any preliminary activity 
directed towards preparation of the site prior to the 
completion of the building foundations. This includes, but is 
not limited to, soil testing, clearing, grading, extension of 
utilities and power lines to the site.  

"Primary medical care services" means first-contact, whole-
person medical and health services delivered by broadly 
trained, generalist physicians, nurses and other professionals, 
intended to include, without limitation, obstetrics/gynecology, 
family practice, internal medicine and pediatrics.  

"Progress" means actions that are required in a given period 
of time to complete a project for which a certificate of public 
need has been issued. See 12VAC5-220-450, Demonstration 
of progress.  

"Project" means: any plan or proposal as defined in §32.1-
102.1 of the Code of Virginia that is subject to Certificate of 
Public Need approval. 

1. The establishment of a medical care facility. See 
definition of "medical care facility."  

2. An increase in the total number of beds or operating 
rooms in an existing or authorized medical care facility.  

3. Relocation at the same site of 10 beds or 10% of the 
beds, whichever is less, from one existing physical facility 
to another in any two-year period; however, a hospital shall 
not be required to obtain a certificate for the use of 10% of 
its beds as nursing home beds as provided in §32.1-132 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

4. The introduction into any existing medical care facility 
of any new nursing home service such as intermediate care 
facility services, extended care facility services or skilled 
nursing facility services except when such medical care 
facility is an existing nursing home as defined in §32.1-123 
of the Code of Virginia.  

5. The introduction into an existing medical care facility of 
any new cardiac catheterization, computed tomography 
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(CT), gamma knife surgery, lithotripsy, magnetic 
resonance imaging (MRI), magnetic source imaging (MSI), 
medical rehabilitation, neonatal special care services, 
obstetrical services, open heart surgery, positron emission 
tomographic (PET) scanning, organ or tissue transplant 
service, radiation therapy, nuclear medicine imaging 
except for the purpose of nuclear cardiac imaging, 
psychiatric or substance abuse treatment, or such other 
specialty clinical services as may be designated by the 
board by regulation, which the facility has never provided 
or has not provided in the previous 12 months.  

6. The conversion of beds in an existing medical care 
facility to medical rehabilitation beds or psychiatric beds.  

7. The addition by an existing medical care facility of any 
medical equipment for the provision of cardiac 
catheterization, computed tomography (CT), gamma knife 
surgery, lithotripsy, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), 
magnetic source imaging (MSI), open heart surgery, 
positron emission tomographic (PET) scanning, radiation 
therapy, or other specialized service designated by the 
board by regulation.  

8. Any capital expenditure of $5 million or more, not 
defined as reviewable in subdivisions 1 through 7 of this 
definition, by or in behalf of a medical care facility. 
However, capital expenditures between $1 million and $5 
million shall be registered with the commissioner.  

"Public hearing" means a proceeding conducted by a 
regional health planning agency at which an applicant for a 
certificate of public need and members of the public may 
present oral or written testimony in support or opposition to 
the application that is the subject of the proceeding and for 
which a verbatim record is made. See subsection A of 
12VAC5-220-230.  

"Regional health plan" means the regional plan adopted by 
the regional health planning agency board.  

"Regional health planning agency" means the regional 
agency, including the regional health planning board, its staff 
and any component thereof, that performs health planning 
activities within a health planning region as defined in §32.1-
102.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Rural" means territory, population, and housing units that 
are classified as "rural" by the Bureau of the Census of the 
United States Department of Commerce, Economics and 
Statistics Administration.  

"Schedule for completion" means the timetable that 
identifies the major activities required to complete a project 
as identified by the applicant and set forth on the certificate of 
public need. The timetable is used by the commissioner to 
evaluate the applicant's progress in completing an approved 
project.  

"Significant change" means any alteration, modification or 
adjustment to a reviewable project for which a certificate of 
public need has been issued or requested following the public 
hearing which:  

1. Changes the site;  

2. Increases the capital expenditure amount authorized by 
the commissioner on the certificate of public need issued 
for the project by 10% or more;  

3. Changes the service(s) proposed to be offered;  

4. Extends the schedule for completion of the project 
beyond three years (36 months) from the date of certificate 
issuance or beyond the time period approved by the 
commissioner at the date of certificate issuance, whichever 
is greater. See 12VAC5-220-440 and 12VAC5-220-450.  

"Standard review process" means the process utilized in the 
review of all certificate of public need requests with the 
exception of:  

1. Certain bed relocations as specified in 12VAC5-220-
280;  

2. Certain projects that involve an increase in the number 
of beds in which nursing facility or extended care services 
are provided as specified in 12VAC5-220-325.  

"State Medical Facilities Plan" means the planning 
document adopted by the Board of Health that includes, but is 
not limited to (i) methodologies for projecting need for 
medical care facility beds and services; (ii) statistical 
information on the availability of medical care facilities and 
services; and (iii) procedures, criteria and standards for 
review of applications for projects for medical care facilities 
and services. The most recent applicable State Medical 
Facilities Plan shall remain in force until any such chapter is 
amended, modified or repealed by the Board of Health as 
contained in Article 1.1 (§32.1-102.1 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 
Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia, used to make medical care 
facilities and services needs decisions. 

Part II 
General Information 

12VAC5-220-110. Requirements for registration of 
certain capital expenditures of $1 million or more but less 
than $5 million.  

At least 30 days before any person contracts to make or is 
otherwise legally obligated to make a capital expenditure by 
or on behalf of a medical care facility that is $1 $5 million or 
more but is less than $5 $15 million and has not been 
previously authorized by the commissioner, the owner of any 
medical care facility as defined in this chapter shall register in 
writing such expenditure with the commissioner. The format 
for registration shall include information concerning the 
purpose of such expenditure and projected impact that the 
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expenditure will have upon the charges for services. For 
purposes of registration, the owner shall include any person 
making the affected capital expenditure. See definition of 
"project."  

12VAC5-220-130. Significant change limitation.  

No significant change in a project for which a certificate of 
public need has been issued shall be made without prior 
written approval of the commissioner. Such request for a 
significant change shall be made in writing by the owner to 
the commissioner with a copy to the appropriate regional 
health planning agency. The owner shall also submit the 
application fee to the department if applicable at the time the 
written request is made. The written request shall identify the 
nature and purpose of the change. The regional health 
planning agency shall review the proposed change and notify 
the commissioner of its recommendation with respect to the 
change within 30 days from receipt of the request by both the 
department and the regional health planning agency. Failure 
of the regional health planning agency to notify the 
commissioner within the 30-day period shall constitute a 
recommendation of approval. The commissioner shall act on 
the significant change request within 35 days of receipt. A 
public hearing during the review of a proposed significant 
change request is not required unless determined necessary by 
the commissioner. The commissioner shall not approve a 
significant change in cost for a project which exceeds the 
authorized capital expenditure by more than 20%. The 
commissioner shall not extend the schedule for completion of 
a project beyond three years from the date of issuance of the 
certificate or beyond the time period approved by the 
commissioner at the date of certificate issuance, whichever is 
greater, except when delays in completion of a project have 
been caused by events beyond the control of the owner and 
the owner has made substantial and continuing progress 
toward completion of the project.  

Exception: The commissioner may approve a significant 
change in cost for an approved project that exceeds the 
authorized capital expenditure by more than 20%, provided 
the applicant has demonstrated that the cost increases are 
reasonable and necessary under all the circumstances and do 
not result from any material expansion for the project as 
approved.  

12VAC5-220-200. One hundred ninety-day review cycle.  

The department shall review the following groups of 
completed applications in accordance with the following 190-
day scheduled review cycles and the following descriptions of 
projects within each group, except as provided for in 
12VAC5-220-220.  

 

 

REVIEW CYCLE BATCH 
GROUP 

GENERAL 
DESCRIPTION Begins Ends 

A 

General 
Hospitals/Obstetrical 
Services/Neonatal Special 
Care Services 

Feb. 10 
Aug. 10 

Aug. 18 
Feb. 16 

B 

Open Heart 
Surgery/Cardiac 
Catheterization/Ambulato
ry Surgery 
Centers/Operating Room 
Additions/Transplant 
Services 

Mar. 10 
Sep. 10 

Sep. 16 
Mar. 19 

C 

Psychiatric 
Facilities/Substance 
Abuse Treatment/Mental 
Retardation Facilities 

Apr. 10 
Oct. 10 

Oct. 17 
Apr. 18 

D/F 

Diagnostic Imaging 
Facilities/Services 
Selected Therapeutic 
Facilities/Services 

May 10 
Nov. 10 

Nov. 16 
May 19 

E Medical Rehabilitation 
Beds/Services 

June 10 
Dec. 10 

Dec. 17 
Jun. 18 

D/F 

Selected Therapeutic 
Facilities/Services 
Diagnostic Imaging 
Facilities/Services 

July 10 
Jan. 10 

Jan. 16 
Jul. 18 

G 

Nursing Home Beds at 
Retirement 
Communities/Bed 
Relocations/Miscellaneous 
Expenditures by Nursing 
Homes 

Jan. 10 
Mar. 10 
May 10 
July 10 
Sep. 10 
Nov. 10 

Jul. 18 
Sep. 16 
Nov. 16 
Jan. 16 
Mar. 19 
May 19 

Batch Group A includes:  

1. The establishment of a general hospital.  

2. An increase in the total number of general acute care 
beds in an existing or authorized general hospital.  

3. The relocation at the same site of 10 general hospital 
beds or 10% of the general hospital beds of a medical care 
facility, whichever is less, from one existing physical 
facility to another in any two-year period if such relocation 
involves a capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more 
(see 12VAC5-220-280). 

4. The introduction into an existing medical care facility of 
any new neonatal special care or obstetrical services that 
the facility has not provided in the previous 12 months. 

5. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category included in Batch Groups B 
through G, by or in behalf of a general hospital.  

Batch Group B includes:  
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1. The establishment of a specialized center, clinic, or 
portion of a physician's office developed for the provision 
of outpatient or ambulatory surgery or cardiac 
catheterization services.  

2. An increase in the total number of operating rooms in an 
existing medical care facility or establishment of operating 
rooms in a new facility.  

3. The introduction into an existing medical care facility of 
any new cardiac catheterization, open heart surgery, or 
organ or tissue transplant services that the facility has not 
provided in the previous 12 months.  

4. The addition by an existing medical care facility of any 
medical equipment for the provision of cardiac 
catheterization.  

5. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category in Batch Group A or Batch 
Groups C through G, by or in behalf of a specialized 
center, clinic, or portion of a physician's office developed 
for the provision of outpatient or ambulatory surgery or 
cardiac catheterization services.  

6. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category in Batch Group A or Batch 
Groups C through G, by or in behalf of a medical care 
facility, that is primarily related to the provision of surgery, 
cardiac catheterization, open heart surgery, or organ or 
tissue transplant services.  

Batch Group C includes:  

1. The establishment of a mental hospital, psychiatric 
hospital, intermediate care facility established primarily for 
the medical, psychiatric or psychological treatment and 
rehabilitation of alcoholics or drug addicts, or mental 
retardation facility.  

2. An increase in the total number of beds in an existing or 
authorized mental hospital, psychiatric hospital, 
intermediate care facility established primarily for the 
medical, psychiatric or psychological treatment and 
rehabilitation of alcoholics or drug addicts, or mental 
retardation facility.  

3. An increase in the total number of mental hospital, 
psychiatric hospital, substance abuse treatment and 
rehabilitation, or mental retardation beds in an existing or 
authorized medical care facility which is not a dedicated 
mental hospital, psychiatric hospital, intermediate care 
facility established primarily for the medical, psychiatric or 
psychological treatment and rehabilitation of alcoholics or 
drug addicts, or mental retardation facility.  

4. The relocation at the same site of 10 mental hospital, 
psychiatric hospital, substance abuse treatment and 
rehabilitation, or mental retardation beds or 10% of the 
mental hospital, psychiatric hospital, substance abuse 

treatment and rehabilitation, or mental retardation beds of a 
medical care facility, whichever is less, from one existing 
physical facility to another in any two-year period if such 
relocation involves a capital expenditure of $5 $15 million 
or more (see 12VAC5-220-280).  

5. The introduction into an existing medical care facility of 
any new psychiatric or substance abuse treatment service 
that the facility has not provided in the previous 12 
months.  

6. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category in Batch Groups A and B or 
Batch Groups D/F through G, by or in behalf of a mental 
hospital, psychiatric hospital, intermediate care facility 
established primarily for the medical, psychiatric or 
psychological treatment and rehabilitation of alcoholics or 
drug addicts, or mental retardation facilities.  

7. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category in Batch Groups A through B 
or Batch Groups D/F through G, by or in behalf of a 
medical care facility, which is primarily related to the 
provision of mental health, psychiatric, substance abuse 
treatment or rehabilitation, or mental retardation services.  

Batch Group D/F includes:  

1. The establishment of a specialized center, clinic, or that 
portion of a physician's office developed for the provision 
of computed tomographic (CT) scanning, magnetic 
resonance imaging (MRI), magnetic source imaging (MSI), 
positron emission tomographic (PET) scanning, or nuclear 
medicine imaging, except for the purpose of nuclear 
cardiac imaging.  

2. The introduction into an existing medical care facility of 
any new computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance 
imaging (MRI), magnetic source imaging (MSI), positron 
emission tomographic (PET) scanning, or nuclear medicine 
imaging services, except for the purpose of nuclear cardiac 
imaging that the facility has not provided in the previous 
12 months.  

3. The addition by an existing medical care facility of any 
equipment for the provision of computed tomography 
(CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), magnetic source 
imaging (MSI), positron emission tomographic (PET) 
scanning.  

4. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category in Batch Groups A B, C, E, 
and G, by or in behalf of a specialized center, clinic, or that 
portion of a physician's office developed for the provision 
of computed tomographic (CT) scanning, magnetic 
resonance imaging (MRI), magnetic source imaging (MSI), 
positron emission tomographic (PET) scanning, or nuclear 
medicine imaging, except that portion of a physician's 
office dedicated to providing nuclear cardiac imaging.  
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5. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category in Batch Groups A B, C, E, 
and G, by or in behalf of a medical care facility, which is 
primarily related to the provision of computed tomographic 
(CT) scanning, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), 
magnetic source imaging (MSI), positron emission 
tomographic (PET) scanning, or nuclear medicine imaging, 
except for the purpose of nuclear cardiac imaging.  

Batch Group E includes:  

1. The establishment of a medical rehabilitation hospital.  

2. An increase in the total number of beds in an existing or 
authorized medical rehabilitation hospital.  

3. An increase in the total number of medical rehabilitation 
beds in an existing or authorized medical care facility that 
is not a dedicated medical rehabilitation hospital.  

4. The relocation at the same site of 10 medical 
rehabilitation beds or 10% of the medical rehabilitation 
beds of a medical care facility, whichever is less, from one 
existing physical facility to another in any two-year period, 
if such relocation involves a capital expenditure of $5 $15 
million or more (see 12VAC220-280).  

5. The introduction into an existing medical care facility of 
any new medical rehabilitation service that the facility has 
not provided in the previous 12 months.  

6. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category in Batch Groups A B, C, D/F, 
and G, by or in behalf of a medical rehabilitation hospital.  

7. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category in Batch Groups A B, C, D/F, 
and G, by or in behalf of a medical care facility, that is 
primarily related to the provision of medical rehabilitation 
services.  

Batch Group D/F includes:  

1. The establishment of a specialized center, clinic, or that 
portion of a physician's office developed for the provision 
of gamma knife surgery, lithotripsy, or radiation therapy.  

2. Introduction into an existing medical care facility of any 
new gamma knife surgery, lithotripsy, or radiation therapy 
services that the facility has not provided in the previous 
12 months.  

3. The addition by an existing medical care facility of any 
medical equipment for the provision of gamma knife 
surgery, lithotripsy, or radiation therapy.  

4. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project in Batch Groups A B, C, E, and G, by 
or in behalf of a specialized center, clinic, or that portion of 
a physician's office developed for the provision of gamma 
knife surgery, lithotripsy, or radiation therapy.  

5. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project in Batch Groups A B, C, E, and G, by 
or in behalf of a medical care facility, which is primarily 
related to the provision of gamma knife surgery, 
lithotripsy, or radiation therapy.  

Batch Group G includes:  

1. The establishment of a nursing home, intermediate care 
facility, or extended care facility of a continuing care 
retirement community by a continuing care provider 
registered with the State Corporation Commission pursuant 
to Chapter 49 (§38.2-4900 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

2. The establishment of a nursing home, intermediate care 
facility, or extended care facility that does not involve an 
increase in the number of nursing home facility beds 
within a planning district.  

3. An increase in the total number of beds in an existing or 
authorized nursing home, intermediate care facility, or 
extended care facility of a continuing care retirement 
community by a continuing care provider registered with 
the State Corporation Commission pursuant to Chapter 49 
(§38.2-4900 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

4. An increase in the total number of beds in an existing or 
authorized nursing home, intermediate care facility, or 
extended care facility that does not involve an increase in 
the number of nursing home facility beds within a planning 
district.  

5. The relocation at the same site of 10 nursing home, 
intermediate care facility, or extended care facility beds or 
10% of the nursing home, intermediate care facility, or 
extended care facility beds of a medical care facility, 
whichever is less, from one physical facility to another in 
any two-year period, if such relocation involves a capital 
expenditure of $5 $15 million or more (see 12VAC5-220-
280).  

6. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category in Batch Groups A through 
D/F, by or in behalf of a nursing home, intermediate care 
facility, or extended care facility, which does not increase 
the total number of beds of the facility.  

7. Any capital expenditure of $5 $15 million or more, not 
defined as a project category in Batch Groups A through 
D/F, by or in behalf of a medical care facility, that is 
primarily related to the provision of nursing home, 
intermediate care, or extended care services, and does not 
increase the number of beds of the facility.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-983; Filed January 16, 2008, 10:05 a.m.  
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Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health has 
claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
where no agency discretion is involved. The State Board of 
Health will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 
Licensure of Nursing Facilities (amending 12VAC5-371-
150).  

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Carrie Eddie, Policy Analyst, Department of 
Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-2157, FAX (804) 527-4502, or 
email carrie.eddy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments comply with Chapters 163 and 1229 of 
the 2007 Acts of the Assembly by requiring nursing 
facilities to register with the Criminal Records Bureau of 
the Virginia State Police to receive notice of the 
registration of any sex offender within the same or a 
contiguous zip code as the nursing facility and to ascertain 
whether a potential resident is a registered sex offender. 

12VAC5-371-150. Resident rights. 

A. The nursing facility shall develop and implement policies 
and procedures that ensure resident's rights as defined in 
§§32.1-138 and 32.1-138.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The procedures shall: 

1. Not restrict any right a resident has under law; 

2. Provide staff training to implement resident's rights; and 

3. Include grievance procedures. 

C. The name and telephone number of the complaint 
coordinator of the OLC, the Adult Protective Services toll-
free telephone number, and the toll-free telephone number for 
the State Ombudsman shall be conspicuously posted in a 
public place. 

D. Copies of resident rights shall be given to residents upon 
admittance to the facility and made available to residents 
currently in residence, to any guardians, next of kin, or 
sponsoring agency or agencies, and to the public. 

E. The nursing facility shall have a plan to review resident 
rights with each resident annually, or with the responsible 

family member or responsible agent at least annually, and 
have a plan to advise each staff member at least annually. 

F. The nursing facility shall certify, in writing, that it is in 
compliance with the provisions of §§32.1-138 and 32.1-138.1 
of the Code of Virginia, relative to resident rights, as a 
condition of license issuance or renewal. 

G. The nursing facility shall register with the Department of 
State Police to receive notice of the registration or 
reregistration of any sex offender within the same or a 
contiguous zip code area in which the facility is located 
pursuant to §9.1-914 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. Prior to admission, each nursing facility shall determine 
if a potential resident is a registered sex offender when the 
potential resident is anticipated to have a length of stay: 

1. Greater than three days; or 

2. In fact stays longer than three days. 
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-982; Filed January 16, 2008, 10:06 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 3 of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that consist only of changes in 
style or form or corrections of technical errors.  The State 
Board of Health will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-381. Regulations for the 
Licensure of Home Care Organizations (amending 
12VAC5-381-10 through 12VAC5-381-40, 12VAC5-381-
60 through 12VAC5-381-100, 12VAC5-381-120, 12VAC5-
381-140, 12VAC5-381-150, 12VAC5-381-240, 12VAC5-
381-280). 

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-12 and 32.1-162.12 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Carrie Eddie, Policy Analyst, Department of 
Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA  
23233, telephone 804-367-2157, FAX 804-527-4502, or 
email carrie.eddy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In July 2006 the Center for Quality Health Care Services 
and Consumer Protection of the Virginia Department of 
Health changed its name to the Office of Licensure and 
Certification. The amendments reflect that name change. 
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12VAC5-381-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living (ADLs)" means bathing, dressing, 
toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control and 
eating/feeding. A person's degree of independence in 
performing these activities is part of determining the 
appropriate level of care and services. A need for assistance 
exists when the client is unable to complete an activity due to 
cognitive impairment, functional disability, physical health 
problems, or safety. The client's functional level is based on 
the client's need for assistance most or all of the time to 
perform personal care tasks in order to live independently. 

"Administer" means the direct application of a controlled 
substance, whether by injection, inhalation, ingestion or any 
other means, to the body of a client by (i) a practitioner or by 
his authorized agent and under his direction or (ii) the client 
at the direction and in the presence of the practitioner as 
defined in §54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Administrator" means a person designated in writing by the 
governing body as having the necessary authority for the day-
to-day management of the organization. The administrator 
must be an employee of the organization. The administrator, 
the director of nursing, or other clinical director may be the 
same individual if that individual is dually qualified. 

"Available at all times during operating hours" means an 
individual is readily available on the premises or by 
telecommunications. 

"Barrier crimes" means certain offenses, specified in §32.1-
162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia, that automatically bar an 
individual convicted of those offenses from employment with 
a home care organization. 

"Chore services" means assistance with nonroutine, heavy 
home maintenance for persons unable to perform such tasks. 
Chore services include minor repair work on furniture and 
appliances; carrying coal, wood and water; chopping wood; 
removing snow; yard maintenance; and painting. 

"Client record" means the centralized location for 
documenting information about the client and the care and 
services provided to the client by the organization. A client 
record is a continuous and accurate account of care or 
services, whether hard copy or electronic, provided to a 
client, including information that has been dated and signed 
by the individuals who prescribed or delivered the care or 
service. 

"Client's residence" means the place where the individual or 
client makes his home such as his own apartment or house, a 
relative's home or an assisted living facility, but does not 
include a hospital, nursing facility or other extended care 
facility. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner. 

"Companion services" means assisting persons unable to 
care for themselves without assistance. Companion services 
include transportation, meal preparation, shopping, light 
housekeeping, companionship, and household management. 

"Contract services" means services provided through 
agreement with another agency, organization, or individual on 
behalf of the organization. The agreement specifies the 
services or personnel to be provided on behalf of the 
organization and the fees to provide these services or 
personnel. 

"Criminal record report" means the statement issued by the 
Central Criminal Record Exchange, Virginia Department of 
State Police. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Discharge or termination summary" means a final written 
summary filed in a closed client record of the service 
delivered, goals achieved and final disposition at the time of 
client's discharge or termination from service. 

"Dispense" means to deliver a drug to an ultimate user by or 
pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the 
prescribing and administering, packaging, labeling or 
compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that 
delivery. 

"Drop site" means a location that HCO staff use in the 
performance of daily tasks such as obtaining supplies, using 
fax and copy machines, charting notes on care or services 
provided, and storing client records. These locations may also 
be called charting stations, workstations, or convenience sites. 

"Employee" means an individual who has the status of an 
employee as defined by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service. 

"Functional limitations" means the level of a client's need 
for assistance based on an assessment conducted by the 
supervising nurse. There are three criteria to assessing 
functional status: (i) the client's impairment level and need for 
personal assistance, (ii) the client's lack of capacity, and (iii) 
how the client usually performed the activity over a period of 
time. If a person is mentally and physically free of 
impairment, there is not a safety risk to the individual, or the 
person chooses not to complete an activity due to personal 
preference or choice, then that person does not need 
assistance. 

"Governing body" means the individual, group or 
governmental agency that has legal responsibility and 
authority over the operation of the home care organization. 

"Home attendant" means a nonlicensed individual 
performing skilled, pharmaceutical and personal care 
services, under the supervision of the appropriate health 
professional, to a client in the client's residence. Home 
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attendants are also known as certified nurse aides or CNAs, 
home care aides, home health aides, or personal care aides. 

"Home care organization" or "HCO" means a public or 
private entity providing an organized program of home 
health, pharmaceutical or personal care services, according to 
§32.1-162.1 of the Code of Virginia in the residence of a 
client or individual to maintain the client's health and safety 
in his home. A home care organization does not include any 
family members, relatives or friends providing caregiving 
services to persons who need assistance to remain 
independent and in their own homes. 

"Home health agency" means a public or private agency or 
organization, or part of an agency or organization, that meets 
the requirements for participation in Medicare under 42 CFR 
440.70 (d), by providing skilled nursing services and at least 
one other therapeutic service, e.g., physical, speech or 
occupational therapy; medical social services; or home health 
aide services, and also meets the capitalization requirements 
under 42 CFR 489.28. 

"Homemaker services" means assistance to persons with the 
inability to perform one or more instrumental activities of 
daily living. Homemaker services may also include assistance 
with bathing areas the client cannot reach, fastening client's 
clothing, combing hair, brushing dentures, shaving with an 
electric razor, and providing stabilization to a client while 
walking. Homemaker services do not include feeding, bed 
baths, transferring, lifting, putting on braces or other supports, 
cutting nails or shaving with a blade. 

"Infusion therapy" means the procedures or processes that 
involve the administration of injectable medications to clients 
via the intravenous, subcutaneous, epidural, or intrathecal 
routes. Infusion therapy does not include oral, enteral, or 
topical medications. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" means meal 
preparation, housekeeping/light housework, shopping for 
personal items, laundry, or using the telephone. A client's 
degree of independence in performing these activities is part 
of determining the appropriate level of care and services. 

"Licensed practical nurse" means a person who holds a 
current license issued by the Virginia Board of Nursing or a 
current multistate licensure privilege to practice nursing in 
Virginia as a licensed practical nurse. 

"Licensee" means a licensed home care provider. 

"Medical plan of care" means a written plan of services, and 
items needed to treat a client's medical condition, that is 
prescribed, signed and periodically reviewed by the client's 
primary care physician. 

"Nursing services" means client care services, including, but 
not limited to, the curative, restorative, or preventive aspects 

of nursing that are performed or supervised by a registered 
nurse according to a medical plan of care. 

"OLC" means the Office of Licensure and Certification of 
the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Operator" means any individual, partnership, association, 
trust, corporation, municipality, county, local government 
agency or any other legal or commercial entity that is 
responsible for the day-to-day administrative management 
and operation of the organization. 

"Organization" means a home care organization. 

"Person" means any individual, partnership, association, 
trust, corporation, municipality, county, local government 
agency or any other legal or commercial entity that operates a 
home care organization. 

"Personal care services" means the provision of nonskilled 
services, including assistance in the activities of daily living, 
and may include instrumental activities of daily living, related 
to the needs of the client, who has or is at risk of an illness, 
injury or disabling condition. A need for assistance exists 
when the client is unable to complete an activity due to 
cognitive impairment, functional disability, physical health 
problems, or safety. The client's functional level is based on 
the client's need for assistance most or all of the time to 
perform the tasks of daily living in order to live 
independently. 

"Primary care physician" means a physician licensed in 
Virginia, according to Chapter 29 (§54.1-2900 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or licensed in an adjacent 
state and identified by the client as having the primary 
responsibility in determining the delivery of the client's 
medical care. The responsibility of physicians contained in 
this chapter may be implemented by nurse practitioners or 
physician assistants as assigned by the supervising physician 
and within the parameters of professional licensing. 

"Qualified" means meeting current legal requirements of 
licensure, registration or certification in Virginia or having 
appropriate training, including competency testing, and 
experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities. 

"Quality improvement" means ongoing activities designed 
to objectively and systematically evaluate the quality of client 
care and services, pursue opportunities to improve client care 
and services, and resolve identified problems. Quality 
improvement is an approach to the ongoing study and 
improvement of the processes of providing health care 
services to meet the needs of clients and others. 

"Registered nurse" means a person who holds a current 
license issued by the Virginia Board of Nursing or a current 
multistate licensure privilege to practice nursing in Virginia 
as a registered nurse. 
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"Service area" means a clearly delineated geographic area in 
which the organization arranges for the provision of home 
care services, personal care services, or pharmaceutical 
services to be available and readily accessible to persons. 

"Skilled services" means the provision of the home health 
services listed in 12VAC5-381-300. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process of monitoring the 
skills, competencies and performance of the individual 
supervised and providing regular, documented, face-to-face 
guidance and instruction. 

"Surety bond" means a consumer safeguard that directly 
protects clients from injuries and losses resulting from the 
negligent or criminal acts of contractors of the home care 
organization that are not covered under the organization's 
liability insurance. A fidelity type of surety bond, which 
covers dishonest acts such as larceny, theft, embezzlement, 
forgery, misappropriation, wrongful abstraction or willful 
misapplication, will meet the requirements of surety bond 
coverage for the purposes of this chapter. 

"Sworn disclosure statement" means a document disclosing 
an applicant's criminal convictions and pending criminal 
charges occurring in Virginia or any other state. 

"The center" means the Center for Quality Health Care 
Services and Consumer Protection of the Virginia 
Department of Health. 

12VAC5-381-20. License.  

A. A license to operate a home care organization is issued to 
a person. Persons planning to seek federal certification or 
national accreditation pursuant to §32.1-162.8 of the Code of 
Virginia must first obtain state licensure.  

B. The commissioner shall issue or renew a license to 
establish or operate a home care organization if the 
commissioner finds that the home care organization is in 
compliance with the law and this regulation.  

C. A separate license shall be required for home care 
organizations maintained at separate locations, even though 
they are owned or are operated under the same management.  

D. Every home care organization shall be designated by an 
appropriate name. The name shall not be changed without 
first notifying the center OLC.  

E. Licenses shall not be transferred or assigned.  

F. Any person establishing, conducting, maintaining, or 
operating a home care organization without a license shall be 
guilty of a Class 6 felony according to §32.1-162.15 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

12VAC5-381-30. Exemption from licensure.  

A. This chapter is not applicable to those individuals and 
home care organizations listed in §32.1-162.8 of the Code of 

Virginia. Organizations planning to seek federal certification 
as a home health agency or national accreditation must first 
obtain state licensure and provide services to clients before 
applying for national accreditation or federal certification.  

In addition, this chapter is not applicable to those providers 
of only homemaker, chore or companion services as defined 
in 12VAC5-381-10.  

B. A licensed organization requesting exemption must file a 
written request and pay the required fee stated in 12VAC5-
381-70 D.  

C. The home care organization shall be notified in writing if 
the exemption from licensure has been granted. The basis for 
the exemption approval will be stated and the organization 
will be advised to contact the center OLC to request licensure 
should it no longer meet the requirement for exemption.  

D. Exempted organizations are subject to complaint 
investigations in keeping with state law.  

12VAC5-381-40. License application; initial and renewal. 

A. The center OLC provides prelicensure consultation and 
technical assistance regarding the licensure process. The 
purpose of such consultation is to explain the regulation and 
the survey process. Prelicensure consultations are arranged 
after a completed initial application is on file with the center 
OLC.  

B. Licensure applications are obtained from the center OLC. 
The center OLC shall consider an application complete when 
all requested information and the appropriate fee, stated in 
12VAC5-381-70, is submitted. If the center OLC finds the 
application incomplete, the applicant will be notified in 
writing.  

C. The activities and services of each applicant and licensee 
shall be subject to an inspection by the center OLC to 
determine if the organization is in compliance with the 
provisions of this chapter and state law.  

D. A completed application for initial licensure must be 
submitted at least 60 days prior to the organization's planned 
opening date to allow the center OLC time to process the 
application. An incomplete application shall become inactive 
six months after it is received by the center OLC. Applicants 
must then reapply for licensure with a completed application 
and application fee. An application for a license may be 
withdrawn at any time.  

E. Licenses are renewed annually. The center OLC shall 
make renewal applications available at least 60 days prior to 
the expiration date of the current license.  

F. It is the home care organization's responsibility to 
complete and return a renewal application to assure timely 
processing. Should a current license expire before a new 
license is issued, the current license shall remain in effect 
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provided a complete and accurate application was filed on 
time.  

12VAC5-381-60. Changes to or reissue of a license. 

A. It is the responsibility of the organization's governing 
body to maintain a current and accurate license. Licenses that 
are misplaced or lost must be replaced. 

B. An organization shall give written notification 30 
working days in advance of any proposed changes that may 
require the reissuance of a license. Notices shall be sent to the 
attention of the Director director of the Center for Quality 
Health Care Services and Consumer Protection OLC. 

The following changes require the reissuance of a license 
and payment of a fee: 

1. Operator; 

2. Organization name; or 

3. Address. 

C. The center OLC will evaluate written information about 
any planned changes in operation that affect the terms of the 
license or the continuing eligibility for a license. A licensing 
representative may inspect the organization during the 
process of evaluating a proposed change. 

D. The organization will be notified in writing whether a 
new application is needed. 

12VAC5-381-70. Fees. 

A. The Center OLC shall collect a fee of $500 for each 
initial and renewal license application. Fees shall accompany 
the licensure application and are not refundable.  

B. An additional late fee of $50 shall be collected for an 
organization's failure to file a renewal application by the date 
specified.  

C. A processing fee of $250 shall be collected for each 
reissuance or replacement of a license and shall accompany 
the written request for reissuance or replacement.  

D. A one time processing fee of $75 for exemption from 
licensure shall accompany the written exemption request.  

12VAC5-381-80. On-site inspections.  

A. A center An OLC representative shall make periodic 
unannounced on-site inspections of each home care 
organization as necessary but not less often than biennially. 
The organization shall be responsible for correcting any 
deficiencies found during any on-site inspection. Compliance 
with all standards will be determined by the center OLC 
according to applicable law.  

B. The home care organization shall make available to the 
center's OLC’s representative any necessary records and shall 
allow access to interview the agents, employees, contractors, 

and any person under the organization's control, direction or 
supervision.  

C. After the on-site inspection, the center's OLC’s 
representative shall discuss the findings of the inspection with 
the administrator or his designee.  

D. The administrator shall submit, within 15 working days 
of receipt of the inspection report, an acceptable plan for 
correcting any deficiencies found. The plan of correction shall 
contain:  

1. A description of the corrective action or actions to be 
taken and the personnel to implement the corrective action;  

2. The expected correction date;  

3. A description of the measures implemented to prevent a 
recurrence of the violation; and  

4. The signature of the person responsible for the validity 
of the report.  

E. The administrator will be notified whenever any item in 
the plan of correction is determined to be unacceptable.  

F. The administrator shall be responsible for assuring the 
plan of correction is implemented and monitored so that 
compliance is maintained.  

G. Completion of corrective actions shall not exceed 45 
working days from the last day of the inspection.  

12VAC5-381-90. Home visits. 

A. As part of any inspection, a center an OLC representative 
may conduct home visits.  

B. The home care organization shall be responsible for 
arranging in-home visits with clients, family members, and 
caregivers for the center's OLC representative.  

C. The organization shall explain clearly to the client, family 
or caretaker that the permission for the representative's home 
visit is voluntary and that consent to the home visit will not 
affect the client's care or other health benefits.  

12VAC5-381-100. Complaint investigations conducted by 
the center OLC. 

A. The center OLC has the responsibility to investigate any 
complaints regarding alleged violations of this chapter and 
applicable law.  

B. Complaints may be received in writing or orally and may 
be anonymous.  

C. When the investigation is complete, the licensee and the 
complainant, if known, will be notified of the findings of the 
investigation.  

D. As applicable, the administrator shall submit, within 15 
working days of receipt of the complaint report, an acceptable 
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plan of correction for any deficiencies found during a 
complaint investigation. The plan of correction shall contain:  

1. A description of the corrective action or actions to be 
taken and the personnel to implement the corrective action;  

2. The expected correction date;  

3. A description of the measures implemented to prevent a 
recurrence of the violation; and  

4. The signature of the person responsible for the validity 
of the report.  

E. The administrator will be notified in writing whenever 
any item in the plan of correction is determined to be 
unacceptable.  

F. The administrator shall be responsible for assuring the 
plan of correction is implemented and monitored so that 
compliance is maintained.  

12VAC5-381-120. Variances.  

A. The center OLC can authorize variances only to its own 
licensing regulations, not to regulations of another agency or 
to any requirements in federal, state, or local laws.  

B. A home care organization may request a variance to a 
particular regulation or requirement contained in this chapter 
when the standard or requirement poses a special hardship 
and when a variance to it would not endanger the safety or 
well-being of clients. The request for a variance must 
describe how compliance with the current regulation is 
economically burdensome and constitutes a special hardship 
to the home care organization and to the clients it serves. 
When applicable, the request should include proposed 
alternatives to meet the purpose of the requirements that will 
ensure the protection and well-being of clients. At no time 
shall a variance approved for one individual be extended to 
general applicability. The home care organization may at any 
time withdraw a request for a variance.  

C. The center OLC shall have the authority to waive, either 
temporarily or permanently, the enforcement of one or more 
of these regulations provided safety, client care and services 
are not adversely affected.  

D. The center OLC may rescind or modify a variance if (i) 
conditions change; (ii) additional information becomes 
known that alters the basis for the original decision; (iii) the 
organization fails to meet any conditions attached to the 
variance; or (iv) results of the variance jeopardize the safety, 
comfort, or well-being of clients.  

E. Consideration of a variance is initiated when a written 
request is submitted to the Director, Center for Quality Health 
Care Services and Consumer Protection OLC. The center 
OLC shall notify the home care organization in writing of the 
receipt of the request for a variance. The center OLC may 

attach conditions to a variance to protect the safety and well-
being of the client.  

F. The licensee shall be notified in writing if the requested 
variance is denied.  

G. If a variance is denied, expires, or is rescinded, routine 
enforcement of the regulation or portion of the regulation 
shall be resumed.  

H. The home care organization shall develop procedures for 
monitoring the implementation of any approved variances to 
assure the ongoing collection of any data relevant to the 
variance and the presentation of any later report concerning 
the variance as requested by the center OLC.  

12VAC5-381-140. Return of a license.  

A. Circumstances under which a license must be returned 
include, but are not limited to (i) transfer of ownership and 
(ii) discontinuation of services.  

B. The licensee shall notify its clients and the center OLC, 
in writing, 30 days before discontinuing services.  

C. If the organization is no longer operational, or the license 
has been suspended or revoked, the license shall be returned 
to the center OLC within five working days. The licensee 
shall notify its clients and the center OLC where all home 
care records will be located.  

Part II  
Administrative Services  

12VAC5-381-150. Management and administration.  

A. No person shall establish or operate a home care 
organization, as defined in §32.1-162.7 of the Code of 
Virginia, without having obtained a license.  

B. The organization must comply with:  

1. This chapter (12VAC5-381);  

2. Other applicable federal, state or local laws and 
regulations; and  

3. The organization's own policies and procedures.  

C. The organization shall submit or make available reports 
and information necessary to establish compliance with this 
chapter and applicable law.  

D. The organization shall permit representatives from the 
center OLC to conduct inspections to:  

1. Verify application information;  

2. Determine compliance with this chapter;  

3. Review necessary records and documents; and  

4. Investigate complaints.  

E. The organization shall notify the center OLC 30 days in 
advance of changes affecting the organization, including the:  
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1. Service area;  

2. Mailing address of the organization;  

3. Ownership;  

4. Services provided;  

5. Operator;  

6. Administrator;  

7. Organization name; and  

8. Closure of the organization.  

F. The current license from the department shall be posted 
for public inspection.  

G. Service providers or community affiliates under contract 
with the organization must comply with the organization's 
policies and this chapter.  

H. The organization shall not use any advertising that 
contains false, misleading or deceptive statements or claims, 
or false or misleading disclosures of fees and payment for 
services.  

I. The organization shall have regular posted business hours 
and be fully operational during such business hours. In 
addition, the organization shall provide or arrange for services 
to their clients on an on-call basis 24 hours a day, seven days 
a week.  

J. The organization shall accept a client only when the 
organization can adequately meet that client's needs in the 
client's place of residence.  

K. The organization must have a prepared plan for 
emergency operations in case of inclement weather or natural 
disaster to include contacting and providing essential care to 
clients, coordinating with community agencies to assist as 
needed, and maintaining a current list of clients who would 
require specialized assistance.  

L. The organization shall encourage and facilitate the 
availability of flu shots for its staff and clients.  

12VAC5-381-240. Handling complaints received from 
clients.  

A. The organization shall establish and maintain complaint 
handling procedures that specify the:  

1. System for logging receipt, investigation and resolution 
of complaints; and  

2. Format of the written record of the findings of each 
complaint investigated.  

B. The organization shall designate staff responsible for 
complaint resolution, including:  

1. Complaint intake, including acknowledgment of 
complaints;  

2. Investigation of the complaint;  

3. Review of the investigation of findings and resolution 
for the complaint; and  

4. Notification to the complainant of the proposed 
resolution within 30 days from the date of receipt of the 
complaint.  

C. The client or his designee shall be given a copy of the 
complaint procedures at the time of admission to service. The 
organization shall provide each client or his designee with the 
name, mailing address, and telephone number of the:  

1. Organization contact person;  

2. State Ombudsman; and  

3. Center for Quality Health Care Services and Consumer 
Protection Complaint Unit of the OLC.  

D. The organization shall maintain documentation of all 
complaints received and the status of each complaint from 
date of receipt through its final resolution. Records shall be 
maintained from the date of last inspection and for no less 
than three years.  

12VAC5-381-280. Client record system.  

A. The organization shall maintain an organized client 
record system according to accepted standards of practice. 
Written policies and procedures shall specify retention, 
reproduction, access, storage, content, and completion of the 
record.  

B. The client record information shall be safeguarded 
against loss or unauthorized use.  

C. Client records shall be confidential. Only authorized 
personnel shall have access as specified by state and federal 
law.  

D. Provisions shall be made for the safe storage of the 
original record and for accurate and legible reproductions of 
the original.  

E. Policies shall specify arrangements for retention and 
protection of records if the organization discontinues 
operation and shall provide for notification to the center OLC 
and the client of the location of the records.  

F. An accurate and complete client record shall be 
maintained for each client receiving services and shall 
include, but shall not be limited to:  

1. Client identifying information;  

2. Identification of the primary care physician;  

3. Admitting information, including a client history;  
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4. Information on the composition of the client's 
household, including individuals to be instructed in 
assisting the client;  

5. An initial assessment of client needs to develop a plan of 
care or services;  

6. A plan of care or service that includes the type and 
frequency of each service to be delivered either by 
organization personnel or contract services;  

7. Documentation of client rights review; and  

8. A discharge or termination of service summary.  

In addition, client records for skilled and pharmaceutical 
services shall include:  

9. Documentation and results of all medical tests ordered 
by the physician or other health care professional and 
performed by the organization's staff;  

10. A medical plan of care including appropriate 
assessment and pain management;  

11. Medication sheets that include the name, dosage, 
frequency of administration, possible side effects, route of 
administration, date started, and date changed or 
discontinued for each medication administered; and  

12. Copies of all summary reports sent to the primary care 
physician.  

G. Signed and dated notes on the care or services provided 
by each individual delivering service shall be written on the 
day the service is delivered and incorporated in the client 
record within seven working days.  

H. Entries in the client record shall be current, legible, dated 
and authenticated by the person making the entry. Errors shall 
be corrected by striking through and initialing.  

I. Originals or reproductions of individual client records 
shall be maintained in their entirety for a minimum of five 
years following discharge or date of last contact unless 
otherwise specified by state or federal requirements. Records 
of minors shall be kept for at least five years after the minor 
reaches 18 years of age.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-985; Filed January 16, 2008, 10:07 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health has 
claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with §2.2-4006 A 3 of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that consist only of changes in 
style or form or corrections of technical errors. The State 
Board of Health will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-391. Regulations for the 
Licensure of Hospice (amending 12VAC5-391-10, 
12VAC5-391-30 through 12VAC5-391-100, 12VAC5-391-
120, 12VAC5-391-130, 12VAC5-391-150, 12VAC5-391-
160, 12VAC5-391-250, 12VAC5-391-280).  

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-12 and 32.1-162.5 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Carrie Eddie, Policy Analyst, Department of 
Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA  
23233, telephone 804-367-2157, FAX 804-527-4502, or 
email carrie.eddy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In July 2006 the Center for Quality Health Care Services 
and Consumer Protection of the Virginia Department of 
Health changed its name to the Office of Licensure and 
Certification. The amendments reflect that name change. 

12VAC5-391-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in these 
regulations shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.  

"Activities of daily living" means bathing, dressing, 
toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control and 
eating/feeding.  

"Administer" means the direct application of a controlled 
substance, whether by injection, inhalation, ingestion or any 
other means, to the body of a patient by (i) a practitioner or 
by his authorized agent and under his supervision or (ii) the 
patient at the direction and in the presence of the practitioner 
as defined in §54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Administrator" means a person designated, in writing, by 
the governing body as having the necessary authority for the 
day-to-day management of the hospice program. The 
administrator must be a member of the hospice staff. The 
administrator, director of nursing, or another clinical director 
may be the same individual if that individual is dually 
qualified.  

"Attending physician" means a physician licensed in 
Virginia, according to Chapter 29 (§54.1-2900 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or licensed in an adjacent 
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state and identified by the patient as having the primary 
responsibility in determining the delivery of the patient's 
medical care. The responsibilities of physicians contained in 
this chapter may be implemented by nurse practitioners or 
physician assistants as assigned by the supervising physician 
and within the parameters of professional licensing.  

"Available at all times during operating hours" means an 
individual is available on the premises or by 
telecommunications.  

"Barrier crimes" means certain offenses specified in §32.1-
162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia that automatically bar an 
individual convicted of those offenses from employment with 
a hospice program.  

"Bereavement service" means counseling and support 
offered to the patient's family after the patient's death.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Coordinated program" means a continuum of palliative and 
supportive care provided to a terminally ill patient and his 
family, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  

"Core services" means those services that must be provided 
by a hospice program. Such services are: (i) nursing services, 
(ii) physician services, (iii) counseling services, and (iv) 
medical social services.  

"Counseling services" means the provision of bereavement 
services, dietary services, spiritual and any other counseling 
services for the patient and family while the person is 
enrolled in the program.  

"Criminal record report" means the statement issued by the 
Central Criminal Records Exchange, Virginia Department of 
State Police.  

"Dedicated hospice facility" means an institution, place, or 
building providing room, board, and appropriate patient care 
24 hours a day, seven days a week to individuals diagnosed 
with a terminal illness requiring such care pursuant to a 
physician's orders.  

"Dispense" means to deliver a drug to the ultimate user by or 
pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the 
prescribing and administering, packaging, labeling or 
compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that 
delivery as defined in §54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Employee" means an individual who is appropriately 
trained and performs a specific job function for the hospice 
program on a full or part-time basis with or without financial 
compensation.  

"Governing body" means the individual, group or 
governmental agency that has legal responsibility and 
authority over the operation of the hospice program.  

"Home attendant" means a nonlicensed individual 
performing personal care and environmental services, under 
the supervision of the appropriate health professional, to a 
patient in the patient's residence. Home attendants are also 
known as certified nursing assistants or CNAs, home care 
aides, home health aides, and personal care aides.  

"Hospice" means a coordinated program of home and 
inpatient care provided directly or through an agreement 
under the direction of an identifiable hospice administration 
providing palliative and supportive medical and other health 
services to terminally ill patients and their families. A hospice 
utilizes a medically directed interdisciplinary team. A hospice 
program of care provides care to meet the physical, 
psychological, social, spiritual and other special needs that 
are experienced during the final stages of illness, and during 
dying and bereavement. Hospice care shall be available 24 
hours a day, seven days a week.  

"Inpatient" means services provided to a hospice patient 
who is admitted to a hospital or nursing facility on a short-
term basis for the purpose of curative care unrelated to the 
diagnosed terminal illness. Inpatient does not mean services 
provided in a dedicated hospice facility.  

"Interdisciplinary group" means the group responsible for 
assessing the health care and special needs of the patient and 
the patient's family. Providers of special services, such as 
mental health, pharmacy, and any other appropriate 
associated health services may also be included on the team 
as the needs of the patient dictate. The interdisciplinary group 
is often referred to as the IDG.  

"Licensee" means a licensed hospice program provider.  

"Medical director" means a physician currently licensed in 
Virginia, according to Chapter 29 (§54.1-2900 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, and responsible for the 
medical direction of the hospice program.  

"Medical record" means a continuous and accurate 
documented account of services provided to a patient, 
including the prescription and delivery of the treatment or 
care.  

"Nursing services" means the patient care performed or 
supervised by a registered nurse according to a plan of care.  

"OLC" means the Office of Licensure and Certification of 
the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Operator" means any individual, partnership, association, 
trust, corporation, municipality, county, local government 
agency or any other legal or commercial entity responsible for 
the day-to-day administrative management and operation of 
the hospice.  

"Palliative care" means treatment directed at controlling 
pain, relieving other symptoms, and focusing on the special 
needs of the patient and family as they experience the stress 
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of the dying process. Palliative care means treatment to 
enhance comfort and improve the quality of a patient's life 
during the last phase of his life.  

"Patient" means a diagnosed terminally ill individual, with 
an anticipated life expectancy of six months or less, who, 
alone or in conjunction with designated family members or 
representatives, has voluntarily requested admission and been 
accepted into a licensed hospice program.  

"Patient's family" means the hospice patient's immediate kin, 
including spouse, brother, sister, child or parent. Other 
relations and individuals with significant personal ties to the 
hospice patient may be designated as members of the patient's 
family by mutual agreement among the patient, the relation or 
individual.  

"Patient's residence" means the place where the individual or 
patient makes his home.  

"Person" means any individual, partnership, association, 
trust, corporation, municipality, county, local government 
agency or any other legal or commercial entity that operates a 
hospice.  

"Plan of care" means a written plan of services developed by 
the interdisciplinary group to maximize patient comfort by 
symptom control to meet the physical, psychosocial, spiritual 
and other special needs that are experienced during the final 
stages of illness, during dying, and bereavement.  

"Primary caregiver" means an individual that, through 
mutual agreement with the patient and the hospice program, 
assumes responsibility for the patient's care.  

"Progress note" means a documented statement contained in 
a patient's medical record, dated and signed by the person 
delivering the care, treatment or service, describing the 
treatment or services delivered and the effect of the care, 
treatment or services on the patient.  

"Quality improvement" means ongoing activities designed 
to objectively and systematically evaluate the quality of care 
and services, pursue opportunities to improve care and 
services, and resolve identified problems. Quality 
improvement is an approach to the ongoing study and 
improvement of the processes of providing services to meet 
the needs of patients and their families.  

"Staff" means an employee who receives financial 
compensation.  

"Supervision" means the ongoing process of monitoring the 
skills, competencies and performance of the individual 
supervised and providing regular face-to-face guidance and 
instruction.  

"Terminally ill" means a medical prognosis that life 
expectancy is six months or less if the illness runs its usual 
course.  

"The Center" means the Center for Quality Health Care 
Services and Consumer Protection of the Virginia 
Department of Health.  

"Volunteer" means an employee who receives no financial 
compensation.  

12VAC5-391-30. License.  

A. A license to operate a hospice program is issued to a 
person.  

B. The State Health Commissioner shall issue or renew a 
license to establish or operate a hospice program if the 
commissioner finds that the hospice program is in compliance 
with the law and this chapter.  

C. A separate license shall be required for hospice programs 
maintained at separate locations, even though they are owned 
or are operated under the same management.  

D. Every hospice program shall be designated by an 
appropriate name. The name shall not be changed without 
first notifying the center OLC.  

E. Licenses shall not be transferred or assigned.  

F. Any person establishing, conducting, maintaining, or 
operating a hospice program without a license shall be guilty 
of a Class 1 misdemeanor according to §32.1-27 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

12VAC5-391-40. Exemption from licensure.  

A. According to §32.1-162.2 of the Code of Virginia, this 
chapter is not applicable to a hospice established or operated 
for the practice of religious tenets of any recognized church 
or denomination that provides care and treatment for the sick 
by spiritual means without the use of any drug or material 
remedy, whether gratuitously or for compensation. Such a 
hospice shall comply with the statutes and regulations 
governing environmental protection and life safety.  

B. The hospice program must file a request for exemption 
from licensure in writing to the Director director of the Center 
for Quality Health Care Services and Consumer Protection 
OLC. The request shall contain documentation explaining the 
hospice program's relationship to the practice of religious 
tenets of a recognized church or denomination.  

C. The hospice program shall be notified in writing that the 
exemption from licensure has been registered.  

D. Exempt hospice programs shall remain subject to 
complaint investigations in keeping with state law.  

12VAC5-391-50. License application; initial and renewal.  

A. The center OLC will provide prelicensure consultation 
and technical assistance to any person regarding the licensure 
process. The purpose of such consultation is to explain the 
regulation and to review an applicant's proposed hospice 
program plans, forms, and other documents, as they relate to 
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the regulation. Prelicensure consultations can be arranged 
after an initial application has been filed.  

B. Licensure applications are obtained from the center OLC. 
The center OLC shall consider an application complete when 
all requested information and the appropriate fee, stated in 
12VAC5-391-70, are submitted. If the center OLC finds the 
application incomplete, the applicant will be notified in 
writing of the incomplete application.  

An incomplete application shall become inactive six months 
after it is received by the center OLC. Applicants must 
reapply for licensure with a completed application and 
application fee. An application for a license may be 
withdrawn at any time.  

C. A completed application for initial licensure must be 
submitted at least 60 days prior to the hospice program's 
planned opening date to allow the center OLC time to act on 
the application.  

D. The activities and services of each applicant or licensee 
of a hospice license shall be subject to an inspection by the 
center OLC to determine if the hospice program is in 
compliance with the provisions of this chapter and state law. 
Hospice programs submitting an initial application shall 
receive an announced inspection prior to accepting patients.  

E. Licenses are renewed annually. The center OLC shall 
make renewal applications available at least 60 days prior to 
the expiration date of the current license.  

F. The hospice program shall submit the completed renewal 
application form along with any required attachments and the 
application fee by the date indicated in the cover letter. 
Providers operating dedicated hospice facilities shall include 
a copy of the facility deficiency report and plan of correction 
from their latest facility licensure inspection when applying to 
renew their hospice program license.  

G. It is the hospice program's responsibility to complete and 
return the renewal application to assure timely processing. 
Should a current license expire before a new license is issued, 
the current license shall remain in effect provided a complete 
and accurate application was filed on time.  

H. Providers operating a dedicated hospice facility shall 
maintain compliance with the applicable licensure regulations 
described in 12VAC5-391-120. Failure to maintain 
compliance may be taken into consideration in the center's 
OLC decision to renew a hospice program license.  

12VAC5-391-60. Changes to or reissuance of a license.  

A. It is the responsibility of the hospice program's governing 
body to maintain a current and accurate license, including 
appropriate facility licensure if the hospice program operates 
a dedicated hospice facility.  

B. A hospice program shall give written notification 30 
working days in advance of any proposed changes that may 
require the reissuance of the license. Notices shall be sent to 
the attention of the Director director of the Center for Quality 
Health Care Services and Consumer Protection OLC.  

The following circumstances require the reissuance of a 
license and payment of a fee:  

1. A change in ownership or operator;  

2. A change in hospice program name; or  

3. Relocation of the hospice program's administrative 
office.  

C. The center OLC will evaluate written information about 
any planned changes in operation that affect the terms of the 
license or the continuing eligibility for a license. A licensing 
representative may inspect the hospice program during the 
process of evaluating a proposed change.  

D. The hospice program will be notified in writing whether 
a license can be reissued or a new application is needed.  

12VAC5-391-70. Fees.  

A. The center OLC shall collect a fee of $500 for each initial 
and renewal license. Fees shall accompany the licensure 
application and are not refundable.  

B. A processing fee of $250 shall be collected for each 
reissuance or replacement of a license and shall accompany 
the written request for reissuance or replacement.  

C. In addition, a late fee of $50 shall be collected for a 
hospice program's failure to file a renewal application by the 
date specified.  

12VAC5-391-80. On-site inspections.  

A. A center OLC representative shall make periodic 
unannounced on-site inspections of the hospice program as 
necessary, but not less often than biennially. The hospice 
program shall be responsible for correcting any deficiencies 
found during any on-site inspection, including deficiencies 
found during announced initial inspections. Compliance with 
all standards will be determined by the center OLC according 
to applicable law. The administrator will be notified 
whenever any item in the plan of correction is determined to 
be unacceptable.  

B. The hospice program shall make available to the center 
OLC representative any necessary records and shall allow 
access to interview the agents, employees, contractors, and 
any person under its control, direction or supervision.  

C. After the on-site inspection, the center OLC 
representative shall discuss the findings of the inspection with 
the administrator or designee.  
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D. The administrator shall submit, within 15 working days 
from the date of the deficiency report, an acceptable plan for 
correcting any deficiencies found during an on-site 
inspection. The plan of correction shall contain:  

1. A description of the corrective action or actions to be 
taken and the personnel to implement and monitor the 
corrective action;  

2. The expected correction date;  

3. A description of the measures implemented to prevent a 
recurrence of the violation; and  

4. The signature of the hospice program's administrator.  

E. The administrator shall be responsible for assuring the 
plan of correction is implemented and monitored so that 
compliance is maintained.  

F. Completion of corrective actions shall not exceed 45 
working days from the last day of the inspection.  

12VAC5-391-90. Home visits.  

A. As part of any inspection, a center an OLC representative 
may conduct home visits subject to obtaining consent from 
the patient and the patient's family or caretaker.  

B. The hospice program shall be responsible for arranging 
in-home visits with patients, family members, and caregivers 
for the center OLC representative.  

C. The hospice program shall explain clearly to the patient, 
patient's family or caretaker, that a home visit is voluntary 
and that refusal to consent to a home visit will in no way 
affect the patient's care.  

12VAC5-391-100. Complaint investigation.  

A. The center OLC has the responsibility to investigate any 
complaints regarding alleged violations of this chapter and 
applicable law.  

B. Complaints may be received in written or oral form and 
may be anonymous.  

C. When the investigation is complete, the licensee and the 
complainant, if known, will be notified in writing of the 
findings of the investigation.  

D. The administrator shall submit an acceptable plan for 
correcting any deficiencies found during a complaint 
investigation.  

E. The administrator will be notified in writing whenever 
any aspect of the plan of correction is determined to be 
unacceptable.  

F. The administrator shall be responsible for assuring the 
plan of correction is implemented and monitored so that 
compliance is maintained.  

12VAC5-391-120. Dedicated hospice facilities.  

A. Providers seeking to operate a dedicated hospice facility 
shall comply with the appropriate facility licensing regulation 
as follows:  

1. Up to five patient beds, facilities shall be licensed as:  

a. An assisted living facility pursuant to 22VAC40-71;  

b. A hospital pursuant to 12VAC5-410; or  

c. A nursing facility pursuant to 12VAC5-371; or  

2. Six or more patient beds, facilities shall be licensed as:  

a. An assisted living facility, pursuant to 22VAC40-71 
with a classified Use Group of I-2;  

b. A hospital pursuant to 12VAC5-410; or  

c. A nursing facility pursuant to 12VAC5-371.  

Facilities to be licensed as a hospital or a nursing facility 
shall obtain the applicable Certificate of Public Need 
(COPN).  

B. Only patients diagnosed terminally ill shall be admitted to 
a dedicated hospice facility. The facility shall admit only 
those patients whose needs can be met by the 
accommodations and services provided by the facility.  

C. Admission to a dedicated hospice facility shall be the 
decision of the patient in consultation with the patient's 
physician. No patient shall be admitted to a hospice facility at 
the discretion of, or for the convenience of, the hospice 
provider.  

D. No dedicated hospice facility shall receive for care, 
treatment, or services patients in excess of the licensed bed 
capacity. However, facilities licensed as a nursing facility 
may provide temporary shelter for evacuees displaced due to 
a disaster. In those cases, the facility may exceed the licensed 
capacity for the duration of that emergency only provided the 
health, safety, and well being of all patients is not 
compromised and the center OLC is notified.  

E. No dedicated hospice facility provider shall add 
additional patient beds or renovate facility space without first 
notifying the center OLC and the applicable facility licensing 
authority. Center OLC notifications must be in writing to the 
Director director of the Center for Quality Health Care 
Services and Consumer Protection OLC.  

F. The center OLC will not accept any requests for variances 
to this section.  

12VAC5-391-130. Variances.  

A. The center OLC can authorize variances only to its own 
licensing regulations, not to regulations of another agency or 
to any requirements in federal, state, or local laws. 
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B. A hospice program may request a variance to a particular 
regulation or requirement contained in this chapter when the 
standard or requirement poses a special hardship and when a 
variance to it would not endanger the safety or well-being of 
patients. The request for a variance must describe the special 
hardship to the hospice program and to the patients it serves. 
When applicable, the request should include proposed 
alternatives to meet the purpose of the requirements that will 
ensure the protection and well-being of patients. At no time 
shall a variance approved for one individual be extended to 
general applicability. If a variance is denied, expires, or is 
rescinded, routine enforcement of the regulation or portion of 
the regulation shall be resumed. The hospice program may at 
any time withdraw a request for a variance.  

C. The center OLC shall have the authority to waive, either 
temporarily or permanently, the enforcement of one or more 
of these regulations provided safety, patient care and services 
are not adversely affected. The center OLC may attach 
conditions to the granting of the variance in order to protect 
persons in care.  

D. The center OLC may rescind or modify a variance when 
(i) conditions change; (ii) additional information becomes 
known that alters the basis for the original decision; (iii) the 
hospice program fails to meet any conditions attached to the 
variance; or (iv) results of the variance jeopardize the safety, 
comfort, or well-being of persons in care.  

E. Consideration of a variance is initiated when a written 
request is submitted to the Director director of the Center for 
Quality Health Care Services and Consumer Protection OLC. 
The center OLC shall notify the hospice program in writing 
of the receipt of the request for a variance.  

F. The licensee shall be notified in writing if the requested 
variance is denied.  

G. The hospice program shall develop procedures for 
monitoring the implementation of any approved variance to 
assure the ongoing collection of any data relevant to the 
variance and the presentation of any later report concerning 
the variance as requested by the center OLC.  

12VAC5-391-150. Return of a license.  

A. The circumstances under which a license must be 
returned include, but are not limited to (i) change in 
ownership or operator, (ii) change in hospice program name, 
(iii) relocation of the administrative office, (iv) 
discontinuation of any core services, and (v) establishment of 
a dedicated hospice facility.  

B. The licensee shall notify its patients and the center OLC 
in writing 30 days prior to discontinuing any services.  

C. If the hospice program is no longer operational, or the 
license is revoked or suspended, the license shall be returned 
to the center OLC within five working days. The licensee is 

responsible for notifying its patients and the center OLC 
where all medical records will be located.  

Part II  
Administrative Services  

12VAC5-391-160. Management and administration.  

A. No person shall establish or operate a hospice program, 
as defined in §32.1-162.1 of the Code of Virginia, without 
having obtained a license.  

B. The hospice program must comply with:  

1. This chapter (12VAC5-391);  

2. Other applicable federal, state or local laws and 
regulations; and  

3. The hospice program's own policies and procedures.  

When applicable regulations are similar, the more stringent 
regulation shall take precedence.  

C. The hospice program shall submit or make available 
reports and information necessary to establish compliance 
with this chapter and applicable law.  

D. The hospice program shall permit representatives from 
the center OLC to conduct inspections to:  

1. Verify application information;  

2. Determine compliance with this chapter;  

3. Review necessary records and documents; and  

4. Investigate complaints.  

E. The hospice program shall notify the center OLC 30 
working days in advance of changes effecting the hospice 
program, including the:  

1. Location of the administrative office or mailing address 
of the hospice program;  

2. Ownership or operator;  

3. Services provided;  

4. Administrator;  

5. Hospice program name;  

6. Establishment of a dedicated hospice facility; and  

7. Closure of the hospice program.  

F. The current license from the department shall be posted 
for public inspection.  

G. Service providers or individuals under contract must 
comply with the hospice program's policies and this chapter, 
as appropriate.  

H. The hospice program shall not use any advertising that 
contains false, misleading or deceptive statements or claims, 
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or false or misleading disclosures of fees and payment for 
services.  

I. The hospice program shall have regular posted business 
hours and be fully operational during business hours. Patient 
care services shall be available 24 hours a day, seven days a 
week. This does not mean that a hospice program must accept 
new clients on an emergency basis during nonbusiness hours.  

J. The hospice program shall accept a patient only when the 
hospice program can adequately meet that patient's needs.  

K. The hospice program must have an emergency 
preparedness plan in case of inclement weather or natural 
disaster to include contacting and providing essential care to 
patients, coordinating with community agencies to assist as 
needed, and maintaining current information on patients who 
would require specialized assistance.  

12VAC5-391-250. Complaints.  

A. The hospice program shall establish and maintain 
complaint handling procedures that specify the:  

1. System for logging receipt, investigation and resolution 
of complaints;  

2. Format of the written record;  

3. Method in which the adult protective services unit of the 
local social services department is to be informed and for 
what complaints; and  

4. Description of the appeal rights if a complainant is not 
satisfied with the resolution.  

B. The hospice program shall designate staff responsible for 
complaint resolution, including:  

1. Complaint intake, including acknowledgment of 
complaints;  

2. Investigation of the complaint;  

3. Review of the investigation of findings and resolution of 
the complaint; and  

4. Written notification to the complainant of the proposed 
resolution within 30 days from the date of receipt of the 
complaint.  

C. The patient or his designee shall be given a copy of the 
hospice program's procedures for filing a complaint at the 
time of admission to service. The hospice program shall 
provide each patient or his designee with the name, mailing 
address, and telephone number of the:  

1. Hospice program contact person;  

2. State Ombudsman; and  

3. Center for Quality Health Care Services and Consumer 
Protection Complaint Unit of the OLC. 

D. The hospice program shall maintain documentation of all 
complaints received and the status of each complaint from 
date of receipt through its final resolution. Records shall be 
maintained from the date of the last licensure inspection and 
for no less than three years.  

12VAC5-391-280. Medical record system.  

A. The hospice program shall maintain an organized 
medical record system according to accepted standards of 
practice. Written policies and procedures shall specify 
retention, reproduction, access, storage, content, and 
completion of the record.  

B. Medical record information shall be safeguarded against 
loss or unauthorized use.  

C. Medical records shall be confidential. Only authorized 
personnel shall have access as specified in state and federal 
law.  

D. Provisions shall be made for the safe storage of the 
original record and for accurate and legible reproductions of 
the original.  

E. Policies shall specify arrangements for retention and 
protection of records if the hospice program discontinues 
operation and shall provide for notification to the center OLC 
and the patient of the location of the records.  

F. An accurate and complete medical record shall be 
maintained for each patient receiving services and shall 
include, but shall not be limited to:  

1. Patient identifying information;  

2. Identification of the attending physician;  

3. Admitting information, including a patient history;  

4. A psychosocial and spiritual assessment, including 
information regarding composition of the household, safety 
issues in the physical environment, coping skills of the 
family and the patient, and identification of the individuals 
to be instructed in the care of the patient;  

5. Physical assessment;  

6. Documentation and results of all medical tests ordered 
by the physician or other health care professionals and 
performed by the hospice program's staff;  

7. Physician's orders;  

8. The plan of care including, but not limited to, the type 
and frequency of each service to be delivered by hospice 
program or contract service personnel and appropriate 
assessment and management of pain;  

9. Medication sheets that include the name, dosage, 
frequency of administration, route of administration, date 
started, changed or discontinued for each medication, and 
possible side effects;  
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10. Copies of all summary reports sent to the attending 
physician;  

11. Documentation of patient rights review;  

12. Services provided, including any volunteer services; 
and  

13. A discharge summary that includes continuing 
symptom management needs.  

G. Signed and dated progress notes by each individual 
delivering service shall be written on the day the service is 
delivered and incorporated in the medical record within seven 
working days.  

H. All services provided to the patient by the hospice 
program shall be documented in the patient's medical record.  

I. Entries in the medical record shall be current, legible, 
dated and authenticated by the person making the entry. 
Errors shall be corrected by striking through and initialing.  

J. Verbal orders shall be documented within 24 hours in the 
medical record by the health care professional receiving the 
order and shall be countersigned by the health professional 
initiating the order according to the procedures of the hospice 
program.  

K. Originals or reproductions of individual patient medical 
records shall be maintained in their entirety for a minimum of 
five years following discharge or date of last contact unless 
otherwise specified by state or federal requirements. Records 
of minors shall be kept for at least five years after the minor 
reaches 18 years of age.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-987; Filed January 16, 2008, 10:07 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health has 
claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
where no agency discretion is involved.  The State Board of 
Health will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-410. Regulations for the 
Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia (amending 12VAC5-
410-230). 

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Carrie Eddie, Policy Analyst, Department of 
Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2157, FAX (804) 527-4502, or 
email carrie.eddy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In response to Chapter 516 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly, 
this amendment requires that hospitals include in their 
visitation policies that adult patients may designate who is 
authorized to visit them while such patient is in the 
hospital. 

12VAC5-410-230. Patient care management. 

A. All patients shall be under the care of a member of the 
medical staff. 

B. Each hospital shall have a plan that includes effective 
mechanisms for the periodic review and revision of patient 
care policies and procedures. 

C. Each hospital shall establish a protocol relating to the 
rights and responsibilities of patients based on Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations' 
2000 Hospital Accreditation Standards, January 2000. The 
protocol shall include a process reasonably designed to 
inform patients of their rights and responsibilities. Patients 
shall be given a copy of their rights and responsibilities upon 
admission. 

D. No medication or treatment shall be given except on the 
signed order of a person lawfully authorized by state statutes. 

1. Hospital personnel, as designated in medical staff 
bylaws, rules and regulations, or hospital policies and 
procedures, may accept emergency telephone and other 
verbal orders for medication or treatment for hospital 
patients from physicians and other persons lawfully 
authorized by state statute to give patient orders. 

2. As specified in the hospital's medical staff bylaws, rules 
and regulations, or hospital policies and procedures, 
emergency telephone and other verbal orders shall be 
signed within a reasonable period of time not to exceed 72 
hours, by the person giving the order, or, when such person 
is not available, cosigned by another physician or other 
person authorized to give the order. 

E. Each hospital shall have a reliable method for 
identification of each patient, including newborn infants. 

F. Each hospital shall include in its visitation policy a 
provision allowing each adult patient to receive visits from 
any individual from whom the patient desires to receive 
visits, subject to other restrictions contained in the visitation 
policy including, but not limited to, the patient’s medical 
condition and the number of visitors permitted in the patient’s 
room simultaneously. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-981; Filed January 16, 2008, 10:07 a.m.  
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DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 
for the Licensing of Providers of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse, the Individual and 
Family Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver and 
Residential Brain Injury Services  (adding 12VAC35-105-
115). 

Statutory Authority: §37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Leslie Anderson, Director, Office of 
Licensing, Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation 
and Substance Abuse Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 
1797, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 804-371-6885, FAX 
804-692-0066, or email 
leslie.anderson@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment establishes a process for issuing an order 
of summary suspension of a license for group home or 
other residential services for adults in cases of immediate 
threat to the health, safety, and welfare of residents. It also 
includes provisions for scheduling and conducting an 
administrative hearing, including the appointment of a 
hearing officer by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme 
Court.   

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

12VAC35-105-115. Summary suspension.  

A. In conjunction with any proceeding for revocation, denial 
or other action, when conditions or practices exist that pose 
an immediate and substantial threat to the health, safety, and 
welfare of the residents, the commissioner may issue an order 
of summary suspension of the license to operate any group 
home or residential facility for adults when he believes the 
operation of the home or facility should be suspended during 
the pendency of such proceeding.  

B. Prior to the issuance of an order of summary suspension, 
the department shall contact the Executive Secretary of the 
Supreme Court of Virginia to obtain the name of a hearing 
officer. The department shall schedule the time, date, and 
location of the administrative hearing with the hearing officer. 

C. The order of summary suspension shall take effect upon 
its issuance. It shall be delivered by personal service and 
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address of 
record of the licensee as soon as practicable. The order shall 
set forth: 

1. The time, date, and location of the hearing;  

2. The procedures for the hearing;  

3. The hearing and appeal rights; and 

4. Facts and evidence that formed the basis for the order of 
summary suspension. 

D. The hearing shall take place within three business days of 
the issuance of the order of summary suspension. 

E. The department shall have the burden of proving in any 
summary suspension hearing that it had reasonable grounds to 
require the licensee to cease operations during the pendency 
of the concurrent revocation, denial, or other proceeding.  

F. The administrative hearing officer shall provide written 
findings and conclusions together with a recommendation as 
to whether the license should be summarily suspended, to the 
commissioner within five business days of the hearing. 

G. The commissioner shall issue a final order of summary 
suspension or make a determination that the summary 
suspension is not warranted based on the facts presented and 
the recommendation of the hearing officer within seven 
business days of receiving the recommendation of the hearing 
officer. 

H. The commissioner shall issue and serve on the group 
home or residential facility for adults or its designee by 
personal service or by certified mail, return receipt requested 
either: 

1. A final order of summary suspension including (i) the 
basis for accepting or rejecting the hearing officer’s 
recommendation, and (ii) notice that the group home or 
residential facility may appeal the commissioner’s decision 
to the appropriate circuit court no later than 10 days 
following issuance of the order; or 

2. Notification that the summary suspension is not 
warranted by the facts and circumstances presented and 
that the order of summary suspension is rescinded. 

I. The licensee may appeal the commissioner’s decision on 
the summary suspension to the appropriate circuit court no 
more than 10 days after issuance of the final order. 

J. The outcome of concurrent revocation, denial, and other 
proceedings shall not be affected by the outcome of any 
hearing pertaining to the appropriateness of the order of 
summary suspension. 

K. At the time of the issuance of the order of summary 
suspension, the department shall contact the appropriate 
agencies to inform them of the action and the need to develop 
relocation plans for residents, and ensure that any other legal 
guardians or responsible family members are informed of the 
pending action.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-93; Filed January 9, 2008, 12:33 p.m.  
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  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing 
Development Authority is exempt from the Administrative 
Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 
pursuant to §2.2-4002 A 4; however, under the provisions of 
§2.2-4031, it is required to publish all proposed and final 
regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC10-180. Rules and Regulations 
for Allocation of Low-Income Housing Tax Credits 
(amending 13VAC10-180-10, 13VAC10-180-50, 
13VAC10-180-60). 

Statutory Authority: §36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 4, 2008.  

Agency Contact: J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 S. Belvidere 
Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5540 or 
email judson.mckellar@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) increase the minimum construction 
cost to receive credits from $7,500 to $10,000 per unit 
for developments financed with tax-exempt bonds and 
$15,000 per unit for all other developments, (ii) increase 
the point category for developments located in a 
revitalization area from 25 to 30 points, (iii) add the 
Rural Development 538 program interest credit funding 
as an option to qualify for points in the subsidized 
funding category, (iv) limit points for subsidized 
financing if an identity of interest exists between the 
owner and the applicant, (v) revise the amenity category 
for high efficiency heat pumps and gas furnaces, (vi) 
delete the three-point amenity category for an STC rating 
of 52 or more between floors, (vii) beginning on January 
1, 2009, add a five-point amenity category if all units 
have hot water heaters that meet the EPA’s Energy Star 
qualified program, (viii) add U.S. Green Building 
Council "LEED" Certification as an additional option to 
EarthCraft Certification and increase this point category 
from 15 to 30 points, (ix) add a 25-point category for 
developers that agree to use a VHDA-certified property 
management company to manage the development, (x) 
add a 15-point category for units that meet Universal 
Design standards, (xi) add a five-point category for 
Architects of Record who have attended an EarthCraft 
training seminar, (xii) allow a credit adjustment for the 

credit-per-unit point category calculation for 
developments receiving a bonus in credits that are 
located in both a Revitalization Area and also are in 
either a QCT or DDA, (xiii) allow the executive director 
to substitute credits when a development is delayed by 
lawsuit, (xiv) revise the requirements for the 15% 
Northern Virginia noncompetitive preservation pool, and 
(xv) make other miscellaneous administrative 
clarification changes. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

13VAC10-180-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means an applicant for credits under this 
chapter and also means the owner of the development to 
whom the credits are allocated. 

"Credits" means the low-income housing tax credits as 
described in §42 of the IRC. 

"Elderly housing" means any development intended to 
provide housing for elderly persons as an exemption to the 
provisions regarding familial status under the United States 
Fair Housing Act (42 USC §3601 et seq.). 

"IRC" means the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as 
amended, and the rules, regulations, notices and other official 
pronouncements promulgated thereunder. 

"IRS" means the Internal Revenue Service. 

"Low-income housing units" means those units which are 
defined as "low income units" under §42 of the IRC. 

"Low-income jurisdiction" means any city or county in the 
Commonwealth with an area median income at or below the 
Virginia nonmetro area median income established by the 
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 
("HUD"). 

"Principal" means any person (including any individual, 
joint venture, partnership, limited liability company, 
corporation, nonprofit organization, trust, or any other public 
or private entity) that (i) with respect to the proposed 
development will own or participate in the ownership of the 
proposed development or (ii) with respect to an existing 
multi-family rental project has owned or participated in the 
ownership of such project, all as more fully described 
hereinbelow. The person who is the owner of the proposed 
development or multifamily rental project is considered a 
principal. In determining whether any other person is a 
principal, the following guidelines shall govern: (i) in the case 
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of a partnership that is a principal (whether as the owner or 
otherwise), all general partners are also considered principals, 
regardless of the percentage interest of the general partner; 
(ii) in the case of a public or private corporation or 
organization or governmental entity that is a principal 
(whether as the owner or otherwise), principals also include 
the president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer and 
other officers who are directly responsible to the board of 
directors or any equivalent governing body, as well as all 
directors or other members of the governing body and any 
stockholder having a 25% or more interest; (iii) in the case of 
a limited liability company that is a principal (whether as the 
owner or otherwise), all members are also considered 
principals, regardless of the percentage interest of the 
member; (iv) in the case of a trust that is a principal (whether 
as the owner or otherwise), all persons having a 25% or more 
beneficial ownership interest in the assets of such trust; (v) in 
the case of any other person that is a principal (whether as the 
owner or otherwise), all persons having a 25% or more 
ownership interest in such other person are also considered 
principals; and (vi) any person that directly or indirectly 
controls, or has the power to control, a principal shall also be 
considered a principal. 

"Qualified application" means a written request for tax 
credits which is submitted on a form or forms prescribed or 
approved by the executive director together with all 
documents required by the authority for submission and 
meets all minimum scoring requirements. 

"Qualified low-income buildings" or "qualified low-income 
development" means the buildings or development which 
meets the applicable requirements in §42 of the IRC to 
qualify for an allocation of credits thereunder. 

"Revitalization area" means any area for which the chief 
executive officer (or the equivalent) of the local jurisdiction 
in which the development is to be located certifies as follows: 
(i) either (a) the area is blighted, deteriorated, deteriorating or, 
if not rehabilitated, likely to deteriorate by reason that the 
buildings, improvements or other facilities in such area are 
subject to one or more of the following conditions-
dilapidation, obsolescence, overcrowding, inadequate 
ventilation, light or sanitation, excessive land coverage, 
deleterious land use, or faulty or inadequate design, quality or 
condition or (b) the industrial, commercial or other economic 
development of such area will benefit the city or county but 
such area lacks the housing needed to induce manufacturing, 
industrial, commercial, governmental, educational, 
entertainment, community development, healthcare or 
nonprofit enterprises or undertakings to locate or remain in 
such area; and (ii) private enterprise and investment are not 
reasonably expected, without assistance, to produce the 
construction or rehabilitation of decent, safe and sanitary 
housing and supporting facilities that will meet the needs of 
low and moderate income persons and families in such area 
and will induce other persons and families to live within such 

area and thereby create a desirable economic mix of residents 
in such area. The area within a redevelopment project, 
conservation project, or rehabilitation district established by 
the city or county pursuant to Chapter 1 (§36-1 et seq.) of 
Title 36 of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed a 
revitalization area without any such certification. Any such 
revitalization area must either (i) have established boundaries 
at least a year old at the time applications are submitted and 
include discussions from the locality of the type of 
developments that will be encouraged, the potential sources 
of funding, and services to be offered in the area; or (ii) be 
subject to a plan using Hope VI funds from HUD. A 
comprehensive plan does not qualify as certification of a 
revitalization area. 

13VAC10-180-50. Application.  

Prior to submitting an application for reservation, applicants 
shall submit on such form as required by the executive 
director, the letter for authority signature by which the 
authority shall notify the chief executive officers (or the 
equivalent) of the local jurisdictions in which the 
developments are to be located to provide such officers a 
reasonable opportunity to comment on the developments. 
When scoring the applications, the executive director will 
award points to those applications that submit the form 
correctly within the deadlines established by the executive 
director, award no points to those applications that submit the 
form incorrectly within the deadlines established by the 
executive director and subtract points from those applications 
that fail to submit the form by such deadlines. 

Application for a reservation of credits shall be commenced 
by filing with the authority an application, on such form or 
forms as the executive director may from time to time 
prescribe or approve, together with such documents and 
additional information (including, without limitation, a 
market study that shows adequate demand for the housing 
units to be produced by the applicant's proposed 
development) as may be requested by the authority in order to 
comply with the IRC and this chapter and to make the 
reservation and allocation of the credits in accordance with 
this chapter. The executive director may reject any 
application from consideration for a reservation or allocation 
of credits if in such application the applicant does not provide 
the proper documentation or information on the forms 
prescribed by the executive director. 

All sites in an application for a scattered site development 
may only serve one primary market area. If the executive 
director determines that the sites subject to a scattered site 
development are served by different primary market areas, 
separate applications for credits must be filed for each 
primary market area in which scattered sites are located 
within the deadlines established by the executive director. 

The application should include a breakdown of sources and 
uses of funds sufficiently detailed to enable the authority to 
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ascertain what costs will be incurred and what will comprise 
the total financing package, including the various subsidies 
and the anticipated syndication or placement proceeds that 
will be raised. The following cost information, if applicable, 
needs to be included in the application to determine the 
feasible credit amount: site acquisition costs, site preparation 
costs, construction costs, construction contingency, general 
contractor's overhead and profit, architect and engineer's fees, 
permit and survey fees, insurance premiums, real estate taxes 
during construction, title and recording fees, construction 
period interest, financing fees, organizational costs, rent-up 
and marketing costs, accounting and auditing costs, working 
capital and operating deficit reserves, syndication and legal 
fees, development fees, and other costs and fees. All 
applications seeking credits for rehabilitation of existing units 
must provide for contractor construction costs of at least 
$7,500 [ $15,000 per unit $10,000 per unit for developments 
financed with tax-exempt bonds and $15,000 per unit for all 
other developments ] . 

Each application shall include plans and specifications or, in 
the case of rehabilitation for which plans will not be used, a 
unit-by-unit work write-up for such rehabilitation with 
certification in such form and from such person satisfactory to 
the executive director as to the completion of such plans or 
specifications or work write-up. 

Each application shall include evidence of (i) sole fee simple 
ownership of the site of the proposed development by the 
applicant, (ii) lease of such site by the applicant for a term 
exceeding the compliance period (as defined in the IRC) or 
for such longer period as the applicant represents in the 
application that the development will be held for occupancy 
by low-income persons or families or (iii) right to acquire or 
lease such site pursuant to a valid and binding written option 
or contract between the applicant and the fee simple owner of 
such site for a period extending at least four months beyond 
any application deadline established by the executive director, 
provided that such option or contract shall have no conditions 
within the discretion or control of such owner of such site. 
Any contract for the acquisition of a site with existing 
residential property may not require an empty building as a 
condition of such contract, unless relocation assistance is 
provided to displaced households, if any, at such level 
required by the authority. A contract that permits the owner to 
continue to market the property, even if the applicant has a 
right of first refusal, does not constitute the requisite site 
control required in clause (iii) above. No application shall be 
considered for a reservation or allocation of credits unless 
such evidence is submitted with the application and the 
authority determines that the applicant owns, leases or has the 
right to acquire or lease the site of the proposed development 
as described in the preceding sentence. In the case of 
acquisition and rehabilitation of developments funded by 
Rural Development of the U.S. Department of Agriculture 
(Rural Development), [ the any ]  site control document 

 [ subject to approval of the partners of the seller ] does not 
need to be approved by all partners of the seller if the general 
partner of the seller executing the site control document 
provides (i) an attorney's opinion that such general partner 
has the authority to enter into the site control document and 
such document is binding on the seller or (ii) a letter from the 
existing syndicator indicating a willingness to secure the 
necessary partner approvals upon the reservation of credits. 

Each application shall include, in a form or forms required 
by the executive director, a certification of previous 
participation listing all developments receiving an allocation 
of tax credits under §42 of the IRC in which the principal or 
principals have or had an ownership or participation interest, 
the location of such developments, the number of residential 
units and low-income housing units in such developments and 
such other information as more fully specified by the 
executive director. Furthermore, for any such development, 
the applicant must indicate whether the appropriate state 
housing credit agency has ever filed a Form 8823 with the 
IRS reporting noncompliance with the requirements of the 
IRC and that such noncompliance had not been corrected at 
the time of the filing of such Form 8823. The executive 
director may reject any application from consideration for a 
reservation or allocation of credits unless the above 
information is submitted with the application. If, after 
reviewing the above information or any other information 
available to the authority, the executive director determines 
that the principal or principals do not have the experience, 
financial capacity and predisposition to regulatory 
compliance necessary to carry out the responsibilities for the 
acquisition, construction, ownership, operation, marketing, 
maintenance and management of the proposed development 
or the ability to fully perform all the duties and obligations 
relating to the proposed development under law, regulation 
and the reservation and allocation documents of the authority 
or if an applicant is in substantial noncompliance with the 
requirements of the IRC, the executive director may reject 
applications by the applicant. No application will be accepted 
from any applicant with a principal that has or had an 
ownership or participation interest in a development at the 
time the authority reported such development to the IRS as no 
longer in compliance and no longer participating in the 
federal low-income housing tax credit program. 

Each application shall include, in a form or forms required 
by the executive director, a certification that the design of the 
proposed development meets all applicable amenity and 
design requirements required by the executive director for the 
type of housing to be provided by the proposed development. 

The application should include pro forma financial 
statements setting forth the anticipated cash flows during the 
credit period as defined in the IRC. The application shall 
include a certification by the applicant as to the full extent of 
all federal, state and local subsidies which apply (or which the 
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applicant expects to apply) with respect to each building or 
development. The executive director may also require the 
submission of a legal opinion or other assurances satisfactory 
to the executive director as to, among other things, 
compliance of the proposed development with the IRC and a 
certification, together with an opinion of an independent 
certified public accountant or other assurances satisfactory to 
the executive director, setting forth the calculation of the 
amount of credits requested by the application and certifying, 
among other things, that under the existing facts and 
circumstances the applicant will be eligible for the amount of 
credits requested. 

Each applicant shall commit in the application to provide 
relocation assistance to displaced households, if any, at such 
level required by the director. 

If an applicant submits an application for reservation or 
allocation of credits that contains a material misrepresentation 
or fails to include information regarding developments 
involving the applicant that have been determined to be out of 
compliance with the requirements of the IRC, the executive 
director may reject the application or stop processing such 
application upon discovery of such misrepresentation or 
noncompliance and may prohibit such applicant from 
submitting applications for credits to the authority in the 
future. 

In any situation in which the executive director deems it 
appropriate, he may treat two or more applications as a single 
application. 

The executive director may establish criteria and 
assumptions to be used by the applicant in the calculation of 
amounts in the application, and any such criteria and 
assumptions may be indicated on the application form, 
instructions or other communication available to the public. 

The executive director may prescribe such deadlines for 
submission of applications for reservation and allocation of 
credits for any calendar year as he shall deem necessary or 
desirable to allow sufficient processing time for the authority 
to make such reservations and allocations. If the executive 
director determines that an applicant for a reservation of 
credits has failed to submit one or more mandatory 
attachments to the application by the reservation application 
deadline, he may allow such applicant an opportunity to 
submit such attachments within a certain time established by 
the executive director with a [ ten-point 10-point ] scoring 
penalty per item. 

After receipt of the applications, if necessary, the authority 
shall notify the chief executive officers (or the equivalent) of 
the local jurisdictions in which the developments are to be 
located and shall provide such officers a reasonable 
opportunity to comment on the developments. 

The development for which an application is submitted may 
be, but shall not be required to be, financed by the authority. 

If any such development is to be financed by the authority, 
the application for such financing shall be submitted to and 
received by the authority in accordance with its applicable 
rules and regulations. 

The authority may consider and approve, in accordance 
herewith, both the reservation and the allocation of credits to 
buildings or developments which the authority may own or 
may intend to acquire, construct and/or rehabilitate. 

13VAC10-180-60. Review and selection of applications; 
reservation of credits.  

The executive director may divide the amount of credits into 
separate pools and each separate pool may be further divided 
into separate tiers. The division of such pools and tiers may 
be based upon one or more of the following factors: 
geographical areas of the state; types or characteristics of 
housing, construction, financing, owners, occupants, or 
source of credits; or any other factors deemed appropriate by 
him to best meet the housing needs of the Commonwealth. 

An amount, as determined by the executive director, not less 
than 10% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit 
ceiling for credits, shall be available for reservation and 
allocation to buildings or developments with respect to which 
the following requirements are met: 

1. A "qualified nonprofit organization" (as described in 
§42(h)(5)(C) of the IRC) which is authorized to do 
business in Virginia and is determined by the executive 
director, on the basis of such relevant factors as he shall 
consider appropriate, to be substantially based or active in 
the community of the development and is to materially 
participate (regular, continuous and substantial 
involvement as determined by the executive director) in the 
development and operation of the development throughout 
the "compliance period" (as defined in §42(i)(1) of the 
IRC); and 

2. (i) The "qualified nonprofit organization" described in 
the preceding subdivision 1 is to own (directly or through a 
partnership), prior to the reservation of credits to the 
buildings or development, all of the general partnership 
interests of the ownership entity thereof; (ii) the executive 
director of the authority shall have determined that such 
qualified nonprofit organization is not affiliated with or 
controlled by a for-profit organization; (iii) the executive 
director of the authority shall have determined that the 
qualified nonprofit organization was not formed by one or 
more individuals or for-profit entities for the principal 
purpose of being included in any nonprofit pools (as 
defined below) established by the executive director, and 
(iv) the executive director of the authority shall have 
determined that no staff member, officer or member of the 
board of directors of such qualified nonprofit organization 
will materially participate, directly or indirectly, in the 
proposed development as a for-profit entity. 
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In making the determinations required by the preceding 
subdivision 1 and clauses (ii), (iii) and (iv) of subdivision 2 
of this section, the executive director may apply such 
factors as he deems relevant, including, without limitation, 
the past experience and anticipated future activities of the 
qualified nonprofit organization, the sources and manner of 
funding of the qualified nonprofit organization, the date of 
formation and expected life of the qualified nonprofit 
organization, the number of paid staff members and 
volunteers of the qualified nonprofit organization, the 
nature and extent of the qualified nonprofit organization's 
proposed involvement in the construction or rehabilitation 
and the operation of the proposed development, the 
relationship of the staff, directors or other principals 
involved in the formation or operation of the qualified 
nonprofit organization with any persons or entities to be 
involved in the proposed development on a for-profit basis, 
and the proposed involvement in the construction or 
rehabilitation and operation of the proposed development 
by any persons or entities involved in the proposed 
development on a for-profit basis. The executive director 
may include in the application of the foregoing factors any 
other nonprofit organizations which, in his determination, 
are related (by shared directors, staff or otherwise) to the 
qualified nonprofit organization for which such 
determination is to be made. 

For purposes of the foregoing requirements, a qualified 
nonprofit organization shall be treated as satisfying such 
requirements if any qualified corporation (as defined in 
§42(h)(5)(D)(ii) of the IRC) in which such organization (by 
itself or in combination with one or more qualified nonprofit 
organizations) holds 100% of the stock satisfies such 
requirements. 

The applications shall include such representations and 
warranties and such information as the executive director may 
require in order to determine that the foregoing requirements 
have been satisfied. In no event shall more than 90% of the 
Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for 
credits be available for developments other than those 
satisfying the preceding requirements. The executive director 
may establish such pools (nonprofit pools) of credits as he 
may deem appropriate to satisfy the foregoing requirement. If 
any such nonprofit pools are so established, the executive 
director may rank the applications therein and reserve credits 
to such applications before ranking applications and reserving 
credits in other pools, and any such applications in such 
nonprofit pools not receiving any reservations of credits or 
receiving such reservations in amounts less than the full 
amount permissible hereunder (because there are not enough 
credits then available in such nonprofit pools to make such 
reservations) shall be assigned to such other pool as shall be 
appropriate hereunder; provided, however, that if credits are 
later made available (pursuant to the IRC or as a result of 
either a termination or reduction of a reservation of credits 

made from any nonprofit pools or a rescission in whole or in 
part of an allocation of credits made from such nonprofit 
pools or otherwise) for reservation and allocation by the 
authority during the same calendar year as that in which 
applications in the nonprofit pools have been so assigned to 
other pools as described above, the executive director may, in 
such situations, designate all or any portion of such additional 
credits for the nonprofit pools (or for any other pools as he 
shall determine) and may, if additional credits have been so 
designated for the nonprofit pools, reassign such applications 
to such nonprofit pools, rank the applications therein and 
reserve credits to such applications in accordance with the 
IRC and this chapter. In the event that during any round (as 
authorized hereinbelow) of application review and ranking 
the amount of credits reserved within such nonprofit pools is 
less than the total amount of credits made available therein, 
the executive director may either (i) leave such unreserved 
credits in such nonprofit pools for reservation and allocation 
in any subsequent round or rounds or (ii) redistribute, to the 
extent permissible under the IRC, such unreserved credits to 
such other pool or pools as the executive director shall 
designate reservations therefore in the full amount 
permissible hereunder (which applications shall hereinafter be 
referred to as "excess qualified applications") or (iii) carry 
over such unreserved credits to the next succeeding calendar 
year for the inclusion in the state housing credit ceiling (as 
defined in §42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for such year. 
Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, no 
reservation of credits shall be made from any nonprofit pools 
to any application with respect to which the qualified 
nonprofit organization has not yet been legally formed in 
accordance with the requirements of the IRC. In addition, no 
application for credits from any nonprofit pools or any 
combination of pools may receive a reservation or allocation 
of annual credits in an amount greater than $650,000 unless 
credits remain available in such nonprofit pools after all 
eligible applications for credits from such nonprofit pools 
receive a reservation of credits. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, applicants 
relying on the experience of a local housing authority for 
developer experience points described hereinbelow and/or 
using Hope VI funds from HUD in connection with the 
proposed development shall not be eligible to receive a 
reservation of credits from any nonprofit pools. 

The authority shall review each application, and, based on 
the application and other information available to the 
authority, shall assign points to each application as follows: 

1. Readiness. 

a. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority of 
unconditional approval by local authorities of the plan of 
development or site plan for the proposed development 
or that such approval is not required. (40 points; 
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applicants receiving points under this subdivision 1 a are 
not eligible for points under subdivision 5 a below) 

b. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority (i) of 
proper zoning or special use permit for such site or (ii) 
that no zoning requirements or special use permits are 
applicable. (40 points) 

2. Housing needs characteristics. 

a. Submission of the form prescribed by the authority 
with any required attachments, providing such 
information necessary for the authority to send a letter 
addressed to the current chief executive officer (or the 
equivalent) of the locality in which the proposed 
development is located, soliciting input on the proposed 
development from the locality within the deadlines 
established by the executive director. (10 points; failure 
to make timely submission, minus 50 points) 

b. (1) A letter dated within three months prior to the 
application deadline addressed to the authority and 
signed by the chief executive officer of the locality in 
which the proposed development is to be located stating, 
without qualification or limitation, the following: 

"The construction or rehabilitation of (name of 
development) and the allocation of federal housing tax 
credits available under IRC Section 42 for that 
development will help meet the housing needs and 
priorities of (name of locality). Accordingly, (name of 
locality) supports the allocation of federal housing tax 
credits requested by (name of applicant) for that 
development." (50 points) 

(2) No letter from the chief executive officer of the 
locality in which the proposed development is to be 
located, or a letter addressed to the authority and signed 
by such chief executive officer stating neither support (as 
described in subdivision b (1) above) nor opposition (as 
described in subdivision b (3) below) as to the allocation 
of credits to the applicant for the development. (25 
points) 

(3) A letter in response to its notification to the chief 
executive officer of the locality in which the proposed 
development is to be located opposing the allocation of 
credits to the applicant for the development. In any such 
letter, the chief executive officer must certify that the 
proposed development is not consistent with current 
zoning or other applicable land use regulations. (0 points) 

c. Documentation in a form approved by the authority 
from the chief executive officer (or the equivalent) of the 
local jurisdiction in which the development is to be 
located (including the certification described in the 
definition of revitalization area in 13VAC10-180-10) that 
the area in which the proposed development is to be 
located is a revitalization area and the proposed 

development is an integral part of the local government's 
plan for revitalization of the area. (25 (30 points) 

d. If the proposed development is located in a qualified 
census tract as defined in §42(d)(5)(C)(ii) of the IRC and 
is in a revitalization area. (5 points) 

e. Commitment by the applicant to give leasing 
preference to individuals and families (i) on public 
housing waiting lists maintained by the local housing 
authority operating in the locality in which the proposed 
development is to be located and notification of the 
availability of such units to the local housing authority by 
the applicant or (ii) on section 8 (as defined in 
13VAC10-180-90) waiting lists maintained by the local 
or nearest section 8 administrator for the locality in 
which the proposed development is to be located and 
notification of the availability of such units to the local 
section 8 administrator by the applicant. (10 points; 
Applicants receiving points under this subdivision may 
not require an annual minimum income requirement for 
prospective tenants that exceeds the greater of $3,600 or 
2.5 times the portion of rent to be paid by such tenants.) 

f. Any of the following: (i) firm financing commitment(s) 
from the local government, local housing authority, 
Federal Home Loan Bank affordable housing funds, or 
the Rural Development for a below-market rate loan or 
grant or Rural Development’s interest credit used to 
reduce the interest rate on [ the ] loan financing [ to the 
applicable federal rate the proposed development ]; (ii) a 
resolution passed by the locality in which the proposed 
development is to be located committing such financial 
support to the development in a form approved by the 
authority; or (iii) a commitment to donate land, buildings 
or waive tap fee waivers from the local government. (The 
amount of such financing or dollar value of local support 
will be divided by the total development sources of funds 
and the proposed development receives two points for 
each percentage point up to a maximum of 40 points.) 

g. Any development subject to (i) HUD's Section 8 or 
Section 236 programs or (ii) Rural Development's 515 
program, at the time of application. (20 points) points, 
unless the applicant is, or has any common interests with, 
the current owner, directly or indirectly, the application 
will only qualify for these points if the applicant waives 
all rights to any developer’s fee and any other fees 
associated with the acquisition and rehabilitation (or 
rehabilitation only) of the development unless permitted 
by the executive director for good cause.) 

h. Any development receiving (i) a real estate tax 
abatement on the increase in the value of the 
development or (ii) new project-based subsidy from 
HUD or Rural Development for the greater of 5 units or 
10% of the units of the proposed development. (10 
points) 
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i. Any proposed development located in a census tract 
that has less than a 10% poverty rate (based upon Census 
Bureau data) with no other tax credit units in such census 
tract. (25 points) 

3. Development characteristics. 

a. The average unit size. (100 points multiplied by the 
sum of the products calculated by multiplying, for each 
unit type as defined by the number of bedrooms per unit, 
(i) the quotient of the number of units of a given unit type 
divided by the total number of units in the proposed 
development, times (ii) the quotient of the average actual 
gross square footage per unit for a given unit type minus 
the lowest gross square footage per unit for a given unit 
type established by the executive director divided by the 
highest gross square footage per unit for a given unit type 
established by the executive director minus the lowest 
gross square footage per unit for a given unit type 
established by the executive director. If the average 
actual gross square footage per unit for a given unit type 
is less than the lowest gross square footage per unit for a 
given unit type established by the executive director or 
greater than the highest gross square footage per unit for 
a given unit type established by the executive director, 
the lowest or highest, as the case may be, gross square 
footage per unit for a given unit type established by the 
executive director shall be used in the above calculation 
rather than the actual gross square footage per unit for a 
given unit type.) 

b. Evidence satisfactory to the authority documenting the 
quality of the proposed development's amenities as 
determined by the following: 

(1) The following points are available for any 
application: 

(a) If 2-bedroom units have 1.5 bathrooms and 3-
bedroom units have 2 bathrooms. (15 points multiplied 
by the percentage of units meeting these requirements) 

(b) If a community/meeting room with a minimum of 
800 square feet is provided. (5 points) 

(c) Brick covering 30% or more of the exterior walls. (20 
points times the percentage of exterior walls covered by 
brick) 

(d) If all kitchen and laundry appliances meet the EPA's 
Energy Star qualified program requirements. (5 points) 

(e) If all the windows meet the EPA's Energy Star 
qualified program requirements. (5 points) 

(f) If every unit in the development is heated and air 
conditioned with either (i) heat pump units with both a 
SEER rating of 14.0 or more and a HSPF rating of 9.0 
8.2 or more and a variable speed air handling unit or 
thru-the-wall heat pump equipment that has an EER 

rating of 12.0 11.0 or more or (ii) air conditioning units 
with a SEER rating of 14.0 or more and a variable speed 
air handling unit, combined with a gas furnace with an 
AFUE rating of 90% or more. (10 points) 

(g) If the development has a minimum STC (sound 
transmission class) rating of 52 for the floor construction 
between units. (3 points) 

(h) (g) If the water expense is submetered (the tenant will 
pay monthly or bimonthly bill). (5 points) 

(i) (h) If each bathroom contains only low-flow faucets 
and showerheads as defined by the authority. (3 points) 

(j) (i) If each unit is provided with the necessary 
infrastructure for high-speed cable, DSL or wireless 
Internet service. (1 point) 

(j) [ If Beginning January 1, 2009, if ] all the water 
heaters meet the EPA’s Energy Star qualified program 
requirements. (5 points) 

(2) The following points are available to applications 
electing to serve elderly and/or physically disabled 
tenants: 

(a) If all cooking ranges have front controls. (1 point) 

(b) If all units have an emergency call system. (3 points) 

(c) If all bathrooms have an independent or supplemental 
heat source. (1 point) 

(d) If all entrance doors to each unit have two eye 
viewers, one at 48 inches and the other at standard 
height. (1 point) 

(3) The following points are available to proposed 
developments which rehabilitate or adaptively reuse an 
existing structure: 

(a) If all existing, single-glazed windows in good 
condition have storm windows, and all windows in poor 
condition are replaced with new windows with integral 
storm sash or insulating glass. The insulating glass metal 
windows must have a thermal break. The insulated glass 
must have a 10-year warranty against breakage of the 
seal. (3 points) 

(b) If the structure is historic, by virtue of being listed 
individually in the National Register of Historic Places, 
or due to its location in a registered historic district and 
certified by the Secretary of the Interior as being of 
historical significance to the district, and the 
rehabilitation will be completed in such a manner as to be 
eligible for historic rehabilitation tax credits. (5 points) 

The maximum number of points that may be awarded 
under any combination of the scoring categories under 
subdivision 3 b of this section is 60 points. 
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c. Any nonelderly development in which the greater of 5 
units or 10% of the units (i) provide federal project-based 
rent subsidies or equivalent assistance in order to ensure 
occupancy by extremely low-income persons; (ii) 
conform to HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility 
requirements of §504 of the Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) 
are actively marketed to people with special needs in 
accordance with a plan submitted as part of the 
application for credits (if special needs includes mobility 
impairments, the units described above must include roll-
in showers and roll-under sinks and ranges). (50 points) 

d. Any nonelderly development in which the greater of 5 
units or 10% of the units (i) have rents within HUD's 
Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) payment standard; (ii) 
conform to HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility 
requirements of §504 of the Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) 
are actively marketed to people with mobility 
impairments including HCV holders in accordance with a 
plan submitted as part of the application for credits. (30 
points) 

e. Any nonelderly development in which 4.0% of the 
units (i) conform to HUD regulations interpreting the 
accessibility requirements of §504 of the Rehabilitation 
Act and (ii) are actively marketed to people with mobility 
impairments in accordance with a plan submitted as part 
of the application for credits. (15 points) 

f. Any development located within one-half mile of an 
existing commuter rail, light rail or subway station or 
one-quarter mile of one or more existing public bus lines. 
(10 points, unless the development is located within the 
geographical area established by the executive director 
for a pool of credits for northern Virginia, in which case, 
the development will receive 20 points if the 
development is ranked against other developments in 
such northern Virginia pool, 10 points if the development 
is ranked against other developments in any other pool of 
credits established by the executive director) 

g. Any development for which the applicant agrees to 
obtain either (i) EarthCraft certification or (ii) US Green 
Building Council LEED green-building certification 
prior to the issuance of an IRS Form 8609 with the 
proposed development's architect certifying in the 
application that the development's design will meet the 
criteria for such EarthCraft certification. (15 (30 points) 

h. Any development for which the applicant agrees to use 
an authority-certified property manager to manage the 
development. (25 points) 

i. If units are constructed to meet the authority’s 
universal design standards. (15 points, if all the units in 
an elderly development meet this requirement; 15 points 
multiplied by the percentage of units meeting this 
requirement for nonelderly developments) 

4. Tenant population characteristics. Commitment by the 
applicant to give a leasing preference to individuals and 
families with children in developments that will have no 
more than 20% of its units with one bedroom or less. (15 
points; plus 0.75 points for each percent of the low-income 
units in the development with three or more bedrooms up 
to an additional 15 points for a total of no more than 30 
points) 

5. Sponsor characteristics. 

a. Evidence that the principal or principals, as a group or 
individually, for the proposed development have 
developed, as controlling general partner or managing 
member, (i) at least three tax credit developments that 
contain at least three times the number of housing units 
in the proposed development or (ii) at least six tax credit 
developments that contain at least the number of housing 
units in the proposed development. (50 points; applicants 
receiving points under this subdivision 5 a are not 
eligible for points under subdivision 1 a above) 

b. Evidence that the principal or principals for the 
proposed development have developed at least one tax 
credit development that contains at least the number of 
housing units in the proposed development. (10 points) 

c. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 
principal in a development at the time the authority 
reported such development to the IRS for an uncorrected 
major violation of health, safety and building codes. 
(minus 50 points for a period of three years after the 
violation has been corrected) 

d. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 
principal in a development at the time the authority 
reported such development to the IRS for noncompliance 
that has not been corrected by the time a Form 8823 is 
filed by the authority. (minus 15 points for a period of 
three years after the time the authority filed Form 8823, 
unless the executive director determines that such 
principal's attempts to correct such noncompliance was 
prohibited by a court, local government or governmental 
agency, in which case, no negative points will be 
assessed to the applicant) 

e. Any applicant that includes a principal that is or was a 
principal in a development that (i) did not build a 
development as represented in the application for credit 
(minus two times the number of points assigned to the 
item or items not built or minus 20 points for failing to 
provide a minimum building requirement, for a period of 
three years after the last Form 8609 is issued for the 
development, in addition to any other penalties the 
authority may seek under its agreements with the 
applicant), or (ii) has a reservation of credits terminated 
by the authority (minus 10 points a period of three years 
after the credits are returned to the authority). 
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f. Any applicant that includes a management company in 
its application that is rated unsatisfactory by the 
executive director or if the ownership of any applicant 
includes a principal that is or was a principal in a 
development that hired a management company to 
manage a tax credit development after such management 
company received a rating of unsatisfactory from the 
executive director during the extended use period of such 
development. (minus 25 points) 

g. Evidence that a US Green Building Council LEED 
certified design professional participated in the design of 
the proposed development. (10 points) 

h. Evidence that the proposed development's architect 
has completed the Fair Housing Accessibility First 
program offered by HUD or an equivalent organization 
and the certificate is attached with the architect's 
certification. (5 points) 

i. Evidence that the proposed development's architect has 
attended the authority's Universal Design symposium and 
the certificate of attendance is attached with the 
architect's certification. (5 points) 

j. Evidence that the proposed development’s architect has 
attended an EarthCraft Virginia multifamily professional 
training seminar and the certificate of attendance is 
attached with the architect’s certification. (5 points) 

6. Efficient use of resources. 

a. The percentage by which the total of the amount of 
credits per low-income housing unit (the "per unit credit 
amount") of the proposed development is less than the 
standard per unit credit amounts established by the 
executive director for a given unit type, based upon the 
number of such unit types in the proposed development. 
(180 points multiplied by the percentage by which the 
total amount of the per unit credit amount of the 
proposed development is less than the applicable 
standard per unit credit amount established by the 
executive director, negative points will be assessed using 
the percentage by which the total amount of the per unit 
credit amount of the proposed development exceeds the 
applicable standard per unit credit amount established by 
the executive director.) 

b. The percentage by which the cost per low-income 
housing unit (the "per unit cost"), adjusted by the 
authority for location, of the proposed development is 
less than the standard per unit cost amounts established 
by the executive director for a given unit type, based 
upon the number of such unit types in the proposed 
development. (75 points multiplied by the percentage by 
which the total amount of the per unit cost of the 
proposed development is less than the applicable 

standard per unit cost amount established by the 
executive director.) 

The executive director may use a standard per square 
foot credit amount and a standard per square foot cost 
amount in establishing the per unit credit amount and the 
per unit cost amount in subdivision 6 above. For the 
purpose of calculating the points to be assigned pursuant 
to such subdivision 6 above, all credit amounts shall 
include any credits previously allocated to the 
development, and the per unit credit amount for any 
building documented by the applicant to be located in 
both a revitalization area and either (i) a qualified census 
tract or (ii) difficult development area (such tract or area 
being as defined in the IRC) shall be determined based 
upon 100% of the eligible basis of such building, in the 
case of new construction, or 100% of the rehabilitation 
expenditures, in the case of rehabilitation of an existing 
building, notwithstanding any use by the applicant of 
130% of such eligible basis or rehabilitation expenditures 
in determining the amount of credits as provided in the 
IRC. 

7. Bonus points. 

a. Commitment by the applicant to impose income limits 
on the low-income housing units throughout the extended 
use period (as defined in the IRC) below those required 
by the IRC in order for the development to be a qualified 
low-income development. Applicants receiving points 
under this subdivision a may not receive points under 
subdivision b below. (The product of (i) 50 points 
multiplied by (ii) the percentage of housing units in the 
proposed development both rent restricted to and 
occupied by households at or below 50% of the area 
median gross income; plus 1 point for each percentage 
point of such housing units in the proposed development 
which are further restricted to rents at or below 30% of 
40% of the area median gross income up to an additional 
10 points.) 

b. Commitment by the applicant to impose rent limits on 
the low-income housing units throughout the extended 
use period (as defined in the IRC) below those required 
by the IRC in order for the development to be a qualified 
low-income development. Applicants receiving points 
under this subdivision b may not receive points under 
subdivision a above. (The product of (i) 25 points (50 
points for proposed developments in low-income 
jurisdictions) multiplied by (ii) the percentage of housing 
units in the proposed development rent restricted to 
households at or below 50% of the area median gross 
income; plus 1 point for each percentage point of such 
housing units in the proposed development which are 
further restricted to rents at or below 30% of 40% of the 
area median gross income up to an additional 10 points.) 
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c. Commitment by the applicant to maintain the low-
income housing units in the development as a qualified 
low-income housing development beyond the 30-year 
extended use period (as defined in the IRC). Applicants 
receiving points under this subdivision c may not receive 
bonus points under subdivision d below. (40 points for a 
10-year commitment beyond the 30-year extended use 
period or 50 points for a 20-year commitment beyond the 
30-year extended use period.) 

d. Participation by a local housing authority or qualified 
nonprofit organization (substantially based or active in 
the community with at least a 10% ownership interest in 
the general partnership interest of the partnership) and a 
commitment by the applicant to sell the proposed 
development pursuant to an executed, recordable option 
or right of first refusal to such local housing authority or 
qualified nonprofit organization or to a wholly owned 
subsidiary of such organization or authority, at the end of 
the 15-year compliance period, as defined by IRC, for a 
price not to exceed the outstanding debt and exit taxes of 
the for-profit entity. The applicant must record such 
option or right of first refusal immediately after the low-
income housing commitment described in 13VAC10-
180-70 and give the qualified nonprofit veto power over 
any refinancing of the development. Applicants receiving 
points under this subdivision d may not receive bonus 
points under subdivision c above. (60 points; plus 5 
points if the local housing authority or qualified nonprofit 
organization submits a homeownership plan satisfactory 
to the authority in which the local housing authority or 
qualified nonprofit organization commits to sell the units 
in the development to tenants.) 

In calculating the points for subdivisions 7 a and b above, 
any units in the proposed development required by the 
locality to exceed 60% of the area median gross income will 
not be considered when calculating the percentage of low-
income units of the proposed development with incomes 
below those required by the IRC in order for the development 
to be a qualified low-income development, provided that the 
locality submits evidence satisfactory to the authority of such 
requirement. 

After points have been assigned to each application in the 
manner described above, the executive director shall compute 
the total number of points assigned to each such application. 
Notwithstanding any other provisions herein, any application 
that is assigned a total number of points less than a threshold 
amount of 300 points (250 points for developments financed 
with tax-exempt bonds) shall be rejected from further 
consideration hereunder and shall not be eligible for any 
reservation or allocation of credits. 

The executive director may exclude and disregard any 
application which he determines is not submitted in good 

faith or which he determines would not be financially 
feasible. 

Upon assignment of points to all of the applications, the 
executive director shall rank the applications based on the 
number of points so assigned. If any pools shall have been 
established, each application shall be assigned to a pool and, 
if any, to the appropriate tier within such pool and shall be 
ranked within such pool or tier, if any. The amount of credits 
made available to each pool will be determined by the 
executive director. Available credits will include unreserved 
per capita dollar amount credits from the current calendar 
year under §42(h)(3)(C)(i) of the IRC, any unreserved per 
capita credits from previous calendar years, and credits 
returned to the authority prior to the final ranking of the 
applications and may include up to 10% of next calendar 
year's per capita credits as shall be determined by the 
executive director. Those applications assigned more points 
shall be ranked higher than those applications assigned fewer 
points. However, if any set-asides established by the 
executive director cannot be satisfied after ranking the 
applications based on the number of points, the executive 
director may rank as many applications as necessary to meet 
the requirements of such set-aside (selecting the highest 
ranked application, or applications, meeting the requirements 
of the set-aside) over applications with more points. 

In the event of a tie in the number of points assigned to two 
or more applications within the same pool, or, if none, within 
the Commonwealth, and in the event that the amount of 
credits available for reservation to such applications is 
determined by the executive director to be insufficient for the 
financial feasibility of all of the developments described 
therein, the authority shall, to the extent necessary to fully 
utilize the amount of credits available for reservation within 
such pool or, if none, within the Commonwealth, select one 
or more of the applications with the highest combination of 
points from subdivision 7 above, and each application so 
selected shall receive (in order based upon the number of 
such points, beginning with the application with the highest 
number of such points) a reservation of credits. If two or 
more of the tied applications receive the same number of 
points from subdivision 7 above and if the amount of credits 
available for reservation to such tied applications is 
determined by the executive director to be insufficient for the 
financial feasibility of all the developments described therein, 
the executive director shall select one or more of such 
applications by lot, and each application so selected by lot 
shall receive (in order of such selection by lot) a reservation 
of credits. 

For each application which may receive a reservation of 
credits, the executive director shall determine the amount, as 
of the date of the deadline for submission of applications for 
reservation of credits, to be necessary for the financial 
feasibility of the development and its viability as a qualified 
low-income development throughout the credit period under 
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the IRC. In making this determination, the executive director 
shall consider the sources and uses of the funds, the available 
federal, state and local subsidies committed to the 
development, the total financing planned for the development 
as well as the investment proceeds or receipts expected by the 
authority to be generated with respect to the development, 
and the percentage of the credit dollar amount used for 
development costs other than the costs of intermediaries. He 
shall also examine the development's costs, including 
developer's fees and other amounts in the application, for 
reasonableness and, if he determines that such costs or other 
amounts are unreasonably high, he shall reduce them to 
amounts that he determines to be reasonable. The executive 
director shall review the applicant's projected rental income, 
operating expenses and debt service for the credit period. The 
executive director may establish such criteria and 
assumptions as he shall deem reasonable for the purpose of 
making such determination, including, without limitation, 
criteria as to the reasonableness of fees and profits and 
assumptions as to the amount of net syndication proceeds to 
be received (based upon such percentage of the credit dollar 
amount used for development costs, other than the costs of 
intermediaries, as the executive director shall determine to be 
reasonable for the proposed development), increases in the 
market value of the development, and increases in operating 
expenses, rental income and, in the case of applications 
without firm financing commitments (as defined hereinabove) 
at fixed interest rates, debt service on the proposed mortgage 
loan. The executive director may, if he deems it appropriate, 
consider the development to be a part of a larger 
development. In such a case, the executive director may 
consider, examine, review and establish any or all of the 
foregoing items as to the larger development in making such 
determination for the development. 

At such time or times during each calendar year as the 
executive director shall designate, the executive director shall 
reserve credits to applications in descending order of ranking 
within each pool and tier, if applicable, until either 
substantially all credits therein are reserved or all qualified 
applications therein have received reservations. (For the 
purpose of the preceding sentence, if there is not more than a 
de minimis amount, as determined by the executive director, 
of credits remaining in a pool after reservations have been 
made, "substantially all" of the credits in such pool shall be 
deemed to have been reserved.) The executive director may 
rank the applications within pools at different times for 
different pools and may reserve credits, based on such 
rankings, one or more times with respect to each pool. The 
executive director may also establish more than one round of 
review and ranking of applications and reservation of credits 
based on such rankings, and he shall designate the amount of 
credits to be made available for reservation within each pool 
during each such round. The amount reserved to each such 
application shall be equal to the lesser of (i) the amount 

requested in the application or (ii) an amount determined by 
the executive director, as of the date of application, to be 
necessary for the financial feasibility of the development and 
its viability as a qualified low-income development 
throughout the credit period under the IRC; provided, 
however, that in no event shall the amount of credits so 
reserved exceed the maximum amount permissible under the 
IRC. 

Not more than 20% of the credits in any pool may be 
reserved to developments intended to provide elderly 
housing, unless the feasible credit amount, as determined by 
the executive director, of the highest ranked elderly housing 
development in any pool exceeds 20% of the credits in such 
pool, then such elderly housing development shall be the only 
elderly housing development eligible for a reservation of 
credits from such pool. However, if credits remain available 
for reservation after all eligible nonelderly housing 
developments receive a reservation of credits, such remaining 
credits may be made available to additional elderly housing 
developments. The above limitation of credits available for 
elderly housing shall not include elderly housing 
developments with project-based subsidy providing rental 
assistance for at least 20% of the units that are submitted as 
rehabilitation developments or assisted living facilities 
licensed under Chapter 17 of Title 63.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

If the amount of credits available in any pool is determined 
by the executive director to be insufficient for the financial 
feasibility of the proposed development to which such 
available credits are to be reserved, the executive director 
may move the proposed development and the credits 
available to another pool. If any credits remain in any pool 
after moving proposed developments and credits to another 
pool, the executive director may for developments that meet 
the requirements of §42(h)(1)(E) of the IRC only, reserve the 
remaining credits to any proposed development(s) scoring at 
or above the minimum point threshold established by this 
chapter without regard to the ranking of such application with 
additional credits from the Commonwealth's annual state 
housing credit ceiling for the following year in such an 
amount necessary for the financial feasibility of the proposed 
development, or developments. However, the reservation of 
credits from the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit 
ceiling for the following year shall be in the reasonable 
discretion of the executive director if he determines it to be in 
the best interest of the plan. In the event a reservation or an 
allocation of credits from the current year or a prior year is 
reduced, terminated or cancelled, the executive director may 
substitute such credits for any credits reserved from the 
following year's annual state housing credit ceiling. 

In the event that during any round of application review and 
ranking the amount of credits reserved within any pools is 
less than the total amount of credits made available therein 
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during such round, the executive director may either (i) leave 
such unreserved credits in such pools for reservation and 
allocation in any subsequent round or rounds or (ii) 
redistribute such unreserved credits to such other pool or 
pools as the executive director may designate or (iii) carry 
over such unreserved credits to the next succeeding calendar 
year for inclusion in the state housing credit ceiling (as 
defined in §42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for such year. 

Notwithstanding anything contained herein, the total amount 
of credits that may be awarded in any credit year after credit 
year 2001 to any applicant or to any related applicants for one 
or more developments shall not exceed 15% of Virginia's per 
capita dollar amount of credits for such credit year (the 
"credit cap"). However, if the amount of credits to be 
reserved in any such credit year to all applications assigned a 
total number of points at or above the threshold amount set 
forth above shall be less than Virginia's dollar amount of 
credits available for such credit year, then the authority's 
board of commissioners may waive the credit cap to the 
extent it deems necessary to reserve credits in an amount at 
least equal to such dollar amount of credits. Applicants shall 
be deemed to be related if any principal in a proposed 
development or any person or entity related to the applicant 
or principal will be a principal in any other proposed 
development or developments. For purposes of this 
paragraph, a principal shall also include any person or entity 
who, in the determination of the executive director, has 
exercised or will exercise, directly or indirectly, substantial 
control over the applicant or has performed or will perform 
(or has assisted or will assist the applicant in the performance 
of), directly or indirectly, substantial responsibilities or 
functions customarily performed by applicants with respect to 
applications or developments. For the purpose of determining 
whether any person or entity is related to the applicant or 
principal, persons or entities shall be deemed to be related if 
the executive director determines that any substantial 
relationship existed, either directly between them or indirectly 
through a series of one or more substantial relationships (e.g., 
if party A has a substantial relationship with party B and if 
party B has a substantial relationship with party C, then A has 
a substantial relationship with both party B and party C), at 
any time within three years of the filing of the application for 
the credits. In determining in any credit year whether an 
applicant has a substantial relationship with another applicant 
with respect to any application for which credits were 
awarded in any prior credit year, the executive director shall 
determine whether the applicants were related as of the date 
of the filing of such prior credit year's application or within 
three years prior thereto and shall not consider any 
relationships or any changes in relationships subsequent to 
such date. Substantial relationships shall include, but not be 
limited to, the following relationships (in each of the 
following relationships, the persons or entities involved in the 
relationship are deemed to be related to each other): (i) the 
persons are in the same immediate family (including, without 

limitation, a spouse, children, parents, grandparents, 
grandchildren, brothers, sisters, uncles, aunts, nieces, and 
nephews) and are living in the same household; (ii) the 
entities have one or more common general partners or 
members (including related persons and entities), or the 
entities have one or more common owners that (by 
themselves or together with any other related persons and 
entities) have, in the aggregate, 5.0% or more ownership 
interest in each entity; (iii) the entities are under the common 
control (e.g., the same person or persons and any related 
persons serve as a majority of the voting members of the 
boards of such entities or as chief executive officers of such 
entities) of one or more persons or entities (including related 
persons and entities); (iv) the person is a general partner, 
member or employee in the entity or is an owner (by himself 
or together with any other related persons and entities) of 
5.0% or more ownership interest in the entity; (v) the entity is 
a general partner or member in the other entity or is an owner 
(by itself or together with any other related persons and 
entities) of 5.0% or more ownership interest in the other 
entity; or (vi) the person or entity is otherwise controlled, in 
whole or in part, by the other person or entity. In determining 
compliance with the credit cap with respect to any 
application, the executive director may exclude any person or 
entity related to the applicant or to any principal in such 
applicant if the executive director determines that (i) such 
person or entity will not participate, directly or indirectly, in 
matters relating to the applicant or the ownership of the 
development to be assisted by the credits for which the 
application is submitted, (ii) such person or entity has no 
agreement or understanding relating to such application or the 
tax credits requested therein, and (iii) such person or entity 
will not receive a financial benefit from the tax credits 
requested in the application. A limited partner or other similar 
investor shall not be determined to be a principal and shall be 
excluded from the determination of related persons or entities 
unless the executive director shall determine that such limited 
partner or investor will, directly or indirectly, exercise control 
over the applicant or participate in matters relating to the 
ownership of the development substantially beyond the 
degree of control or participation that is usual and customary 
for limited partners or other similar investors with respect to 
developments assisted by the credits. If the award of multiple 
applications of any applicant or related applicants in any 
credit year shall cause the credit cap to be exceeded, such 
applicant or applicants shall, upon notice from the authority, 
jointly designate those applications for which credits are not 
to be reserved so that such limitation shall not be exceeded. 
Such notice shall specify the date by which such designation 
shall be made. In the absence of any such designation by the 
date specified in such notice, the executive director shall 
make such designation as he shall determine to best serve the 
interests of the program. Each applicant and each principal 
therein shall make such certifications, shall disclose such 
facts and shall submit such documents to the authority as the 
executive director may require to determine compliance with 
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credit cap. If an applicant or any principal therein makes any 
misrepresentation to the authority concerning such applicant's 
or principal's relationship with any other person or entity, the 
executive director may reject any or all of such applicant's 
pending applications for reservation or allocation of credits, 
may terminate any or all reservations of credits to the 
applicant, and may prohibit such applicant, the principals 
therein and any persons and entities then or thereafter having 
a substantial relationship (in the determination of the 
executive director as described above) with the applicant or 
any principal therein from submitting applications for credits 
for such period of time as the executive director shall 
determine. 

Within a reasonable time after credits are reserved to any 
applicants' applications, the executive director shall notify 
each applicant for such reservations of credits either of the 
amount of credits reserved to such applicant's application (by 
issuing to such applicant a written binding commitment to 
allocate such reserved credits subject to such terms and 
conditions as may be imposed by the executive director 
therein, by the IRC and by this chapter) or, as applicable, that 
the applicant's application has been rejected or excluded or 
has otherwise not been reserved credits in accordance 
herewith. The written binding commitment shall prohibit any 
transfer, direct or indirect, of partnership interests (except 
those involving the admission of limited partners) prior to the 
placed-in-service date of the proposed development unless the 
transfer is consented to by the executive director. The written 
binding commitment shall further limit the developers' fees to 
the amounts established during the review of the applications 
for reservation of credits and such amounts shall not be 
increased unless consented to by the executive director. The 
executive director shall, as a condition to the binding 
commitment, require each applicant to obtain a market study, 
in form and substance satisfactory to the authority, that shows 
adequate demand for the housing units to be produced by 
each applicant's proposed development. 

If credits are reserved to any applicants for developments 
which have also received an allocation of credits from prior 
years, the executive director may reserve additional credits 
from the current year equal to the amount of credits allocated 
to such developments from prior years, provided such 
previously allocated credits are returned to the authority. Any 
previously allocated credits returned to the authority under 
such circumstances shall be placed into the credit pools from 
which the current year's credits are reserved to such 
applicants. 

The executive director shall make a written explanation 
available to the general public for any allocation of housing 
credit dollar amount which is not made in accordance with 
established priorities and selection criteria of the authority. 

The authority's board shall review and consider the analysis 
and recommendation of the executive director for the 

reservation of credits to an applicant, and, if it concurs with 
such recommendation, it shall by resolution ratify the 
reservation by the executive director of the credits to the 
applicant, subject to such terms and conditions as it shall 
deem necessary or appropriate to assure compliance with the 
aforementioned binding commitment issued or to be issued to 
the applicant, the IRC and this chapter. If the board 
determines not to ratify a reservation of credits or to establish 
any such terms and conditions, the executive director shall so 
notify the applicant. 

Subsequent to such ratification of the reservation of credits, 
the executive director may, in his discretion and without 
ratification or approval by the board, increase the amount of 
such reservation by an amount not to exceed 10% of the 
initial reservation amount. 

The executive director may require the applicant to make a 
good faith deposit or to execute such contractual agreements 
providing for monetary or other remedies as it may require, or 
both, to assure that the applicant will comply with all 
requirements under the IRC, this chapter and the binding 
commitment (including, without limitation, any requirement 
to conform to all of the representations, commitments and 
information contained in the application for which points 
were assigned pursuant to this section). Upon satisfaction of 
all such aforementioned requirements (including any post-
allocation requirements), such deposit shall be refunded to the 
applicant or such contractual agreements shall terminate, or 
both, as applicable. 

If, as of the date the application is approved by the executive 
director, the applicant is entitled to an allocation of the credits 
under the IRC, this chapter and the terms of any binding 
commitment that the authority would have otherwise issued 
to such applicant, the executive director may at that time 
allocate the credits to such qualified low-income buildings or 
development without first providing a reservation of such 
credits. This provision in no way limits the authority of the 
executive director to require a good faith deposit or 
contractual agreement, or both, as described in the preceding 
paragraph, nor to relieve the applicant from any other 
requirements hereunder for eligibility for an allocation of 
credits. Any such allocation shall be subject to ratification by 
the board in the same manner as provided above with respect 
to reservations. 

The executive director may require that applicants to whom 
credits have been reserved shall submit from time to time or 
at such specified times as he shall require, written 
confirmation and documentation as to the status of the 
proposed development and its compliance with the 
application, the binding commitment and any contractual 
agreements between the applicant and the authority. If on the 
basis of such written confirmation and documentation as the 
executive director shall have received in response to such a 
request, or on the basis of such other available information, or 
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both, the executive director determines any or all of the 
buildings in the development which were to become qualified 
low-income buildings will not do so within the time period 
required by the IRC or will not otherwise qualify for such 
credits under the IRC, this chapter or the binding 
commitment, then the executive director may (i) terminate the 
reservation of such credits and draw on any good faith 
deposit, or (ii) substitute the reservation of credits from the 
current credit year with a reservation of credits from a future 
credit year, if the delay is caused by a lawsuit beyond the 
applicant’s control that prevents the applicant from 
proceeding with the development. If, in lieu of or in addition 
to the foregoing determination, the executive director 
determines that any contractual agreements between the 
applicant and the authority have been breached by the 
applicant, whether before or after allocation of the credits, he 
may seek to enforce any and all remedies to which the 
authority may then be entitled under such contractual 
agreements. 

The executive director may establish such deadlines for 
determining the ability of the applicant to qualify for an 
allocation of credits as he shall deem necessary or desirable to 
allow the authority sufficient time, in the event of a reduction 
or termination of the applicant's reservation, to reserve such 
credits to other eligible applications and to allocate such 
credits pursuant thereto. 

Any material changes to the development, as proposed in the 
application, occurring subsequent to the submission of the 
application for the credits therefor shall be subject to the prior 
written approval of the executive director. As a condition to 
any such approval, the executive director may, as necessary to 
comply with this chapter, the IRC, the binding commitment 
and any other contractual agreement between the authority 
and the applicant, reduce the amount of credits applied for or 
reserved or impose additional terms and conditions with 
respect thereto. If such changes are made without the prior 
written approval of the executive director, he may terminate 
or reduce the reservation of such credits, impose additional 
terms and conditions with respect thereto, seek to enforce any 
contractual remedies to which the authority may then be 
entitled, draw on any good faith deposit, or any combination 
of the foregoing. 

In the event that any reservation of credits is terminated or 
reduced by the executive director under this section, he may 
reserve, allocate or carry over, as applicable, such credits in 
such manner as he shall determine consistent with the 
requirements of the IRC and this chapter. 

Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the executive 
director may make a reservation of credits to any applicant 
that proposes a nonelderly development [ intended to serve 
people with disabilities and that ] (i) provides rent subsidies 
or equivalent assistance in order to ensure occupancy by 
extremely low-income persons; (ii) conforms to HUD 

regulations interpreting the accessibility requirements of §504 
of the Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) will be actively marketed 
to people with disabilities in accordance with a plan 
submitted as part of the application for credits and approved 
by the executive director [ for at least 50% of the units in the 
development ]. Any such reservations made in any calendar 
year may be up to [ 3.0% 6.0% ] of the Commonwealth's 
annual state housing credit ceiling for the applicable credit 
year. However, such reservation will be for credits from the 
Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling from the 
following calendar year. 

Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the executive 
director may make a reservation of credits, to any applicant 
that proposes to acquire and rehabilitate a nonelderly 
development within Arlington County, Fairfax County, 
Alexandria City, Fairfax City or Falls Church City that the 
executive director determines (i) cannot be acquired within 
the schedule for the competitive scoring process described in 
this section and (ii) cannot be financed with tax-exempt bonds 
using the authority's normal underwriting criteria for its 
multifamily tax-exempt bond program. Any proposed 
development subject to an application submitted under this 
paragraph must meet the following criteria: (i) at least 20% of 
the units in the development must be low-income housing 
units for residents at 50% of the area median income or less, 
(ii) the development must be eligible for points under 
subdivision 3 b (1) (g) of this section or a combination of at 
least 20 points under subdivisions 3 b (1) (b) through 3 b (1) 
(j), excluding subdivision 3 b (1) (c), (iii) the executive 
director's review of the application must confirm that the 
portion of the developer's fee to be deferred is at least 5.0% of 
the total development costs, and (iv) participation by the local 
government in the form of low-interest loan/grant moneys 
from such locality's affordable housing funds in an amount 
equal to or greater than 20% of the total development costs, 
and (v) the application for the development must obtain as 
many points as the lowest ranked development that could 
have received a partial reservation of credits from the 
geographic pool in which the applicant would have been 
ranked in the most recent competitive scoring round. Any 
such reservations made in any calendar year may be up to 
15% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit 
ceiling for the applicable credit year, of which at least 10% of 
the Commonwealth’s annual state housing credit ceiling for 
the applicable credit year will be reserved for developments 
within Arlington County, Fairfax County, Alexandria City, 
Fairfax City or Falls Church City. However, such reservation 
will be for credits from the Commonwealth's annual state 
housing credit ceiling from the following calendar year. 
Applicants and the principals of such applicant applying for 
credits under this paragraph may not submit an application for 
credits for the same development under the competitive 
scoring process in this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-272; Filed January 16, 2008, 12:34 p.m.  



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 4, 2008 

1387 
 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing 
Development Authority is exempt from the Administrative 
Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 
pursuant to §2.2-4002 A 4; however, under the provisions of 
§2.2-4031, it is required to publish all proposed and final 
regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC10-180. Rules and Regulations 
for Allocation of Low-Income Housing Tax Credits 
(amending 13VAC10-180-60, 13VAC10-180-100). 

Statutory Authority: §36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 4, 2008.  

Agency Contact: J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 S. Belvidere 
Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5540, 
FAX (804) 783-6701, or email judson.mckellar@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add a 15-point category identified as 
high priority for rehabilitation by Rural Development, (ii) 
add a 20-point category for smaller developments, (iii) 
increase the threshold score requirement, and (iv) restrict 
developments financed by tax-exempt bonds from receiving 
tax credits if more than 50% of the tax-exempt bonds are 
retired prior to the end of the seventh credit year. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

13VAC10-180-60. Review and selection of applications; 
reservation of credits. 

The executive director may divide the amount of credits into 
separate pools and each separate pool may be further divided 
into separate tiers. The division of such pools and tiers may 
be based upon one or more of the following factors: 
geographical areas of the state; types or characteristics of 
housing, construction, financing, owners, occupants, or 
source of credits; or any other factors deemed appropriate by 
him to best meet the housing needs of the Commonwealth. 

An amount, as determined by the executive director, not less 
than 10% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit 
ceiling for credits, shall be available for reservation and 
allocation to buildings or developments with respect to which 
the following requirements are met: 

1. A "qualified nonprofit organization" (as described in 
§42(h)(5)(C) of the IRC) which is authorized to do 
business in Virginia and is determined by the executive 
director, on the basis of such relevant factors as he shall 
consider appropriate, to be substantially based or active in 

the community of the development and is to materially 
participate (regular, continuous and substantial 
involvement as determined by the executive director) in the 
development and operation of the development throughout 
the "compliance period" (as defined in §42(i)(1) of the 
IRC); and  

2. (i) The "qualified nonprofit organization" described in 
the preceding subdivision 1 is to own (directly or through a 
partnership), prior to the reservation of credits to the 
buildings or development, all of the general partnership 
interests of the ownership entity thereof; (ii) the executive 
director of the authority shall have determined that such 
qualified nonprofit organization is not affiliated with or 
controlled by a for-profit organization; (iii) the executive 
director of the authority shall have determined that the 
qualified nonprofit organization was not formed by one or 
more individuals or for-profit entities for the principal 
purpose of being included in any nonprofit pools (as 
defined below) established by the executive director, and 
(iv) the executive director of the authority shall have 
determined that no staff member, officer or member of the 
board of directors of such qualified nonprofit organization 
will materially participate, directly or indirectly, in the 
proposed development as a for-profit entity. 

In making the determinations required by the preceding 
subdivision 1 and clauses (ii), (iii) and (iv) of subdivision 2 of 
this section, the executive director may apply such factors as 
he deems relevant, including, without limitation, the past 
experience and anticipated future activities of the qualified 
nonprofit organization, the sources and manner of funding of 
the qualified nonprofit organization, the date of formation and 
expected life of the qualified nonprofit organization, the 
number of paid staff members and volunteers of the qualified 
nonprofit organization, the nature and extent of the qualified 
nonprofit organization's proposed involvement in the 
construction or rehabilitation and the operation of the 
proposed development, the relationship of the staff, directors 
or other principals involved in the formation or operation of 
the qualified nonprofit organization with any persons or 
entities to be involved in the proposed development on a for-
profit basis, and the proposed involvement in the construction 
or rehabilitation and operation of the proposed development 
by any persons or entities involved in the proposed 
development on a for-profit basis. The executive director may 
include in the application of the foregoing factors any other 
nonprofit organizations which, in his determination, are 
related (by shared directors, staff or otherwise) to the 
qualified nonprofit organization for which such determination 
is to be made. 

For purposes of the foregoing requirements, a qualified 
nonprofit organization shall be treated as satisfying such 
requirements if any qualified corporation (as defined in 
§42(h)(5)(D)(ii) of the IRC) in which such organization (by 
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itself or in combination with one or more qualified nonprofit 
organizations) holds 100% of the stock satisfies such 
requirements. 

The applications shall include such representations and 
warranties and such information as the executive director may 
require in order to determine that the foregoing requirements 
have been satisfied. In no event shall more than 90% of the 
Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for 
credits be available for developments other than those 
satisfying the preceding requirements. The executive director 
may establish such pools (nonprofit pools) of credits as he 
may deem appropriate to satisfy the foregoing requirement. If 
any such nonprofit pools are so established, the executive 
director may rank the applications therein and reserve credits 
to such applications before ranking applications and reserving 
credits in other pools, and any such applications in such 
nonprofit pools not receiving any reservations of credits or 
receiving such reservations in amounts less than the full 
amount permissible hereunder (because there are not enough 
credits then available in such nonprofit pools to make such 
reservations) shall be assigned to such other pool as shall be 
appropriate hereunder; provided, however, that if credits are 
later made available (pursuant to the IRC or as a result of 
either a termination or reduction of a reservation of credits 
made from any nonprofit pools or a rescission in whole or in 
part of an allocation of credits made from such nonprofit 
pools or otherwise) for reservation and allocation by the 
authority during the same calendar year as that in which 
applications in the nonprofit pools have been so assigned to 
other pools as described above, the executive director may, in 
such situations, designate all or any portion of such additional 
credits for the nonprofit pools (or for any other pools as he 
shall determine) and may, if additional credits have been so 
designated for the nonprofit pools, reassign such applications 
to such nonprofit pools, rank the applications therein and 
reserve credits to such applications in accordance with the 
IRC and this chapter. In the event that during any round (as 
authorized hereinbelow) of application review and ranking 
the amount of credits reserved within such nonprofit pools is 
less than the total amount of credits made available therein, 
the executive director may either (i) leave such unreserved 
credits in such nonprofit pools for reservation and allocation 
in any subsequent round or rounds or (ii) redistribute, to the 
extent permissible under the IRC, such unreserved credits to 
such other pool or pools as the executive director shall 
designate reservations therefore in the full amount 
permissible hereunder (which applications shall hereinafter be 
referred to as "excess qualified applications") or (iii) carry 
over such unreserved credits to the next succeeding calendar 
year for the inclusion in the state housing credit ceiling (as 
defined in §42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for such year. 
Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, no 
reservation of credits shall be made from any nonprofit pools 
to any application with respect to which the qualified 
nonprofit organization has not yet been legally formed in 

accordance with the requirements of the IRC. In addition, no 
application for credits from any nonprofit pools or any 
combination of pools may receive a reservation or allocation 
of annual credits in an amount greater than $650,000 unless 
credits remain available in such nonprofit pools after all 
eligible applications for credits from such nonprofit pools 
receive a reservation of credits. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, applicants 
relying on the experience of a local housing authority for 
developer experience points described hereinbelow and/or 
using Hope VI funds from HUD in connection with the 
proposed development shall not be eligible to receive a 
reservation of credits from any nonprofit pools. 

The authority shall review each application, and, based on 
the application and other information available to the 
authority, shall assign points to each application as follows: 

1. Readiness. 

a. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority of 
unconditional approval by local authorities of the plan of 
development or site plan for the proposed development 
or that such approval is not required. (40 points; 
applicants receiving points under this subdivision 1 a are 
not eligible for points under subdivision 5 a below) 

b. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority (i) of 
proper zoning or special use permit for such site or (ii) 
that no zoning requirements or special use permits are 
applicable. (40 points)  

2. Housing needs characteristics.  

a. Submission of the form prescribed by the authority 
with any required attachments, providing such 
information necessary for the authority to send a letter 
addressed to the current chief executive officer (or the 
equivalent) of the locality in which the proposed 
development is located, soliciting input on the proposed 
development from the locality within the deadlines 
established by the executive director. (10 points; failure 
to make timely submission, minus 50 points)  

b. (1) A letter dated within three months prior to the 
application deadline addressed to the authority and 
signed by the chief executive officer of the locality in 
which the proposed development is to be located stating, 
without qualification or limitation, the following:  

"The construction or rehabilitation of (name of 
development) and the allocation of federal housing tax 
credits available under IRC Section 42 for that 
development will help meet the housing needs and 
priorities of (name of locality). Accordingly, (name of 
locality) supports the allocation of federal housing tax 
credits requested by (name of applicant) for that 
development." (50 points)  
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(2) No letter from the chief executive officer of the 
locality in which the proposed development is to be 
located, or a letter addressed to the authority and signed 
by such chief executive officer stating neither support (as 
described in subdivision b (1) above) nor opposition (as 
described in subdivision b (3) below) as to the allocation 
of credits to the applicant for the development. (25 
points)  

(3) A letter in response to its notification to the chief 
executive officer of the locality in which the proposed 
development is to be located opposing the allocation of 
credits to the applicant for the development. In any such 
letter, the chief executive officer must certify that the 
proposed development is not consistent with current 
zoning or other applicable land use regulations. (0 points)  

c. Documentation in a form approved by the authority 
from the chief executive officer (or the equivalent) of the 
local jurisdiction in which the development is to be 
located (including the certification described in the 
definition of revitalization area in 13VAC10-180-10) that 
the area in which the proposed development is to be 
located is a revitalization area and the proposed 
development is an integral part of the local government's 
plan for revitalization of the area. (25 points)  

d. If the proposed development is located in a qualified 
census tract as defined in §42(d)(5)(C)(ii) of the IRC and 
is in a revitalization area. (5 points)  

e. Commitment by the applicant to give leasing 
preference to individuals and families (i) on public 
housing waiting lists maintained by the local housing 
authority operating in the locality in which the proposed 
development is to be located and notification of the 
availability of such units to the local housing authority by 
the applicant or (ii) on section 8 (as defined in 
13VAC10-180-90) waiting lists maintained by the local 
or nearest section 8 administrator for the locality in 
which the proposed development is to be located and 
notification of the availability of such units to the local 
section 8 administrator by the applicant. (10 points; 
Applicants receiving points under this subdivision may 
not require an annual minimum income requirement for 
prospective tenants that exceeds the greater of $3,600 or 
2.5 times the portion of rent to be paid by such tenants.)  

f. Any of the following: (i) firm financing commitment(s) 
from the local government, local housing authority, 
Federal Home Loan Bank affordable housing funds, or 
the Rural Development for a below-market rate loan or 
grant; (ii) a resolution passed by the locality in which the 
proposed development is to be located committing such 
financial support to the development in a form approved 
by the authority; or (iii) a commitment to donate land, 
buildings or waive tap fee waivers from the local 

government. (The amount of such financing or dollar 
value of local support will be divided by the total 
development sources of funds and the proposed 
development receives two points for each percentage 
point up to a maximum of 40 points.)  

g. Any development subject to (i) HUD's Section 8 or 
Section 236 programs or (ii) Rural Development's 515 
program, at the time of application. (20 points)  

h. Any development receiving (i) a real estate tax 
abatement on the increase in the value of the 
development or (ii) new project-based subsidy from 
HUD or Rural Development for the greater of 5 units or 
10% of the units of the proposed development. (10 
points)  

i. Any proposed development located in a census tract 
that has less than a 10% poverty rate (based upon Census 
Bureau data) with no other tax credit units in such census 
tract. (25 points)  

j. Any proposed development listed in the top 25 
developments identified by Rural Development as high 
priority for rehabilitation at the time the application is 
submitted to the authority. (15 points) 

3. Development characteristics.  

a. The average unit size. (100 points multiplied by the 
sum of the products calculated by multiplying, for each 
unit type as defined by the number of bedrooms per unit, 
(i) the quotient of the number of units of a given unit type 
divided by the total number of units in the proposed 
development, times (ii) the quotient of the average actual 
gross square footage per unit for a given unit type minus 
the lowest gross square footage per unit for a given unit 
type established by the executive director divided by the 
highest gross square footage per unit for a given unit type 
established by the executive director minus the lowest 
gross square footage per unit for a given unit type 
established by the executive director. If the average 
actual gross square footage per unit for a given unit type 
is less than the lowest gross square footage per unit for a 
given unit type established by the executive director or 
greater than the highest gross square footage per unit for 
a given unit type established by the executive director, 
the lowest or highest, as the case may be, gross square 
footage per unit for a given unit type established by the 
executive director shall be used in the above calculation 
rather than the actual gross square footage per unit for a 
given unit type.)  

b. Evidence satisfactory to the authority documenting the 
quality of the proposed development's amenities as 
determined by the following:  

(1) The following points are available for any 
application:  
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(a) If 2-bedroom units have 1.5 bathrooms and 3-
bedroom units have 2 bathrooms. (15 points multiplied 
by the percentage of units meeting these requirements)  

(b) If a community/meeting room with a minimum of 
800 square feet is provided. (5 points)  

(c) Brick covering 30% or more of the exterior walls. (20 
points times the percentage of exterior walls covered by 
brick)  

(d) If all kitchen and laundry appliances meet the EPA's 
Energy Star qualified program requirements. (5 points)  

(e) If all the windows meet the EPA's Energy Star 
qualified program requirements. (5 points)  

(f) If every unit in the development is heated and air 
conditioned with either (i) heat pump units with both a 
SEER rating of 14.0 or more and a HSPF rating of 9.0 or 
more or thru-the-wall heat pump equipment that has an 
EER rating of 12.0 or more or (ii) air conditioning units 
with a SEER rating of 14.0 or more, combined with a gas 
furnace with an AFUE rating of 90% or more. (10 points)  

(g) If the development has a minimum STC (sound 
transmission class) rating of 52 for the floor construction 
between units. (3 points)  

(h) If the water expense is submetered (the tenant will 
pay monthly or bimonthly bill). (5 points)  

(i) If each bathroom contains only low-flow faucets and 
showerheads as defined by the authority. (3 points)  

(j) If each unit is provided with the necessary 
infrastructure for high-speed cable, DSL or wireless 
Internet service. (1 point)  

(2) The following points are available to applications 
electing to serve elderly and/or physically disabled 
tenants:  

(a) If all cooking ranges have front controls. (1 point)  

(b) If all units have an emergency call system. (3 points)  

(c) If all bathrooms have an independent or supplemental 
heat source. (1 point)  

(d) If all entrance doors to each unit have two eye 
viewers, one at 48 inches and the other at standard 
height. (1 point)  

(3) The following points are available to proposed 
developments which rehabilitate or adaptively reuse an 
existing structure:  

(a) If all existing, single-glazed windows in good 
condition have storm windows, and all windows in poor 
condition are replaced with new windows with integral 
storm sash or insulating glass. The insulating glass metal 
windows must have a thermal break. The insulated glass 

must have a 10-year warranty against breakage of the 
seal. (3 points)  

(b) If the structure is historic, by virtue of being listed 
individually in the National Register of Historic Places, 
or due to its location in a registered historic district and 
certified by the Secretary of the Interior as being of 
historical significance to the district, and the 
rehabilitation will be completed in such a manner as to be 
eligible for historic rehabilitation tax credits. (5 points)  

The maximum number of points that may be awarded 
under any combination of the scoring categories under 
subdivision 3 b of this section is 60 points.  

c. Any nonelderly development in which the greater of 5 
units or 10% of the units (i) provide federal project-based 
rent subsidies or equivalent assistance in order to ensure 
occupancy by extremely low-income persons; (ii) 
conform to HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility 
requirements of §504 of the Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) 
are actively marketed to people with special needs in 
accordance with a plan submitted as part of the 
application for credits (if special needs includes mobility 
impairments, the units described above must include roll-
in showers and roll-under sinks and ranges). (50 points)  

d. Any nonelderly development in which the greater of 5 
units or 10% of the units (i) have rents within HUD's 
Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) payment standard; (ii) 
conform to HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility 
requirements of §504 of the Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) 
are actively marketed to people with mobility 
impairments including HCV holders in accordance with a 
plan submitted as part of the application for credits. (30 
points)  

e. Any nonelderly development in which 4.0% of the 
units (i) conform to HUD regulations interpreting the 
accessibility requirements of §504 of the Rehabilitation 
Act and (ii) are actively marketed to people with mobility 
impairments in accordance with a plan submitted as part 
of the application for credits. (15 points)  

f. Any development located within one-half mile of an 
existing commuter rail, light rail or subway station or 
one-quarter mile of one or more existing public bus lines. 
(10 points, unless the development is located within the 
geographical area established by the executive director 
for a pool of credits for northern Virginia, in which case, 
the development will receive 20 points if the 
development is ranked against other developments in 
such northern Virginia pool, 10 points if the development 
is ranked against other developments in any other pool of 
credits established by the executive director)  

g. Any development for which the applicant agrees to 
obtain EarthCraft certification prior to the issuance of an 
IRS Form 8609 with the proposed development's 
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architect certifying in the application that the 
development's design will meet the criteria for such 
EarthCraft certification. (15 points)  

h. Any development in which the applicant proposes to 
produce [ up to less than ] 100 low-income housing units. 
( [ 25 20 ] points for producing [ one 50 ] low-income 
housing [ unit units or less ] , minus [ .25 .4] ] points for 
each additional low-income housing unit produced down 
to [ .25 points for 100 low-income housing units and ] 
0 points for any development that produces [ over ] 100 
[ or more ] low-income housing units.)  

4. Tenant population characteristics. Commitment by the 
applicant to give a leasing preference to individuals and 
families with children in developments that will have no 
more than 20% of its units with one bedroom or less. (15 
points; plus 0.75 points for each percent of the low-income 
units in the development with three or more bedrooms up 
to an additional 15 points for a total of no more than 30 
points)  

5. Sponsor characteristics.  

a. Evidence that the principal or principals, as a group or 
individually, for the proposed development have 
developed (i) at least three tax credit developments that 
contain at least three times the number of housing units 
in the proposed development or (ii) at least six tax credit 
developments that contain at least the number of housing 
units in the proposed development. (50 points; applicants 
receiving points under this subdivision 5 a are not 
eligible for points under subdivision 1 a above)  

b. Evidence that the principal or principals for the 
proposed development have developed at least one tax 
credit development that contains at least the number of 
housing units in the proposed development. (10 points)  

c. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 
principal in a development at the time the authority 
reported such development to the IRS for an uncorrected 
major violation of health, safety and building codes. 
(minus 50 points for a period of three years after the 
violation has been corrected)  

d. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 
principal in a development at the time the authority 
reported such development to the IRS for noncompliance 
that has not been corrected by the time a Form 8823 is 
filed by the authority. (minus 15 points for a period of 
three years after the time the authority filed Form 8823, 
unless the executive director determines that such 
principal's attempts to correct such noncompliance was 
prohibited by a court, local government or governmental 
agency, in which case, no negative points will be 
assessed to the applicant)  

e. Any applicant that includes a principal that is or was a 
principal in a development that (i) did not build a 
development as represented in the application for credit 
(minus two times the number of points assigned to the 
item or items not built or minus 20 points for failing to 
provide a minimum building requirement, for a period of 
three years after the last Form 8609 is issued for the 
development, in addition to any other penalties the 
authority may seek under its agreements with the 
applicant), or (ii) has a reservation of credits terminated 
by the authority (minus 10 points a period of three years 
after the credits are returned to the authority).  

f. Any applicant that includes a management company in 
its application that is rated unsatisfactory by the 
executive director or if the ownership of any applicant 
includes a principal that is or was a principal in a 
development that hired a management company to 
manage a tax credit development after such management 
company received a rating of unsatisfactory from the 
executive director during the extended use period of such 
development. (minus 25 points)  

g. Evidence that a US Green Building Council LEED 
certified design professional participated in the design of 
the proposed development. (10 points)  

h. Evidence that the proposed development's architect 
has completed the Fair Housing Accessibility First 
program offered by HUD or an equivalent organization 
and the certificate is attached with the architect's 
certification. (5 points)  

i. Evidence that the proposed development's architect has 
attended the authority's Universal Design symposium and 
the certificate of attendance is attached with the 
architect's certification. (5 points)  

6. Efficient use of resources.  

a. The percentage by which the total of the amount of 
credits per low-income housing unit (the "per unit credit 
amount") of the proposed development is less than the 
standard per unit credit amounts established by the 
executive director for a given unit type, based upon the 
number of such unit types in the proposed development. 
(180 points multiplied by the percentage by which the 
total amount of the per unit credit amount of the 
proposed development is less than the applicable 
standard per unit credit amount established by the 
executive director, negative points will be assessed using 
the percentage by which the total amount of the per unit 
credit amount of the proposed development exceeds the 
applicable standard per unit credit amount established by 
the executive director.)  

b. The percentage by which the cost per low-income 
housing unit (the "per unit cost"), adjusted by the 
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authority for location, of the proposed development is 
less than the standard per unit cost amounts established 
by the executive director for a given unit type, based 
upon the number of such unit types in the proposed 
development. (75 points multiplied by the percentage by 
which the total amount of the per unit cost of the 
proposed development is less than the applicable 
standard per unit cost amount established by the 
executive director.)  

The executive director may use a standard per square foot 
credit amount and a standard per square foot cost amount 
in establishing the per unit credit amount and the per unit 
cost amount in subdivision 6 above. For the purpose of 
calculating the points to be assigned pursuant to such 
subdivision 6 above, all credit amounts shall include any 
credits previously allocated to the development.  

7. Bonus points.  

a. Commitment by the applicant to impose income limits 
on the low-income housing units throughout the extended 
use period (as defined in the IRC) below those required 
by the IRC in order for the development to be a qualified 
low-income development. Applicants receiving points 
under this subdivision a may not receive points under 
subdivision b below. (The product of (i) 50 points 
multiplied by (ii) the percentage of housing units in the 
proposed development both rent restricted to and 
occupied by households at or below 50% of the area 
median gross income; plus 1 point for each percentage 
point of such housing units in the proposed development 
which are further restricted to rents at or below 30% of 
40% of the area median gross income up to an additional 
10 points.)  

b. Commitment by the applicant to impose rent limits on 
the low-income housing units throughout the extended 
use period (as defined in the IRC) below those required 
by the IRC in order for the development to be a qualified 
low-income development. Applicants receiving points 
under this subdivision b may not receive points under 
subdivision a above. (The product of (i) 25 points (50 
points for proposed developments in low-income 
jurisdictions) multiplied by (ii) the percentage of housing 
units in the proposed development rent restricted to 
households at or below 50% of the area median gross 
income; plus 1 point for each percentage point of such 
housing units in the proposed development which are 
further restricted to rents at or below 30% of 40% of the 
area median gross income up to an additional 10 points.)  

c. Commitment by the applicant to maintain the low-
income housing units in the development as a qualified 
low-income housing development beyond the 30-year 
extended use period (as defined in the IRC). Applicants 
receiving points under this subdivision c may not receive 
bonus points under subdivision d below. (40 points for a 

10-year commitment beyond the 30-year extended use 
period or 50 points for a 20-year commitment beyond the 
30-year extended use period.)  

d. Participation by a local housing authority or qualified 
nonprofit organization (substantially based or active in 
the community with at least a 10% ownership interest in 
the general partnership interest of the partnership) and a 
commitment by the applicant to sell the proposed 
development pursuant to an executed, recordable option 
or right of first refusal to such local housing authority or 
qualified nonprofit organization or to a wholly owned 
subsidiary of such organization or authority, at the end of 
the 15-year compliance period, as defined by IRC, for a 
price not to exceed the outstanding debt and exit taxes of 
the for-profit entity. The applicant must record such 
option or right of first refusal immediately after the low-
income housing commitment described in 13VAC10-
180-70 and give the qualified nonprofit veto power over 
any refinancing of the development. Applicants receiving 
points under this subdivision d may not receive bonus 
points under subdivision c above. (60 points; plus 5 
points if the local housing authority or qualified nonprofit 
organization submits a homeownership plan satisfactory 
to the authority in which the local housing authority or 
qualified nonprofit organization commits to sell the units 
in the development to tenants.)  

In calculating the points for subdivisions 7 a and b above, 
any units in the proposed development required by the 
locality to exceed 60% of the area median gross income will 
not be considered when calculating the percentage of low-
income units of the proposed development with incomes 
below those required by the IRC in order for the development 
to be a qualified low-income development, provided that the 
locality submits evidence satisfactory to the authority of such 
requirement. 

After points have been assigned to each application in the 
manner described above, the executive director shall compute 
the total number of points assigned to each such application. 
[ Notwithstanding any other provisions herein, any Any ] 
application that is assigned a total number of points less than 
a threshold amount of 300 [ 500 450 ] points (250 points for 
developments financed with tax-exempt bonds) [ for calendar 
year 2008, and 500 points after January 1, 2009 (425 points 
for developments financed with tax-exempt bonds in such 
amount so as not to require under the IRC an allocation of 
credits hereunder for calendar year 2008, and 475 points for 
such developments after January 1, 2009), ] shall be rejected 
from further consideration hereunder and shall not be eligible 
for any reservation or allocation of credits. 

The executive director may exclude and disregard any 
application which he determines is not submitted in good 
faith or which he determines would not be financially 
feasible. 
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Upon assignment of points to all of the applications, the 
executive director shall rank the applications based on the 
number of points so assigned. If any pools shall have been 
established, each application shall be assigned to a pool and, 
if any, to the appropriate tier within such pool and shall be 
ranked within such pool or tier, if any. The amount of credits 
made available to each pool will be determined by the 
executive director. Available credits will include unreserved 
per capita dollar amount credits from the current calendar 
year under §42(h)(3)(C)(i) of the IRC, any unreserved per 
capita credits from previous calendar years, and credits 
returned to the authority prior to the final ranking of the 
applications and may include up to 10% of next calendar 
year's per capita credits as shall be determined by the 
executive director. Those applications assigned more points 
shall be ranked higher than those applications assigned fewer 
points. However, if any set-asides established by the 
executive director cannot be satisfied after ranking the 
applications based on the number of points, the executive 
director may rank as many applications as necessary to meet 
the requirements of such set-aside (selecting the highest 
ranked application, or applications, meeting the requirements 
of the set-aside) over applications with more points. 

In the event of a tie in the number of points assigned to two 
or more applications within the same pool, or, if none, within 
the Commonwealth, and in the event that the amount of 
credits available for reservation to such applications is 
determined by the executive director to be insufficient for the 
financial feasibility of all of the developments described 
therein, the authority shall, to the extent necessary to fully 
utilize the amount of credits available for reservation within 
such pool or, if none, within the Commonwealth, select one 
or more of the applications with the highest combination of 
points from subdivision 7 above, and each application so 
selected shall receive (in order based upon the number of 
such points, beginning with the application with the highest 
number of such points) a reservation of credits. If two or 
more of the tied applications receive the same number of 
points from subdivision 7 above and if the amount of credits 
available for reservation to such tied applications is 
determined by the executive director to be insufficient for the 
financial feasibility of all the developments described therein, 
the executive director shall select one or more of such 
applications by lot, and each application so selected by lot 
shall receive (in order of such selection by lot) a reservation 
of credits. 

For each application which may receive a reservation of 
credits, the executive director shall determine the amount, as 
of the date of the deadline for submission of applications for 
reservation of credits, to be necessary for the financial 
feasibility of the development and its viability as a qualified 
low-income development throughout the credit period under 
the IRC. In making this determination, the executive director 
shall consider the sources and uses of the funds, the available 

federal, state and local subsidies committed to the 
development, the total financing planned for the development 
as well as the investment proceeds or receipts expected by the 
authority to be generated with respect to the development, 
and the percentage of the credit dollar amount used for 
development costs other than the costs of intermediaries. He 
shall also examine the development's costs, including 
developer's fees and other amounts in the application, for 
reasonableness and, if he determines that such costs or other 
amounts are unreasonably high, he shall reduce them to 
amounts that he determines to be reasonable. The executive 
director shall review the applicant's projected rental income, 
operating expenses and debt service for the credit period. The 
executive director may establish such criteria and 
assumptions as he shall deem reasonable for the purpose of 
making such determination, including, without limitation, 
criteria as to the reasonableness of fees and profits and 
assumptions as to the amount of net syndication proceeds to 
be received (based upon such percentage of the credit dollar 
amount used for development costs, other than the costs of 
intermediaries, as the executive director shall determine to be 
reasonable for the proposed development), increases in the 
market value of the development, and increases in operating 
expenses, rental income and, in the case of applications 
without firm financing commitments (as defined hereinabove) 
at fixed interest rates, debt service on the proposed mortgage 
loan. The executive director may, if he deems it appropriate, 
consider the development to be a part of a larger 
development. In such a case, the executive director may 
consider, examine, review and establish any or all of the 
foregoing items as to the larger development in making such 
determination for the development. 

At such time or times during each calendar year as the 
executive director shall designate, the executive director shall 
reserve credits to applications in descending order of ranking 
within each pool and tier, if applicable, until either 
substantially all credits therein are reserved or all qualified 
applications therein have received reservations. (For the 
purpose of the preceding sentence, if there is not more than a 
de minimis amount, as determined by the executive director, 
of credits remaining in a pool after reservations have been 
made, "substantially all" of the credits in such pool shall be 
deemed to have been reserved.) The executive director may 
rank the applications within pools at different times for 
different pools and may reserve credits, based on such 
rankings, one or more times with respect to each pool. The 
executive director may also establish more than one round of 
review and ranking of applications and reservation of credits 
based on such rankings, and he shall designate the amount of 
credits to be made available for reservation within each pool 
during each such round. The amount reserved to each such 
application shall be equal to the lesser of (i) the amount 
requested in the application or (ii) an amount determined by 
the executive director, as of the date of application, to be 
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necessary for the financial feasibility of the development and 
its viability as a qualified low-income development 
throughout the credit period under the IRC; provided, 
however, that in no event shall the amount of credits so 
reserved exceed the maximum amount permissible under the 
IRC. 

Not more than 20% of the credits in any pool may be 
reserved to developments intended to provide elderly 
housing, unless the feasible credit amount, as determined by 
the executive director, of the highest ranked elderly housing 
development in any pool exceeds 20% of the credits in such 
pool, then such elderly housing development shall be the only 
elderly housing development eligible for a reservation of 
credits from such pool. However, if credits remain available 
for reservation after all eligible nonelderly housing 
developments receive a reservation of credits, such remaining 
credits may be made available to additional elderly housing 
developments. The above limitation of credits available for 
elderly housing shall not include elderly housing 
developments with project-based subsidy providing rental 
assistance for at least 20% of the units that are submitted as 
rehabilitation developments or assisted living facilities 
licensed under Chapter 17 of Title 63.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

If the amount of credits available in any pool is determined 
by the executive director to be insufficient for the financial 
feasibility of the proposed development to which such 
available credits are to be reserved, the executive director 
may move the proposed development and the credits 
available to another pool. If any credits remain in any pool 
after moving proposed developments and credits to another 
pool, the executive director may for developments that meet 
the requirements of §42(h)(1)(E) of the IRC only, reserve the 
remaining credits to any proposed development(s) scoring at 
or above the minimum point threshold established by this 
chapter without regard to the ranking of such application with 
additional credits from the Commonwealth's annual state 
housing credit ceiling for the following year in such an 
amount necessary for the financial feasibility of the proposed 
development, or developments. However, the reservation of 
credits from the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit 
ceiling for the following year shall be in the reasonable 
discretion of the executive director if he determines it to be in 
the best interest of the plan. In the event a reservation or an 
allocation of credits from the current year or a prior year is 
reduced, terminated or cancelled, the executive director may 
substitute such credits for any credits reserved from the 
following year's annual state housing credit ceiling. 

In the event that during any round of application review and 
ranking the amount of credits reserved within any pools is 
less than the total amount of credits made available therein 
during such round, the executive director may either (i) leave 
such unreserved credits in such pools for reservation and 
allocation in any subsequent round or rounds or (ii) 

redistribute such unreserved credits to such other pool or 
pools as the executive director may designate or (iii) carry 
over such unreserved credits to the next succeeding calendar 
year for inclusion in the state housing credit ceiling (as 
defined in §42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for such year. 

Notwithstanding anything contained herein, the total amount 
of credits that may be awarded in any credit year after credit 
year 2001 to any applicant or to any related applicants for one 
or more developments shall not exceed 15% of Virginia's per 
capita dollar amount of credits for such credit year (the 
"credit cap"). However, if the amount of credits to be 
reserved in any such credit year to all applications assigned a 
total number of points at or above the threshold amount set 
forth above shall be less than Virginia's dollar amount of 
credits available for such credit year, then the authority's 
board of commissioners may waive the credit cap to the 
extent it deems necessary to reserve credits in an amount at 
least equal to such dollar amount of credits. Applicants shall 
be deemed to be related if any principal in a proposed 
development or any person or entity related to the applicant 
or principal will be a principal in any other proposed 
development or developments. For purposes of this 
paragraph, a principal shall also include any person or entity 
who, in the determination of the executive director, has 
exercised or will exercise, directly or indirectly, substantial 
control over the applicant or has performed or will perform 
(or has assisted or will assist the applicant in the performance 
of), directly or indirectly, substantial responsibilities or 
functions customarily performed by applicants with respect to 
applications or developments. For the purpose of determining 
whether any person or entity is related to the applicant or 
principal, persons or entities shall be deemed to be related if 
the executive director determines that any substantial 
relationship existed, either directly between them or indirectly 
through a series of one or more substantial relationships (e.g., 
if party A has a substantial relationship with party B and if 
party B has a substantial relationship with party C, then A has 
a substantial relationship with both party B and party C), at 
any time within three years of the filing of the application for 
the credits. In determining in any credit year whether an 
applicant has a substantial relationship with another applicant 
with respect to any application for which credits were 
awarded in any prior credit year, the executive director shall 
determine whether the applicants were related as of the date 
of the filing of such prior credit year's application or within 
three years prior thereto and shall not consider any 
relationships or any changes in relationships subsequent to 
such date. Substantial relationships shall include, but not be 
limited to, the following relationships (in each of the 
following relationships, the persons or entities involved in the 
relationship are deemed to be related to each other): (i) the 
persons are in the same immediate family (including, without 
limitation, a spouse, children, parents, grandparents, 
grandchildren, brothers, sisters, uncles, aunts, nieces, and 
nephews) and are living in the same household; (ii) the 
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entities have one or more common general partners or 
members (including related persons and entities), or the 
entities have one or more common owners that (by 
themselves or together with any other related persons and 
entities) have, in the aggregate, 5.0% or more ownership 
interest in each entity; (iii) the entities are under the common 
control (e.g., the same person or persons and any related 
persons serve as a majority of the voting members of the 
boards of such entities or as chief executive officers of such 
entities) of one or more persons or entities (including related 
persons and entities); (iv) the person is a general partner, 
member or employee in the entity or is an owner (by himself 
or together with any other related persons and entities) of 
5.0% or more ownership interest in the entity; (v) the entity is 
a general partner or member in the other entity or is an owner 
(by itself or together with any other related persons and 
entities) of 5.0% or more ownership interest in the other 
entity; or (vi) the person or entity is otherwise controlled, in 
whole or in part, by the other person or entity. In determining 
compliance with the credit cap with respect to any 
application, the executive director may exclude any person or 
entity related to the applicant or to any principal in such 
applicant if the executive director determines that (i) such 
person or entity will not participate, directly or indirectly, in 
matters relating to the applicant or the ownership of the 
development to be assisted by the credits for which the 
application is submitted, (ii) such person or entity has no 
agreement or understanding relating to such application or the 
tax credits requested therein, and (iii) such person or entity 
will not receive a financial benefit from the tax credits 
requested in the application. A limited partner or other similar 
investor shall not be determined to be a principal and shall be 
excluded from the determination of related persons or entities 
unless the executive director shall determine that such limited 
partner or investor will, directly or indirectly, exercise control 
over the applicant or participate in matters relating to the 
ownership of the development substantially beyond the 
degree of control or participation that is usual and customary 
for limited partners or other similar investors with respect to 
developments assisted by the credits. If the award of multiple 
applications of any applicant or related applicants in any 
credit year shall cause the credit cap to be exceeded, such 
applicant or applicants shall, upon notice from the authority, 
jointly designate those applications for which credits are not 
to be reserved so that such limitation shall not be exceeded. 
Such notice shall specify the date by which such designation 
shall be made. In the absence of any such designation by the 
date specified in such notice, the executive director shall 
make such designation as he shall determine to best serve the 
interests of the program. Each applicant and each principal 
therein shall make such certifications, shall disclose such 
facts and shall submit such documents to the authority as the 
executive director may require to determine compliance with 
credit cap. If an applicant or any principal therein makes any 
misrepresentation to the authority concerning such applicant's 

or principal's relationship with any other person or entity, the 
executive director may reject any or all of such applicant's 
pending applications for reservation or allocation of credits, 
may terminate any or all reservations of credits to the 
applicant, and may prohibit such applicant, the principals 
therein and any persons and entities then or thereafter having 
a substantial relationship (in the determination of the 
executive director as described above) with the applicant or 
any principal therein from submitting applications for credits 
for such period of time as the executive director shall 
determine.  

Within a reasonable time after credits are reserved to any 
applicants' applications, the executive director shall notify 
each applicant for such reservations of credits either of the 
amount of credits reserved to such applicant's application (by 
issuing to such applicant a written binding commitment to 
allocate such reserved credits subject to such terms and 
conditions as may be imposed by the executive director 
therein, by the IRC and by this chapter) or, as applicable, that 
the applicant's application has been rejected or excluded or 
has otherwise not been reserved credits in accordance 
herewith. The written binding commitment shall prohibit any 
transfer, direct or indirect, of partnership interests (except 
those involving the admission of limited partners) prior to the 
placed-in-service date of the proposed development unless the 
transfer is consented to by the executive director. The written 
binding commitment shall further limit the developers' fees to 
the amounts established during the review of the applications 
for reservation of credits and such amounts shall not be 
increased unless consented to by the executive director. The 
executive director shall, as a condition to the binding 
commitment, require each applicant to obtain a market study, 
in form and substance satisfactory to the authority, that shows 
adequate demand for the housing units to be produced by 
each applicant's proposed development.  

If credits are reserved to any applicants for developments 
which have also received an allocation of credits from prior 
years, the executive director may reserve additional credits 
from the current year equal to the amount of credits allocated 
to such developments from prior years, provided such 
previously allocated credits are returned to the authority. Any 
previously allocated credits returned to the authority under 
such circumstances shall be placed into the credit pools from 
which the current year's credits are reserved to such 
applicants.  

The executive director shall make a written explanation 
available to the general public for any allocation of housing 
credit dollar amount which is not made in accordance with 
established priorities and selection criteria of the authority.  

The authority's board shall review and consider the analysis 
and recommendation of the executive director for the 
reservation of credits to an applicant, and, if it concurs with 
such recommendation, it shall by resolution ratify the 
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reservation by the executive director of the credits to the 
applicant, subject to such terms and conditions as it shall 
deem necessary or appropriate to assure compliance with the 
aforementioned binding commitment issued or to be issued to 
the applicant, the IRC and this chapter. If the board 
determines not to ratify a reservation of credits or to establish 
any such terms and conditions, the executive director shall so 
notify the applicant.  

Subsequent to such ratification of the reservation of credits, 
the executive director may, in his discretion and without 
ratification or approval by the board, increase the amount of 
such reservation by an amount not to exceed 10% of the 
initial reservation amount.  

The executive director may require the applicant to make a 
good faith deposit or to execute such contractual agreements 
providing for monetary or other remedies as it may require, or 
both, to assure that the applicant will comply with all 
requirements under the IRC, this chapter and the binding 
commitment (including, without limitation, any requirement 
to conform to all of the representations, commitments and 
information contained in the application for which points 
were assigned pursuant to this section). Upon satisfaction of 
all such aforementioned requirements (including any post-
allocation requirements), such deposit shall be refunded to the 
applicant or such contractual agreements shall terminate, or 
both, as applicable.  

If, as of the date the application is approved by the executive 
director, the applicant is entitled to an allocation of the credits 
under the IRC, this chapter and the terms of any binding 
commitment that the authority would have otherwise issued 
to such applicant, the executive director may at that time 
allocate the credits to such qualified low-income buildings or 
development without first providing a reservation of such 
credits. This provision in no way limits the authority of the 
executive director to require a good faith deposit or 
contractual agreement, or both, as described in the preceding 
paragraph, nor to relieve the applicant from any other 
requirements hereunder for eligibility for an allocation of 
credits. Any such allocation shall be subject to ratification by 
the board in the same manner as provided above with respect 
to reservations.  

The executive director may require that applicants to whom 
credits have been reserved shall submit from time to time or 
at such specified times as he shall require, written 
confirmation and documentation as to the status of the 
proposed development and its compliance with the 
application, the binding commitment and any contractual 
agreements between the applicant and the authority. If on the 
basis of such written confirmation and documentation as the 
executive director shall have received in response to such a 
request, or on the basis of such other available information, or 
both, the executive director determines any or all of the 
buildings in the development which were to become qualified 

low-income buildings will not do so within the time period 
required by the IRC or will not otherwise qualify for such 
credits under the IRC, this chapter or the binding 
commitment, then the executive director may terminate the 
reservation of such credits and draw on any good faith 
deposit. If, in lieu of or in addition to the foregoing 
determination, the executive director determines that any 
contractual agreements between the applicant and the 
authority have been breached by the applicant, whether before 
or after allocation of the credits, he may seek to enforce any 
and all remedies to which the authority may then be entitled 
under such contractual agreements.  

The executive director may establish such deadlines for 
determining the ability of the applicant to qualify for an 
allocation of credits as he shall deem necessary or desirable to 
allow the authority sufficient time, in the event of a reduction 
or termination of the applicant's reservation, to reserve such 
credits to other eligible applications and to allocate such 
credits pursuant thereto.  

Any material changes to the development, as proposed in the 
application, occurring subsequent to the submission of the 
application for the credits therefor shall be subject to the prior 
written approval of the executive director. As a condition to 
any such approval, the executive director may, as necessary to 
comply with this chapter, the IRC, the binding commitment 
and any other contractual agreement between the authority 
and the applicant, reduce the amount of credits applied for or 
reserved or impose additional terms and conditions with 
respect thereto. If such changes are made without the prior 
written approval of the executive director, he may terminate 
or reduce the reservation of such credits, impose additional 
terms and conditions with respect thereto, seek to enforce any 
contractual remedies to which the authority may then be 
entitled, draw on any good faith deposit, or any combination 
of the foregoing.  

In the event that any reservation of credits is terminated or 
reduced by the executive director under this section, he may 
reserve, allocate or carry over, as applicable, such credits in 
such manner as he shall determine consistent with the 
requirements of the IRC and this chapter.  

Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the executive 
director may make a reservation of credits to any applicant 
that proposes a nonelderly development intended to serve 
people with disabilities and (i) provides rent subsidies or 
equivalent assistance in order to ensure occupancy by 
extremely low-income persons; (ii) conforms to HUD 
regulations interpreting the accessibility requirements of §504 
of the Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) will be actively marketed 
to people with disabilities in accordance with a plan 
submitted as part of the application for credits and approved 
by the executive director. Any such reservations made in any 
calendar year may be up to 3.0% of the Commonwealth's 
annual state housing credit ceiling for the applicable credit 
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year. However, such reservation will be for credits from the 
Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling from the 
following calendar year.  

Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the executive 
director may make a reservation of credits, to any applicant 
that proposes to acquire and rehabilitate a nonelderly 
development within Arlington County, Fairfax County, 
Alexandria City, Fairfax City or Falls Church City that the 
executive director determines (i) cannot be acquired within 
the schedule for the competitive scoring process described in 
this section and (ii) cannot be financed with tax-exempt bonds 
using the authority's normal underwriting criteria for its 
multifamily tax-exempt bond program. Any proposed 
development subject to an application submitted under this 
paragraph must meet the following criteria: (i) at least 20% of 
the units in the development must be low-income housing 
units for residents at 50% of the area median income or less, 
(ii) the development must be eligible for points under 
subdivision 3 b (1) (g) of this section or a combination of at 
least 20 points under subdivisions 3 b (1) (b) through 3 b (1) 
(j), excluding subdivision 3 b (1) (c), (iii) the executive 
director's review of the application must confirm that the 
portion of the developer's fee to be deferred is at least 5.0% of 
the total development costs, and (iv) participation by the local 
government in the form of low-interest loan/grant moneys 
from such locality's affordable housing funds. Any such 
reservations made in any calendar year may be up to 15% of 
the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for 
the applicable credit year. However, such reservation will be 
for credits from the Commonwealth's annual state housing 
credit ceiling from the following calendar year. Applicants 
and the principals of such applicant applying for credits under 
this paragraph may not submit an application for credits for 
the same development under the competitive scoring process 
in this section.  

13VAC10-180-100. Tax-exempt bonds. 

In the case of any buildings or development to be financed 
by certain tax-exempt bonds of the authority, or an issuer 
other than the authority, in such amount so as not to require 
under the IRC an allocation of credits hereunder, the owner of 
the buildings or development shall submit to the authority, 
prior to the issuance of the bonds, an application for 
allocation of credits and supporting information and 
documents as described in 13VAC10-180-70, and such other 
information and documents as the executive director may 
require (including a market study, in form and substance 
satisfactory to the authority, that shows adequate demand for 
the housing units to be produced by each applicant's proposed 
buildings or development). The executive director shall 
determine, in accordance with the IRC, whether such 
buildings or development satisfies the requirements for 
allocation of credits hereunder. For the purposes of such 
determination, buildings or a development shall be deemed to 

satisfy the requirements for allocation of credits hereunder if 
(i) the application submitted to the authority in connection 
therewith is assigned not fewer than the threshold number of 
points under the ranking system described in 13VAC10-180-
60, and (ii) the executive director shall determine that the 
buildings or development shall receive an amount of credits 
necessary for the financial feasibility of the development and 
its viability as a qualified low-income housing development 
throughout the credit period under the IRC, and as more fully 
described in 13VAC10-180-70, and (iii) premature retirement 
of any of the tax-exempt bonds or principal portion thereof 
issued to finance the buildings or development (including any 
tax-exempt bonds issued solely for the purpose of satisfying 
the requirement in §42(h)(4)(B) of the IRC) shall be neither 
required by the terms of the bonds nor anticipated by the 
applicant during the period commencing on the date of 
issuance of such bonds and ending on the date seven years 
thereafter. For the purpose of clause (iii) above, premature 
retirement shall be any total reduction in the principal amount 
of such bonds or portion thereof during such seven-year 
period in excess of 50% of the original principal amount of 
such bonds or portion thereof. The principal of any bonds that 
are defeased or for which funds (and any investments thereof) 
are otherwise determined by the authority to be available 
during such seven-year period for payment of principal 
thereof shall be deemed to be reduced by the principal 
amount so defeased or by the amount of such available funds 
during such seven-year period. Compliance with clause (iii) 
above shall be determined by the authority based upon the 
substance of the transactions and without regard to any 
artifice or device intended to evade the requirement 
prohibiting the premature retirement of bonds as described in 
clause (iii) above. Notwithstanding anything contained 
herein, the requirement in clause (iii) above shall not apply to 
tax-exempt bonds, not exceeding $3,000,000 in original 
principal amount, issued for the rehabilitation of any 
development secured by a Rural Development 515 loan, 
provided such tax-exempt bonds are issued with the intent to 
preserve the Rural Development 515 loan. 

The owner of the buildings or development shall, as required 
by the executive director, pay such fees as described in 
13VAC10-180-50, and such good faith deposits as described 
in 13VAC10-180-70. Furthermore, the owner of the buildings 
or development shall satisfy all other requirements for an 
allocation as required by the executive director, including 
execution, delivery and recordation of an extended low-
income housing commitment as more fully described in 
13VAC10-180-70 and all requirements for compliance 
monitoring as described in 13VAC10-180-90. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-968; Filed January 16, 2008, 12:34 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with §2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-30. Rules Governing Life 
Insurance and Annuity Replacements (amending 
14VAC5-30-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on February 29, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Althelia Battle, Assistant Deputy 
Commisioner, Life and Health Division, Bureau of Insurance, 
State Corporation Commission, 1300 East Main Street, 5th 
Floor, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-9154, FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 
al.battle@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments add language in subdivision A 
4 of 14VAC5-30-30 dealing with exemptions. The 
additional language provides an exemption from the rules 
for term conversions where the existing insurer and the 
replacing insurer are corporate affiliates. This revision is 
consistent with the most recent National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) "Life Insurance and 
Annuities Replacement Model Regulation." 

AT RICHMOND, JANUARY 14, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2007-00298 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 
Adopting Revisions to the 
Rules Governing Life Insurance 
and Annuity Replacements 

 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall have 
the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia provides 
that the Commission may issue any rules and regulations 
necessary or appropriate for the administration and 
enforcement of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 
pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia are set forth in 
Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 
Commission a proposed amendment to Chapter 30 of Title 14 
of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled "Rules 
Governing Life Insurance and Annuity Replacements," which 
amends the Rules at 14 VAC 5-30-30. 

The amended Rules add additional language in Subdivision 
A 4 of 14 VAC 5-30-30 dealing with Exemptions.  The 
additional language provides an exemption from the Rules for 
term conversions where the existing insurer and the replacing 
insurer are corporate affiliates.  This revision is consistent 
with the most recent National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners (NAIC) "Life Insurance and Annuities 
Replacement Model Regulation."  The Commission is of the 
opinion that the amended Rules submitted by the Bureau of 
Insurance should be considered for adoption.  

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The amended Rules entitled "Rules Governing Life 
Insurance and Annuity Replacements," at 14 VAC 5-30-
30, be attached hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in 
support of or in opposition to, or to request a hearing to 
oppose the adoption of the amended Rules shall file such 
comments or hearing request on or before February 29, 
2008, with the Clerk of the Commission, Document 
Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218 
and shall refer to Case No. INS-2007-00298. Interested 
persons desiring to submit comments electronically may do 
so by following the instructions available at the 
Commission’s website:  
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm. 

(3) If no request for a hearing on the adoption of the 
amended Rules is filed on or before February 29, 2008, the 
Commission, upon consideration of any comments 
submitted in support of or in opposition to the amended 
Rules, may adopt the Rules as amended by the Bureau of 
Insurance. 

(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 
the amended Rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy 
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Commissioner Jacqueline K. Cunningham, who forthwith 
shall give further notice of the proposed adoption of the 
amended Rules by mailing a copy of this Order, together 
with the proposed amendments, to all companies licensed 
by the Commission to write life insurance, variable life 
insurance, annuities, or variable annuities in Virginia. 

(5) The Commission’s Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with 
the proposed amendments, to be forwarded to the Virginia 
Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations.  

(6) The Commission’s Division of Information Resources 
shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 
amendments on the Commission’s website, 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm. 

(7) The Bureau of Insurance shall file with the Clerk of the 
Commission an affidavit of compliance with the notice 
requirements of paragraph (4) above. 

14VAC5-30-30. Exemptions. 

A. Unless otherwise specifically included, this chapter shall 
not apply to: 

1. Credit life insurance; 

2. Group life insurance or group annuities where there is 
no direct solicitation of individuals by an agent. Direct 
solicitation shall not include any group meeting held by an 
agent solely for the purpose of educating or enrolling 
individuals or, when initiated by an individual member of 
the group, assisting with the selection of investment 
options offered by a single insurer in connection with 
enrolling that individual. Group life insurance or group 
annuity certificates marketed through direct response 
solicitation shall be subject to the provisions of 14VAC5-
30-70; 

3. Group life insurance and annuities used to fund 
prearranged funeral contracts; 

4. An application to the existing insurer that issued the 
existing policy or contract when a contractual change or a 
conversion privilege is being exercised; or when the 
existing policy or contract is being replaced by the same 
insurer pursuant to a plan filed and approved by the 
commission, or when a term conversion privilege is 
exercised among corporate affiliates; 

5. Proposed life insurance that is to replace life insurance 
under a binding or conditional receipt issued by the same 
company; 

6. a. Policies or contracts used to fund (i) an employee 
pension or welfare benefit plan that is covered by the 
Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA) (29 
USC §1001 et seq.); (ii) a plan described by 26 USC 

§§401(a), 401(k) or 403(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, 
where the plan, for purposes of ERISA, is established or 
maintained by an employer; (iii) a governmental or church 
plan defined in 26 USC §414 of the Internal Revenue 
Code, a governmental or church welfare benefit plan, or a 
deferred compensation plan of a state or local government 
or tax-exempt organization under 26 USC §457 of the 
Internal Revenue Code; or (iv) a nonqualified deferred 
compensation arrangement established or maintained by an 
employer or plan sponsor. 

b. Notwithstanding subdivision a of this subsection, this 
chapter shall apply to policies or contracts used to fund 
any plan or arrangement that is funded solely by 
contributions an employee elects to make, whether on a 
pretax or after-tax basis, and where the insurer has been 
notified that plan participants may choose from among 
two or more insurers and there is a direct solicitation of 
an individual employee by an agent for the purchase of a 
policy or contract. As used in this subsection, direct 
solicitation shall not include any group meeting held by 
an agent solely for the purpose of educating individuals 
about the plan or arrangement or enrolling individuals in 
the plan or arrangement or, when initiated by an 
individual employee, assisting with the selection of 
investment options offered by a single insurer in 
connection with enrolling that individual employee; 

7. Where new coverage is provided under a life insurance 
policy or contract and the cost is borne wholly by the 
insured's employer or by an association of which the 
insured is a member; 

8. Existing life insurance that is a nonconvertible term life 
insurance policy that will expire in five years or less and 
cannot be renewed; 

9. Immediate annuities that are purchased with proceeds 
from an existing contract. Immediate annuities purchased 
with proceeds from an existing policy are not exempted 
from the requirements of this chapter; or 

10. Structured settlements. 

B. Registered contracts shall be exempt from the 
requirements of 14VAC5-30-51 A 2 and 14VAC5-30-55 B 
with respect to the provision of illustrations or policy 
summaries; however, premium or contract contribution 
amounts and identification of the appropriate prospectus or 
offering circular shall be required instead. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1121; Filed January 15, 2008, 8:46 a.m.  
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Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with §2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-200. Rules Governing Long-
Term Care Insurance (amending 14VAC5-200-185).  

Statutory Authority: §§12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Agency Contact: Althelia Battle, Assistant Deputy 
Commissioner, Life and Health Division, Bureau of 
Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 1300 East Main 
Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, P.O. Box 1157, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9154, FAX (804) 
371-9944, or email al.battle@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment corrects errors in subsection E 
of 14VAC5-200-185 making references to subdivisions in 
subsection D. 

AT RICHMOND, JANUARY 14, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2008-00002 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 
Adopting Revisions to the 
Rules Governing Long-Term 
Care Insurance 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall have 
the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia provides 
that the Commission may issue any rules and regulations 
necessary or appropriate for the administration and 
enforcement of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 
pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia are set forth in 
Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 
Commission proposed amendments to Chapter 200 of Title 
14 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled “Rules 

Governing Long-Term Care Insurance," which amend the 
Rules at 14 VAC 5-200-185. 

The proposed amendments to the Rules are necessary to 
correct errors in subsection E making reference to 
subdivisions in subsection D. 

The Commission is of the opinion that the proposed 
amendments to 14 VAC 5-200-185 should be considered for 
adoption.  

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed amendments to the "Rules Governing 
Long-Term Care Insurance," which amend the Rules at 14 
VAC 5-200-185, be attached hereto and made a part 
hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in 
support of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to 
oppose the adoption of the proposed amendments shall file 
such comments or hearing request on or before February 
29, 2008, with the Clerk of the Commission, Document 
Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218 
and shall refer to Case No. INS-2008-00002.  Interested 
persons desiring to submit comments electronically may do 
so by following the instructions available at the 
Commission’s website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposed 
amendments is filed on or before February 29, 2008, the 
Commission, upon consideration of any comments 
submitted in support of or in opposition to the proposed 
amendments, may adopt the amendments proposed by the 
Bureau of Insurance. 

(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 
the proposed amendments, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy 
Commissioner Jacqueline K. Cunningham, who forthwith 
shall give further notice of the proposed adoption of the 
amendments by mailing a copy of this Order, together with 
the proposed amendments, to all insurers licensed by the 
Commission to write accident and sickness insurance in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, including all fraternal benefit 
societies, health maintenance organizations, and health 
services plans licensed in Virginia, as well as all interested 
parties. 

(5) The Commission’s Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with 
the proposed amendments, to be forwarded to the Virginia 
Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission’s Division of Information Resources 
shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 
amendments on the Commission’s website, 
http://www.state.va.us/scc/caseinfo.htm. 
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(7) The Bureau of Insurance shall file with the Clerk of the 
Commission an affidavit of compliance with the notice 
requirements of paragraph (4) above. 

14VAC5-200-185. Nonforfeiture benefit requirement. 

A. This section does not apply to life insurance policies or 
riders containing accelerated long-term care benefits. 

B. To comply with the requirement to offer a nonforfeiture 
benefit pursuant to the provisions of §38.2-5210 of the Code 
of Virginia: 

1. A policy or certificate offered with nonforfeiture 
benefits shall have coverage elements, eligibility, benefit 
triggers and benefit length that are the same as coverage to 
be issued without nonforfeiture benefits. The nonforfeiture 
benefit included in the offer shall be the benefit described 
in subsection E of this section; and  

2. The offer shall be in writing if the nonforfeiture benefit 
is not otherwise described in the Outline of Coverage or 
other materials given to the prospective policyholder. 

When a group long-term care insurance policy is issued, 
the offer required in §38.2-5210 of the Code of Virginia 
shall be made to the group policyholder. However, if the 
policy is issued as group long-term care insurance as 
defined in §38.2-3522.1 of the Code of Virginia other than 
to a continuing care retirement community or other similar 
entity, the offer shall be made to each proposed 
certificateholder. 

C. If the offer required to be made under §38.2-5210 of the 
Code of Virginia is rejected, the insurer shall provide the 
contingent benefit upon lapse described in this section. Even 
if this offer is accepted for a policy with a fixed or limited 
premium paying period, the contingent benefit upon lapse in 
subdivision D 4 of this section shall still apply. 

D. 1. After rejection of the offer required under §38.2-5210 
of the Code of Virginia, for individual and group policies 
without nonforfeiture benefits, the insurer shall provide a 
contingent benefit upon lapse. 

2. In the event a group policyholder elects to make the 
nonforfeiture benefit an option to the certificateholder, a 
certificate shall provide either the nonforfeiture benefit or 
the contingent benefit upon lapse. 

3. A contingent benefit on lapse shall be triggered every 
time an insurer increases the premium rates to a level 
which results in a cumulative increase of the annual 
premium equal to or exceeding the percentage of the 
insured's initial annual premium set forth below based on 
the insured's issue age, and the policy or certificate lapses 
within 120 days of the due date of the premium so 
increased. Unless otherwise required, policyholders shall 
be notified at least 60 days prior to the due date of the 
premium reflecting the rate increase. 

Triggers for a Substantial Premium Increase  

Issue Age 
Percent Increase  

Over Initial Premium 

29 and under 200% 

30-34 190% 

35-39 170% 

40-44 150% 

45-49 130% 

50-54 110% 

55-59 90% 

60 70% 

61 66% 

62 62% 

63 58% 

64 54% 

65 50% 

66 48% 

67 46% 

68 44% 

69 42% 

70 40% 

71 38% 

72 36% 

73 34% 

74 32% 

75 30% 

76 28% 

77 26% 

78 24% 

79 22% 

80 20% 

81 19% 

82 18% 

83 17% 

84 16% 

85 15% 
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86 14% 

87 13% 

88 12% 

89 11% 

90 and over 10% 

4. A contingent benefit on lapse shall also be triggered for 
policies with a fixed or limited premium paying period 
every time an insurer increases the premium rates to a level 
that results in a cumulative increase of the annual premium 
equal to or exceeding the percentage of the insured's initial 
annual premium set forth below based on the insured's 
issue age, the policy or certificate lapses within 120 days 
of the due date of the premium so increased, and the ratio 
in subdivision 6 b of this subsection is 40% or more. 
Unless otherwise required, policyholders shall be notified 
at least 60 days prior to the due date of the premium 
reflecting the rate increase. 

Triggers for a Substantial Premium Increase  

Issue Age 
Percent Increase  

Over Initial Premium 

Under 65 50% 

65-80 30% 

Over 80 10% 

This provision shall be in addition to the contingent benefit 
provided by subdivision 3 of this subsection, and where 
both are triggered, the benefit provided shall be at the 
option of the insured. 

5. On or before the effective date of a substantial premium 
increase as defined in subdivision 3 of this subsection, the 
insurer shall: 

a. Offer to reduce policy benefits provided by the current 
coverage without the requirement of additional 
underwriting so that required premium payments are not 
increased; 

b. Offer to convert the coverage to a paid-up status with a 
shortened benefit period in accordance with the terms of 
subsection E of this section. This option may be elected 
at any time during the 120-day period referenced in 
subdivision 3 of this subsection; and 

c. Notify the policyholder or certificateholder that a 
default or lapse at any time during the 120-day period 
referenced in subdivision 3 of this subsection shall be 
deemed to be the election of the offer to convert in 
subdivision 5 b of this subsection unless the automatic 
option in subdivision 6 c of this subsection applies. 

6. On or before the effective date of a substantial premium 
increase as defined in subdivision 4 of this subsection, the 
insurer shall: 

a. Offer to reduce policy benefits provided by the current 
coverage without the requirement of additional 
underwriting so that required premium payments are not 
increased; 

b. Offer to convert the coverage to a paid-up status where 
the amount payable for each benefit is 90% of the 
amount payable in effect immediately prior to lapse times 
the ratio of the number of completed months of paid 
premiums divided by the number of months in the 
premium paying period. This option may be elected at 
any time during the 120-day period referenced in 
subdivision 4 of this subsection; and  

c. Notify the policyholder or certificateholder that a 
default or lapse at any time during the 120-day period 
referenced in subdivision 4 of this subsection shall be 
deemed to be the election of the offer to convert in 
subdivision 6 b of this subsection if the ratio is 40% or 
more. 

E. Benefits continued as nonforfeiture benefits, including 
contingent benefits upon lapse in accordance with subdivision 
D 4 3 but not subdivision D 5 4 of this section, are described 
in this subsection: 

1. For purposes of this subsection, attained age rating is 
defined as a schedule of premiums starting from the issue 
date which increases age at least 1.0% per year prior to age 
50, and at least 3.0% per year beyond age 50. 

2. For purposes of this subsection, the nonforfeiture benefit 
shall be of a shortened benefit period providing paid-up 
long-term care insurance coverage after lapse. The same 
benefits (amounts and frequency in effect at the time of 
lapse but not increased thereafter) will be payable for a 
qualifying claim, but the lifetime maximum dollars or days 
of benefits shall be determined as specified in subdivision 
3 of this subsection. 

3. The standard nonforfeiture credit will be equal to 100% 
of the sum of all premiums paid, including the premiums 
paid prior to any changes in benefits. The insurer may offer 
additional shortened benefit period options as long as the 
benefits for each duration equal or exceed the standard 
nonforfeiture credit for that duration. However, the 
minimum nonforfeiture credit shall not be less than 30 
times the daily nursing home benefit at the time of lapse. In 
either event, the calculation of the nonforfeiture credit is 
subject to the limitation of subsection F of this section. 

4. a. The nonforfeiture benefit shall begin not later than the 
end of the third year following the policy or certificate 
issue date. The contingent benefit upon lapse shall be 
effective during the first three years as well as thereafter. 
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b. Notwithstanding subdivision 4 a of this subsection, 
except that for a policy or certificate with a contingent 
benefit upon lapse or a policy or certificate with attained 
age rating, the nonforfeiture benefit shall begin on the 
earlier of: (i) the end of the tenth year following the 
policy or certificate issue date; or (ii) the end of the 
second year following the date the policy or certificate is 
no longer subject to attained age rating. 

5. Nonforfeiture credits may be used for all care and 
services qualifying for benefits under the terms of the 
policy or certificate, up to the limits specified in the policy 
or certificate. 

F. All benefits paid by the insurer while the policy or 
certificate is in premium paying status and in the paid up 
status will not exceed the maximum benefits which would be 
payable if the policy or certificate had remained in premium 
paying status. 

G. There shall be no difference in the minimum 
nonforfeiture benefits as required under this section for group 
and individual policies. 

H. Premiums charged for a policy or certificate containing 
nonforfeiture benefits or a contingent benefit on lapse shall be 
subject to the loss ratio requirements of 14VAC5-200-150 or 
14VAC5-200-153, whichever is applicable, treating the 
policy as a whole. 

I. To determine whether contingent nonforfeiture upon lapse 
provisions are triggered under subdivision D 3 or D 4 of this 
section, a replacing insurer that purchased or otherwise 
assumed a block or blocks of long-term care insurance 
policies from another insurer shall calculate the percentage 
increase based on the initial annual premium paid by the 
insured when the policy was first purchased from the original 
insurer. 

J. A nonforfeiture benefit for qualified long-term care 
insurance contracts that are level premium contracts shall be 
offered that meets the following requirements: 

1. The nonforfeiture provision shall be appropriately 
captioned; 

2. The nonforfeiture provision shall provide a benefit 
available in the event of a default in the payment of any 
premiums and shall state that the amount of the benefit 
may be adjusted subsequent to being initially granted only 
as necessary to reflect changes in claims, persistency and 
interest as reflected in changes in rates for premium paying 
contracts approved by the commission for the same 
contract form; and 

3. The nonforfeiture provision shall provide at least one of 
the following: 

a. Reduced paid-up insurance; 

b. Extended term insurance; 

c. Shortened benefit period; or 

d. Other similar offerings approved by the commission. 
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1119; Filed January 15, 2008, 8:46 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 
and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-22; adding 
18VAC85-20-226). 

18VAC85-40. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Respiratory Care Practitioners (amending 18VAC85-40-
35; adding 18VAC85-40-67). 

18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-50-35; adding 
18VAC85-50-61). 

18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 
Occupational Therapists (amending 18VAC85-80-26; 
adding 18VAC85-80-73). 

18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 
Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists-
Limited (amending 18VAC85-101-25; adding 18VAC85-
101-153). 

18VAC85-110. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Acupuncturists (amending 18VAC85-110-35; 
adding 18VAC85-110-161). 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2008.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 804-367-4621, FAX 
804-527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 881 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly, the 
Board of Medicine has established a restricted volunteer 
license.  This license allows temporarily or permanently 
retired health care practitioners to volunteer their services 
at free clinics throughout the Commonwealth without 
having to pay all fees and obtain all of the continuing 
education required for active licensure.  
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Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC85-20-22. Required fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 
shall not be refundable.  

B. All examination fees shall be determined by and made 
payable as designated by the board.  

C. The application fee for licensure in medicine, osteopathic 
medicine, and podiatry shall be $302, and the fee for 
licensure in chiropractic shall be $277.  

D. The fee for a temporary authorization to practice 
medicine pursuant to §54.1-2927 B (i) and (ii) of the Code of 
Virginia shall be $25.  

E. The application fee for a limited professorial or fellow 
license issued pursuant to 18VAC85-20-210 shall be $55. 
The annual renewal fee shall be $35. An additional fee for 
late renewal of licensure shall be $15.  

F. The application fee for a limited license to interns and 
residents pursuant to 18VAC85-20-220 shall be $55. The 
annual renewal fee shall be $35. An additional fee for late 
renewal of licensure shall be $15.  

G. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15; the 
fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.  

H. The fee for biennial renewal shall be $337 for licensure 
in medicine, osteopathic medicine and podiatry and $312 for 
licensure in chiropractic, due in each even-numbered year in 
the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for processing a 
late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be 
$115 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine and 
podiatry and $105 for licensure in chiropractic.  

I. The fee for requesting reinstatement of licensure or 
certification pursuant to §54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia 
or for requesting reinstatement after any petition to reinstate 
the certificate or license of any person has been denied shall 
be $2,000.  

J. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the Board 
of Medicine pursuant to §54.1-2904 of the Code of Virginia 
that has expired for a period of two years or more shall be 
$382 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine and 
podiatry and $367 for licensure in chiropractic in addition to 
the late fee for each year in which the license has been lapsed, 
not to exceed a total of four years. The fee shall be submitted 
with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

K. The fee for a letter of verification of licensure to another 
jurisdiction shall be $10, and the fee for certification of 
grades to another jurisdiction by the board shall be $25. Fees 
shall be due and payable upon submitting a request for 
verification or certification to the board.  

L. The fee for biennial renewal of an inactive license shall 
be $168, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee 
for late renewal of licensure shall be $55 for each renewal 
cycle.  

M. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of a 
restricted volunteer license shall be $75, due in the licensee's 
birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure 
shall be $25 for each renewal cycle.  

M. N. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

Part II  
Standards of Professional Conduct  

18VAC85-20-226. Restricted volunteer license. 

A. Any doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry 
or chiropractic who held an unrestricted license issued by the 
Virginia Board of Medicine or by a board in another state as a 
licensee in good standing at the time the license expired or 
became inactive may be issued a restricted volunteer license 
to practice without compensation in a clinic that is organized 
in whole or in part for the delivery of health care services 
without charge in accordance with §54.1-106 of the Code of 
Virginia.   

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, a doctor of 
medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry or chiropractic shall 
submit an application to the board that documents compliance 
with requirements of §54.1-2928.1 of the Code of Virginia 
and the application fee prescribed in 18VAC85-20-22. 

C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a 
restricted volunteer license shall renew biennially during his 
birth month, meet the continued competency requirements 
prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-20-22.   

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be 
required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first 
renewal of such a license.  For each renewal thereafter, the 
licensee shall attest to 30 hours obtained during the two years 
immediately preceding renewal with at least 15 hours of Type 
1 activities or courses offered by an accredited sponsor or 
organization sanctioned by the profession and no more than 
15 hours of Type 2 activities or courses. 

18VAC85-40-35. Fees.  

The following fees are required:  

1. The application fee, payable at the time the application 
is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 
$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 
payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 
birth month.  

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 
one renewal cycle shall be $50.  



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 4, 2008 

1405 
 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the 
Board of Medicine pursuant to §54.1-2904 of the Code of 
Virginia, which has lapsed for a period of two years or 
more, shall be $180 and must be submitted with an 
application for licensure reinstatement.  

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to §54.1-
2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

8. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 
another jurisdiction shall be $10; the fee for certification of 
grades to another jurisdiction shall be $25.  

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 
a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 
licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 
licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

Part II  
Requirements For Licensure As A Respiratory Care 

Practitioner  

18VAC85-40-67. Restricted volunteer license. 

A. A respiratory care practitioner who held an unrestricted 
license issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine or by a 
board in another state as a licensee in good standing at the 
time the license expired or became inactive may be issued a 
restricted volunteer license to practice without compensation 
in a clinic that is organized in whole or in part for the delivery 
of health care services without charge in accordance with 
§54.1-106 of the Code of Virginia.   

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, a respiratory 
care practitioner shall submit an application to the board that 
documents compliance with requirements of §54.1-2928.1 of 
the Code of Virginia and the application fee prescribed in 
18VAC85-40-35. 

C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a 
restricted volunteer license shall renew  biennially during his 
birth month, meet the continued competency requirements 
prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-40-35.   

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be 
required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first 
renewal of such a license.  For each renewal thereafter, the 
licensee shall attest to obtaining 10 hours of continuing 
education as approved and documented by a sponsor 
recognized by the AARC or in courses directly related to the 
practice of respiratory care as approved by the American 
Medical Association for Category 1 CME credit within the 
last biennium. 

Part IV  
Scope of Practice  

18VAC85-50-35. Fees.  

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 
refundable:  

1. The initial application fee for a license, payable at the 
time application is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The biennial fee for renewal of an active license shall be 
$135 and for renewal of an inactive license shall be $70, 
payable in each odd-numbered year in the birth month of 
the licensee.  

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 
one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. A restricted volunteer license shall expire 12 months 
from the date of issuance and may be renewed without 
charge by receipt of a renewal application that verifies that 
the physician assistant continues to comply with provisions 
of §54.1-2951.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

5. The fee for review and approval of a new protocol 
submitted following initial licensure shall be $15.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to §54.1-
2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

8. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

9. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 
another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

10. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 
a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 
licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 
licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

Part II  
Requirements for Practice as a Physician's Assistant  

18VAC85-50-61. Restricted volunteer license. 

A. A physician assistant who held an unrestricted license 
issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine or by a board in 
another state as a licensee in good standing at the time the 
license expired or became inactive may be issued a restricted 
volunteer license to practice without compensation in a clinic 
that is organized in whole or in part for the delivery of health 
care services without charge in accordance with §54.1-106 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, a physician 
assistant shall submit an application to the board that 
documents compliance with requirements of §54.1-2928.1 of 
the Code of Virginia and the application fee prescribed in 
18VAC85-50-35. 
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C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a 
restricted volunteer license shall renew biennially during his 
birth month, meet the continued competency requirements 
prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-50-35. 

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be 
required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first 
renewal of such a license.  For each renewal thereafter, the 
licensee shall attest to obtaining 50 hours of continuing 
education during the biennial renewal period with at least 25 
hours in Type 1 and no more than 25 hours in Type 2 as 
acceptable to the NCCPA. 

18VAC85-80-26. Fees.  

A. The following fees have been established by the board:  

1. The initial fee for the occupational therapist license shall 
be $130.  

2. The fee for reinstatement of the occupational therapist 
license that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be 
$180.  

3. The fee for active license renewal shall be $135 and for 
inactive license renewal shall be $70 and shall be due in 
the birth month of the licensed therapist in each even-
numbered year.  

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 
application within one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 
another state for a license shall be $10.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to §54.1-
2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 
a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 
licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 
licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 
shall not be refundable.  

Part II  
Requirements of Licensure as an Occupational Therapist  

18VAC85-80-73. Restricted volunteer license. 

A. An occupational therapist who held an unrestricted 
license issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine or by a 
board in another state as a licensee in good standing at the 
time the license expired or became inactive may be issued a 
restricted volunteer license to practice without compensation 
in a clinic that is organized in whole or in part for the delivery 

of health care services without charge in accordance with 
§54.1-106 of the Code of Virginia.   

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, an 
occupational therapist shall submit an application to the board 
that documents compliance with requirements of §54.1-
2928.1 of the Code of Virginia and the application fee 
prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26. 

C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a 
restricted volunteer license shall renew  biennially during his 
birth month, meet the continued competency requirements 
prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26. 

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be 
required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first 
renewal of such a license.  For each renewal thereafter, the 
licensee shall attest to obtaining 10 hours of continuing 
education during the biennial renewal period with at least five 
hours of Type 1 and no more than five hours of Type 2 as 
specified in 18VAC85-80-71. 

18VAC85-101-25. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable.  

B. Initial licensure fees.  

1. The application fee for radiologic technologist licensure 
shall be $130.  

2. The application fee for the radiologic technologist-
limited licensure shall be $90.  

3. All examination fees shall be determined by and made 
payable as designated by the board.  

C. Licensure renewal and reinstatement.  

1. The fee for active license renewal for a radiologic 
technologist shall be $135 and for a radiologic 
technologist-limited shall be $70. The fee for inactive 
license renewal for a radiologic technologist shall be $70 
and for a radiologic technologist-limited shall be $35.  

2. An additional fee of $50 for a radiologic technologist 
and $25 for a radiologic technologist-limited to cover 
administrative costs for processing a late renewal 
application within one renewal cycle shall be imposed by 
the board.  

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for 
a period of two years or more shall be $180 for a radiologic 
technologist and $120 for a radiologic technologist-limited 
and shall be submitted with an application for licensure 
reinstatement.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to §54.1-
2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

D. Other fees.  
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1. The application fee for a traineeship as a radiologic 
technologist shall be $25.  

2. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 
another state for licensure shall be $10; the fee for 
certification of grades to another jurisdiction shall be $25.  

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

4. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

5. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 
a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 
licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 
licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle.  

Part II  
Licensure Requirements - Radiologic Technologist  

18VAC85-101-153. Restricted volunteer license. 

A. A licensed radiologic technologist or a radiologic 
technologist-limited who held an unrestricted license issued 
by the Virginia Board of Medicine or by a board in another 
state as a licensee in good standing at the time the license 
expired or became inactive may be issued a restricted 
volunteer license to practice without compensation in a clinic 
that is organized in whole or in part for the delivery of health 
care services without charge in accordance with §54.1-106 of 
the Code of Virginia.   

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, a licensed 
radiologic technologist or a radiologic technologist-limited 
shall submit an application to the board that documents 
compliance with requirements of §54.1-2928.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and the application fee prescribed in 18VAC85-101-
25. 

C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a 
restricted volunteer license shall renew  biennially during his 
birth month, meet the continued competency requirements 
prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-101-25.   

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be 
required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first 
renewal of such a license.  For each renewal thereafter, a 
licensed radiologic technologist shall attest to having 
completed 12 hours of Category A continuing education as 
acceptable to and documented by the ARRT within the last 
biennium. A radiologic technologist-limited shall attest to 
having completed six hours of Category A continuing 
education within the last biennium that corresponds to the 
anatomical areas in which the limited licensee practices. 
Hours shall be acceptable to and documented by the ARRT or 
by any other entity approved by the board for limited 
licensees whose scope of practice is podiatry or bone 
densitometry.  

18VAC85-110-35. Fees.  

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 
refundable:  

1. The application fee for a license to practice as an 
acupuncturist shall be $130.  

2. The fee for biennial active license renewal shall be 
$135; the fee for biennial inactive license renewal shall be 
$70.  

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal within 
one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license which has expired 
for two or more years shall be $180.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification of a 
license to another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to §54.1-
2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

8. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5.  

9. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

10. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 
a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 
licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 
licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle.  

Part II  
Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC85-110-161. Restricted volunteer license. 

A. A licensed acupuncturist who held an unrestricted license 
issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine or by a board in 
another state as a licensee in good standing at the time the 
license expired or became inactive may be issued a restricted 
volunteer license to practice without compensation in a clinic 
that is organized in whole or in part for the delivery of health 
care services without charge in accordance with §54.1-106 of 
the Code of Virginia.   

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, a licensed 
acupuncturist shall submit an application to the board that 
documents compliance with requirements of §54.1-2928.1 of 
the Code of Virginia and the application fee prescribed in 
18VAC85-110-35. 

C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a 
restricted volunteer license shall renew  biennially during his 
birth month, meet the continued competency requirements 
prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-110-35.   

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be 
required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first 
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renewal of such a license.  For each renewal thereafter, the 
licensee shall attest to obtaining 20 hours of continuing 
education acceptable to the NCCAOM, obtained within the 
last biennium.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-337; Filed January 7, 2008, 9:32 a.m.  

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC135-20. Virginia Real Estate 
Board Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC135-20-
10, 18VAC135-20-30, 18VAC135-20-60, 18VAC135-20-
100, 18VAC135-20-105, 18VAC135-20-160, 18VAC135-
20-170, 18VAC135-20-180, 18VAC135-20-190, 
18VAC135-20-210, 18VAC135-20-220, 18VAC135-20-280, 
18VAC135-20-300, 18VAC135-20-360, 18VAC135-20-370, 
18VAC135-20-390; adding 18VAC135-20-101, 
18VAC135-20-345).  

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 
Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, or 
email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments bring the regulations into compliance 
with Chapter 998 of the 2003 Acts of Assembly and 
Chapter 61 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly. Chapter 998 
requires that real estate salespeople complete at least 30 
hours of continuing education within two years of initial 
licensure (before they renew their licenses for the first 
time) and that brokers complete at least 16 hours of 
continuing education before biannual license renewal. 
Chapter 61 mandates that successful applicants for 
licensure have at least a high school diploma or its 
equivalent. 

In addition, the amendments (i) require that salespersons 
licensed by reciprocity take the state portion of the real 
estate salesperson’s exam before biennial license renewal 
even if they have upgraded to a broker’s license in the 
interim; (ii) require principal brokers to report all 
instances where they reasonably believe that escrow 
accounts are being improperly maintained; (iii) require 
licensees who are selling a property in which they (or a 
friend, family member or associate) have an ownership 
interest, disclose that interest as soon as any substantive 
discussions about that property are held; (iv) allow the 
board to suspend, revoke or fail to renew all licenses held 
by an individual at once; (v) require that licensees who 
provide prelicensure training take a "Train the Trainer" 
course, specify that the experience required of these 

licensees must be consecutive and “immediately prior to 
application” for approval as an instructor; (vi) reduce the 
number of years of experience that nonlicensee subject 
area prelicensure instructors must have in their area of 
expertise from five years to three years; and (vii) reword 
language in the fees section so that nonrevoked licenses 
will be valid for two calendar years. 

The changes made to the proposed regulation (i) amend 
qualifications for renewal in the continuing education 
requirements, (ii) clarify language in improper brokerage 
commission, (iii) add language concerning submittal of 
course completion data to the board, and (iv) amend 
instructor qualifications. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC135-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 
unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 
by the context, shall have the following meanings: 

"Active" means any broker or salesperson who is under the 
supervision of a principal or supervising broker of a firm or 
sole proprietor and who is performing those activities defined 
in §§54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Actively engaged" means active licensure with a licensed 
real estate firm or sole proprietorship in performing those 
activities as defined in §§54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the 
Code of Virginia for an average of at least 40 hours per week. 
This requirement may be waived at the discretion of the board 
in accordance with §54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Actively engaged in the brokerage business" means anyone 
who holds an active real estate license. [ " ]  

"Associate broker" means any individual licensee of the 
board holding a broker's license other than one who has been 
designated as the principal broker. 

"Client" means a person who has entered into a brokerage 
relationship with a licensee as defined by §54.1-2130 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Firm" means any sole proprietorship (nonbroker owner), 
partnership, association, limited liability company, or 
corporation, other than a sole proprietorship (principal broker 
owner), which is required by 18VAC135-20-20 B to obtain a 
separate brokerage firm license. The firm's licensed name 
may be any assumed or fictitious name properly filed with the 
board. 

"Inactive status" refers to any broker or salesperson who is 
not under the supervision of a principal broker or supervising 
broker, who is not active with a firm or sole proprietorship 
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and who is not performing any of the activities defined in 
§§54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Independent contractor" means a licensee who acts for or 
represents a client other than as a standard agent and whose 
duties and obligations are governed by a written contract 
between the licensee and the client. 

"Licensee" means real estate brokers and salespersons as 
defined in Chapter 21 (§54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Principal broker" means the individual broker who shall be 
designated by each firm to assure compliance with Chapter 21 
(§54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, and 
this chapter, and to receive communications and notices from 
the board which may affect the firm or any licensee active 
with the firm. In the case of a sole proprietorship, the licensed 
broker who is the sole proprietor shall have the 
responsibilities of the principal broker. The principal broker 
shall have responsibility for the activities of the firm and all 
its licensees. 

"Principal to a transaction" means a party to a real estate 
transaction including without limitation a seller or buyer, 
landlord or tenant, optionor or optionee, licensor or licensee. 
For the purposes of this chapter, the listing or selling broker, 
or both, are not by virtue of their brokerage relationship, 
principals to the transaction. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 
who is trading under the individual's name, or under an 
assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of 
Chapter 5 (§59.1-69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Standard agent" means a licensee who acts for or represents 
a client in an agency relationship. A standard agent shall have 
the obligations as provided in Article 3 (§54.1-2130 et seq.) 
of Chapter 21 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervising broker" means (i) the individual broker who 
shall be designated by the principal broker to supervise the 
provision of real estate brokerage services by the associate 
brokers and salespersons assigned to branch offices or (ii) the 
broker, who may be the principal broker, designated by the 
principal broker to supervise a designated agent as stated in 
§54.1-2130 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part II  
Entry  

18VAC135-20-30. Qualifications for licensure. 

Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for an individual 
salesperson's or broker's license shall have the following 
qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty, 
truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact 

the business of a real estate broker or a real estate 
salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests 
of the public.  

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational 
requirements by achieving a passing grade in all required 
courses of §54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia prior to the 
time the applicant sits for the licensing examination and 
applies for licensure.  

3. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed real 
estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction where 
licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license as a 
real estate broker or real estate salesperson which was 
suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection with a 
disciplinary action or which has been the subject of 
discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 
in Virginia.  

4. The applicant shall not have been convicted or found 
guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor 
involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution 
or physical injury, or any felony, there being no appeal 
pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. 
Review of prior criminal convictions shall be subject to the 
requirements of §54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Neither 
shall the applicant have been found to have violated the 
fair housing laws of any jurisdiction. Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of 
this subdivision. The record of a conviction authenticated 
in such form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws 
of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as 
prima facie evidence of such conviction or guilt. In 
accordance with §54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each 
applicant shall disclose the following information: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 
turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical 
injury within five years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions during his lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of 
a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as 
prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 
The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 
applicant in accordance with §54.1-204 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old. 

6. The applicant shall have a high school diploma or its 
equivalent. 

6. 7. The applicant, within 12 months prior to making 
complete application for a license, shall have passed a 
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written examination provided by the board or by a testing 
service acting on behalf of the board. 

7. 8. The applicant shall follow all procedures established 
with regard to conduct at the examination. Failure to 
comply with all procedures established with regard to 
conduct at the examination may be grounds for denial of 
application. 

8. 9. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 
requirements set forth in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this 
section may be approved for licensure following 
consideration by the board in accordance with §54.1-204 
of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC135-20-60. Qualifications for licensure by 
reciprocity. 

An individual who is currently licensed as a real estate 
salesperson or broker in another jurisdiction may obtain a 
Virginia real estate license by meeting the following 
requirements: 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age. 

2. The applicant shall have a high school diploma or its 
equivalent. 

2. 3. The applicant shall have received the salesperson's or 
broker's license by virtue of having passed in the 
jurisdiction of licensure a written examination deemed to 
be substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination.  

3. 4. The applicant shall sign a statement verifying that he 
has read and understands the provisions of this chapter and 
Chapter 21 (§54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

4. 5. The applicant shall follow all procedures established 
with regard to conduct at the examination. Failure to 
comply with all procedures established by the board with 
regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 
denial of application. 

5. 6. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 
real estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction where 
licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license as a 
real estate broker or real estate salesperson which was 
suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a 
disciplinary action or which has been the subject of 
discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 
in Virginia. 

6. 7. At the time of application for a salesperson's license, 
the applicant must have been actively engaged as defined 
by 18VAC135-20-10 for 12 of the preceding 36 months or 
have met educational requirements that are substantially 
equivalent to those required in Virginia. At the time of 
application for a broker's license, the applicant must have 
been actively engaged as defined by 18VAC135-20-10 for 
36 of the preceding 48 months. These requirements may be 

waived at the discretion of the board in accordance with 
§54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia. 

7. 8. The applicant shall have a good reputation for 
honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to 
transact the business of a real estate salesperson or broker 
in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the public. 

8. The applicant shall not have been convicted or found 
guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor 
involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution 
or physical injury, or any felony there being no appeal 
pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. 
Review of prior criminal convictions shall be subject to the 
requirements of §54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Neither 
shall the applicant have been found to have violated the 
fair housing laws of any jurisdiction. Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of 
this subdivision. The record of a conviction authenticated 
in such form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws 
of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as 
prima facie evidence of such conviction or guilt. 

9. In accordance with §54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall disclose the following information: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 
turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical 
injury within five years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions during his lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 
conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt.  The 
board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 
applicant in accordance with §54.1-204 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

9.10. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 
requirements set forth in subdivisions 5 6 and 8 9 of this 
subsection may be approved for licensure following 
consideration by the board in accordance with §54.1-204 
of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC135-20-100. Qualification for renewal; continuing 
education requirements.  

[ As Effective until June 30, 2008, as ] a condition of 
renewal, and pursuant to §54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia, 
all active brokers and salespersons, resident or nonresident, 
except those called to active duty in the Armed Forces of the 
United States, shall be required to satisfactorily complete a 
course or courses of not less than a total of eight 16 
classroom, correspondence, or other distance learning 
instruction hours during each licensing term, except for 
salespersons who are renewing for the first time and are 
required to complete 30 hours of postlicense education 
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regardless of whether his license is active or inactive. Active 
licensees called to active duty in the Armed Forces of the 
United States may complete these courses within six months 
of their release from active duty. Inactive brokers and 
salespersons are not required to complete the continuing 
education course as a condition of renewal (see 18VAC135-
20-70, Activation of license). 

1. Providers shall be those as defined in 18VAC135-20-
350. 

2. Four Eight of the eight 16 required hours shall include 
two hours of training in fair housing laws, and a minimum 
of one hour each in state real estate laws and regulations, 
and ethics and standards of conduct, agency and contracts [ 
for brokers. Eight of the 16 required hours shall include 
two hours of training in fair housing laws, three hours in 
ethics and standards of conduct and a minimum of one 
hour each in state real estate laws and regulations, agency, 
and contracts for salespersons ]. If the licensee submits a 
notarized affidavit to the board which certifies that he does 
not practice residential real estate brokerage, residential 
management or residential leasing and shall not do so 
during the licensing term, training in fair housing shall not 
be required; instead such licensee shall receive training in 
other applicable federal and state discrimination laws and 
regulations. The remaining hours shall be on subjects from 
the following list: 

a. Property rights; 

b. Contracts; 

c. Deeds; 

d. Mortgages and deeds of trust; 

e. Types of mortgages; 

f. Leases; 

g. Liens; 

h. Real property and title insurance; 

i. Investment; 

j. Taxes in real estate; 

k. Real estate financing; 

l. Brokerage and agency contract responsibilities; 

m. Real property management; 

n. Search, examination and registration of title; 

o. Title closing; 

p. Appraisal of real property; 

q. Planning subdivision developments and 
condominiums; 

r. Regulatory statutes; 

s. Housing legislation; 

t. Fair housing; 

u. Real Estate Board regulations; 

v. Land use; 

w. Business law; 

x. Real estate economics; 

y. Real estate investments; 

z. Federal real estate law; 

aa. Commercial real estate; 

bb. Americans With Disabilities Act; 

cc. Environmental issues impacting real estate; 

dd. Building codes and design; 

ee. Local laws and zoning; 

ff. Escrow requirements; 

gg. Ethics and standards of conduct; and 

hh. Common interest ownership. 

3. Licensees holding licenses in other jurisdictions must 
complete four eight hours [ , ] which shall include fair 
housing laws, state real estate laws and regulations and, 
ethics and standards of conduct, agency and contracts and 
may substitute education completed in their jurisdiction for 
the remaining hours required by subdivision 2 of this 
subsection. 

4. The board may approve additional subjects at its 
discretion and in accordance with §54.1-2105 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

5. Credit for continuing education course completion is 
given for each class hour/clock hour as defined in 
18VAC135-20-350. 

6. Licensees are responsible for retaining for three years 
and providing proof of continuing education. Proof of 
course completion shall be made on a form prescribed by 
the board. Failure to provide course documentation of 
completion certification as directed by the board will result 
in the license not being renewed and/or disciplinary action 
pursuant to this chapter. 

7. Instructors who are also licensees of the board may earn 
continuing education credit for teaching continuing 
education courses. 
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[ 18VAC135-20-101. Qualification for renewal; continuing 
education requirements. 

Effective July 1, 2008, as a condition of renewal, and 
pursuant to §54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia, all active 
salespersons, resident or nonresident, except those called to 
active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States, shall be 
required to satisfactorily complete a course or courses of not 
less than a total of 16 classroom, correspondence, or other 
distance learning instruction hours during each licensing 
term, except for salespersons who are renewing for the first 
time and are required to complete 30 hours of post-license 
education regardless of whether his license is active or 
inactive. All active brokers, resident or nonresident, except 
those called to active duty in the Armed Forces of the United 
States, shall be required to satisfactorily complete a course or 
courses of not less than a total of 24 classroom, 
correspondence, or other distance learning instruction hours 
during each licensing term. Active licensees called to active 
duty in the Armed Forces of the United States may complete 
these courses within six months of their release from active 
duty. Inactive brokers and salespersons are not required to 
complete the continuing education course as a condition of 
renewal (see 18VAC135-20-70, Activation of license). 

1. Providers shall be those as defined in 18VAC135-20-
350; 

2. For salespersons, eight of the required 16 hours shall 
include two hours of training in fair housing laws, three 
hours in ethics and standards of conduct and a minimum of 
one hour each in state real estate laws and regulations, 
agency and contracts. For brokers, 16 of the 24 required 
hours shall include eight hours in supervision and 
management of real estate agents and the management of 
real estate brokerage firms, two hours of training in fair 
housing laws, three hours in ethics and standards of 
conduct and a minimum of one hour each in state real 
estate laws and regulations, agency and contracts. If the 
licensee submits a notarized affidavit to the board that 
certifies that he does not practice residential real estate 
brokerage, residential management or residential leasing 
and shall not do so during the licensing term, training in 
fair housing shall not be required; instead such licensee 
shall receive training in other applicable federal and state 
discrimination laws and regulations. The remaining hours 
shall be on subjects from the following list: 

a. Property rights; 

b. Contracts; 

c. Deeds; 

d. Mortgages and deeds of trust; 

e. Types of mortgages; 

f. Leases; 

g. Liens; 

h. Real property and title insurance; 

i. Investment; 

j. Taxes in real estate; 

k. Real estate financing; 

l. Brokerage and agency contract responsibilities; 

m. Real property management; 

n. Search, examination and registration of title; 

o. Title closing; 

p. Appraisal of real property; 

q. Planning subdivision developments and 
condominiums; 

r. Regulatory statutes; 

s. Housing legislation; 

t. Fair housing; 

u. Real Estate Board regulations; 

v. Land use; 

w. Business law; 

x. Real estate economics; 

y. Real estate investments; 

z. Federal real estate law; 

aa. Commercial real estate; 

bb. Americans With Disabilities Act; 

cc. Environmental issues impacting real estate; 

dd. Building codes and design;  

ee. Local laws and zoning; 

ff. Escrow requirements;  

gg. Ethics and standards of conduct; and 

hh. Common interest ownership. 

3. Salespersons holding licenses in other jurisdictions must 
complete eight hours, which shall include fair housing 
laws, state real estate laws and regulations, ethics and 
standards of conduct, agency and contracts and may 
substitute education completed in their jurisdiction for the 
remaining hours required by subdivision 2 of this 
subsection. Brokers holding licenses in other jurisdictions 
must complete 16 hours that shall include supervision and 
management of real estate agents and the management of 
real estate brokerage firms, fair housing laws, state real 
estate laws and regulations, ethics and standards of 
conduct, agency and contracts and may substitute 
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education completed in their jurisdiction for the remaining 
hours required by subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

4. The board may approve additional subjects at its 
discretion and in accordance with §54.1-2105 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

5. Credit for continuing education course completion is 
given for each class hour/clock hour as defined in 
18VAC135-20-350. 

6. Licensees are responsible for retaining for three years 
and providing proof of continuing education. Proof of 
course completion shall be made on a form prescribed by 
the board. Failure to provide documentation of completion 
as directed by the board will result in the license not being 
renewed and/or disciplinary action pursuant to this chapter. 

7. Instructors who are also licensees of the board may earn 
continuing education credit for teaching continuing 
education courses. ]  

18VAC135-20-105. Additional qualifications for renewal 
of a reciprocal license.  

In addition to the requirements set forth in 18VAC135-20-
100, all licensees, including those licensees who upgrade to 
broker prior to renewal, who obtained their license by 
reciprocity in accordance with 18VAC135-20-60 must pass a 
written examination provided by the board or a testing service 
acting on behalf of the board covering Virginia real estate 
license law and regulations of the Real Estate Board. 

18VAC135-20-160. Place of business.  

A. Within the meaning and intent of §54.1-2110 of the Code 
of Virginia, a place of business shall be an office where:  

1. The principal broker, either through his own efforts or 
through the efforts of his employees or associates, 
regularly transacts the business of a real estate broker as 
defined in §54.1-2100 of the Code of Virginia; and  

2. The principal broker and his employees or associates can 
receive business calls and direct business calls to be made.  

B. No place of business shall be in a residence unless it is 
separate and distinct from the living quarters of the residence 
and is accessible by the public.  

C. Every principal broker shall have readily available to the 
public in the main place of business the firm license, the 
principal broker license and the license of every salesperson 
and broker active with the firm. The branch office license and 
a roster of every salesperson or broker assigned to the branch 
office shall be available to the public posted in a conspicuous 
place in each branch office. 

D. Each place of business and each branch office shall be 
supervised by a supervising broker. The supervising broker 
shall exercise reasonable and adequate supervision of the 

provision of real estate brokerage services by associate 
brokers and salespersons assigned to the branch office. The 
supervising broker may designate another broker to assist in 
administering the provisions of this subsection.  The 
supervising broker does not relinquish overall responsibility 
for the supervision of the acts of all licensees assigned to the 
branch office.  Factors to be considered in determining 
whether the supervision is reasonable and adequate include, 
but are not limited to, the following:  

1. The availability of the supervising broker to all licensees 
under the supervision of the broker to review and discuss 
contract provisions, approve all documents including but 
not limited to leases, contracts affecting the firm's clients, 
brokerage agreement provisions agreements and 
advertising;  

2. The availability of training and written procedures and 
policies which provide, without limitation, clear guidance 
in the following areas:  

a. Proper handling of escrow deposits;  

b. Compliance with federal and state fair housing laws 
and regulations if the firm engages in residential 
brokerage, residential leasing, or residential property 
management;  

c. Advertising;  

d. Negotiating and drafting of contracts, leases and 
brokerage agreements;  

e. Use of unlicensed individuals;  

f. Agency relationships;  

g. Distribution of information on new or changed 
statutory or regulatory requirements;  

h. Disclosure of matters relating to the condition of the 
property.  

i. Such other matters as necessary to assure the 
competence of licensees to comply with this chapter and 
Chapter 21 (§54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

3. The availability of the supervising broker in a timely 
manner to supervise the management of the brokerage 
services; 

4. The supervising broker ensures the brokerage services 
are carried out competently and in accordance with the 
provisions of this chapter and Chapter 21 (§54.1-2100 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

5. The supervising broker undertakes reasonable steps to 
ensure compliance by all licensees assigned to the branch 
office; 
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6. If a supervising broker is located more than 50 miles 
from the branch office and there are licensees who 
regularly conduct business assigned to the branch office, 
the supervising broker must certify in writing on a 
quarterly basis on a form provided by the board that the 
supervising broker complied with the requirements in this 
subsection; and 

7. The supervising broker must maintain the records 
required in this subsection for three years.  The records 
must be furnished to the board’s agent upon request. 

18VAC135-20-170. Maintenance of licenses. 

A. Name and address. 

1. Salespersons and individual brokers shall at all times 
keep the board informed of their current name and home 
address. Changes of name and address must be reported to 
the board in writing within 30 calendar days of such 
change. The board shall not be responsible for the 
licensee's failure to receive notices, communications and 
correspondence caused by the licensee's failure to promptly 
notify the board of any change of address. A licensee may 
use a professional name other than a legal name if that 
professional name is filed with the board prior to its use. 
The professional name shall include the licensee’s first or 
last name and shall not include any titles. 

2. Salespersons and brokers shall be issued a license only 
to the place of business of the sole proprietorship or firm 
with which the salesperson or broker is active. 

3. Principal brokers must at all times keep the board 
informed of their current firm and branch office name and 
addresses and changes of name and address must be 
reported to the board in writing within 30 calendar days of 
such change. A physical address is required. A post office 
box will not be accepted. 

B. Discharge or termination of active status. 

1. When any salesperson or broker is discharged or in any 
way terminates his active status with a sole proprietorship 
or firm, it shall be the duty of the sole proprietor or 
principal broker to return the license by certified mail to 
the board so that it is received within 10 calendar days of 
the date of termination or status change. The sole 
proprietor or principal broker shall indicate on the license 
the date of termination, and shall sign the license before 
returning it. 

2. When any principal broker is discharged or in any way 
terminates his active status with a firm, it shall be the duty 
of the firm to notify the board and return the license by 
certified mail to the board within three business days of 
termination or status change. The firm shall indicate on the 
license the date of termination, and shall sign the license 
before returning it. See §54.1-2109 of the Code of Virginia 

for termination relating to the death or disability of the 
principal broker. 

18VAC135-20-180. Maintenance and management of 
escrow accounts. 

A. Maintenance of escrow accounts. 

1. If money is to be held in escrow, each firm or sole 
proprietorship shall maintain in the name by which it is 
licensed one or more federally insured separate escrow 
accounts in a federally insured depository in Virginia into 
which all down payments, earnest money deposits, money 
received upon final settlement, rental payments, rental 
security deposits, money advanced by a buyer or seller for 
the payment of expenses in connection with the closing of 
real estate transactions, money advanced by the broker's 
client or expended on behalf of the client, or other escrow 
funds received by him or his associates on behalf of his 
client or any other person shall be deposited unless all 
principals to the transaction have agreed otherwise in 
writing. The balance in the escrow accounts shall be 
sufficient at all times to account for all funds that are 
designated to be held by the firm or sole proprietorship. 
The principal broker shall be held responsible for these 
accounts. The supervising broker and any other licensee 
with escrow account authority may be held responsible for 
these accounts. All such accounts, checks and bank 
statements shall be labeled "escrow" and the account(s) 
shall be designated as "escrow" accounts with the financial 
institution where such accounts are established.  

2. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may 
include moneys which shall ultimately belong to the 
licensee, but such moneys shall be separately identified in 
the escrow account records and shall be paid to the firm by 
a check drawn on the escrow account when the funds 
become due to the licensee. Funds in an escrow account 
shall not be paid directly to the licensees of the firm. The 
fact that an escrow account contains money which may 
ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute 
"commingling of funds" as set forth by subdivision C 2 of 
this section, provided that there are periodic withdrawals of 
said funds at intervals of not more than six months, and 
that the licensee can at all times accurately identify the 
total funds in that account which belong to the licensee and 
the firm.  

3. If escrow funds are used to purchase a certificate of 
deposit, the pledging or hypothecation of such certificate, 
or the absence of the original certificate from the direct 
control of the principal or supervising broker, shall 
constitute commingling as prohibited by subdivision C 2 of 
this section.  

B. Disbursement of funds from escrow accounts.  

1. a. Purchase transactions. Upon the ratification of a 
contract, earnest money deposits and down payments 
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received by the principal broker or supervising broker or 
his associates must be placed in an escrow account by the 
end of the fifth business banking day following ratification, 
unless otherwise agreed to in writing by the parties to the 
transaction, and shall remain in that account until the 
transaction has been consummated or terminated. In the 
event the transaction is not consummated 
(nonconsummation), the principal broker or supervising 
broker shall hold such funds in escrow until (i) all 
principals to the transaction have agreed in writing as to 
their disposition, or (ii) a court of competent jurisdiction 
orders such disbursement of the funds, or (iii) the broker 
can pay the funds to the principal to the transaction who is 
entitled to receive them in accordance with the clear and 
explicit terms of the contract which established the deposit. 
In the latter event, prior to disbursement, the broker shall 
give written notice to the principal to the transaction not to 
receive the deposit by either (i) hand delivery receipted for 
by the addressee, or (ii) by certified mail return receipt 
requested, with a copy to the other party, that this payment 
will be made unless a written protest from that principal to 
the transaction is received by the broker within 30 days of 
the hand delivery or mailing, as appropriate, of that notice. 
If the notice is sent within 90 days of the date of 
nonconsummation, the broker may send the notice by 
receiptable email or facsimile if such email address or 
facsimile information is set forth in the contract or 
otherwise provided by the recipient. In all events, the 
broker may send the notice to the notice address, if any, set 
forth in the contract. If the contract does not contain a 
notice address and the broker does not have another 
address for the recipient of the notice, the broker may send 
it to the last known address of the recipient. No broker 
shall be required to make a determination as to the party 
entitled to receive the earnest money deposit. The broker 
shall not be deemed to violate any obligation to any client 
by virtue of making such a determination. A broker who 
has carried out the above procedure shall be construed to 
have fulfilled the requirements of this chapter.  

b. Lease transactions: security deposits. Any security 
deposit held by a firm or sole proprietorship shall be 
placed in an escrow account by the end of the fifth 
business banking day following receipt, unless otherwise 
agreed to in writing by the principals to the transaction. 
Each such security deposit shall be treated in accordance 
with the security deposit provisions of the Virginia 
Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, Chapter 13.2 (§55-
248.2 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia, unless 
exempted therefrom, in which case the terms of the lease 
or other applicable law shall control. Notwithstanding 
anything in this section to the contrary, unless the 
landlord has otherwise become entitled to receive the 
security deposit or a portion thereof, the security deposit 

shall not be removed from an escrow account required by 
the lease without the written consent of the tenant. 

c. Lease transactions: rents or escrow fund advances. 
Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to 
the transaction, all rents and other money paid to the 
licensee in connection with the lease shall be placed in an 
escrow account by the end of the fifth business banking 
day following receipt, unless otherwise agreed to in 
writing by the principals to the transaction, and remain in 
that account until paid in accordance with the terms of 
the lease and the property management agreement, as 
applicable.  

2. a. Purchase transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in 
writing by all principals to the transaction, a licensee shall 
not be entitled to any part of the earnest money deposit or 
to any other money paid to the licensee in connection with 
any real estate transaction as part of the licensee's 
commission until the transaction has been consummated.  

b. Lease transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in writing 
by the principals to the lease or property management 
agreement, as applicable, a licensee shall not be entitled 
to any part of the security deposit or to any other money 
paid to the licensee in connection with any real estate 
lease as part of the licensee's commission except in 
accordance with the terms of the lease or the property 
management agreement, as applicable. Notwithstanding 
anything in this section to the contrary, unless the 
landlord has otherwise become entitled to receive the 
security deposit or a portion thereof, the security deposit 
shall not be removed from an escrow account required by 
the lease without the written consent of the tenant.  

3. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written 
disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of 
contract or lease writing shall be made to the principals to 
the transaction regarding the disbursement of interest.  

4. A licensee shall not disburse or cause to be disbursed 
moneys from an escrow or property management escrow 
account unless sufficient money is on deposit in that 
account to the credit of the individual client or property 
involved.  

5. Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to 
the transaction, expenses incidental to closing a 
transaction, e.g., fees for appraisal, insurance, credit report, 
etc., shall not be deducted from a deposit or down 
payment.  

C. Actions including improper maintenance of escrow funds 
include:  

1. Accepting any note, nonnegotiable instrument, or 
anything of value not readily negotiable, as a deposit on a 
contract, offer to purchase, or lease, without 
acknowledging its acceptance in the agreement;  
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2. Commingling the funds of any person by a principal or 
supervising broker or his employees or associates or any 
licensee with his own funds, or those of his corporation, 
firm, or association;  

3. Failure to deposit escrow funds in an account or 
accounts designated to receive only such funds as required 
by subdivision A 1 of this section;  

4. Failure to have sufficient balances in an escrow account 
or accounts at all times for all funds that are designated to 
be held by the firm or sole proprietorship as required by 
this chapter; and  

5. Failure Failing, as principal broker, to report to the 
board within three business days instances where the 
principal broker reasonably believes the improper conduct 
of a licensee has caused noncompliance with subdivision 4 
of this subsection this section. 

18VAC135-20-190. Advertising by licensees. 

A. Definitions. The following definitions apply unless a 
different meaning is plainly required by the context:  

"Advertising" means all forms of representation, promotion 
and solicitation disseminated in any manner and by any 
means of communication to consumers for any purpose 
related to licensed real estate activity.  

"Disclosure" in the context of online advertising means (i) 
advertising that contains the firm's licensed name, the city and 
state in which the firm's main office is located and the 
jurisdiction in which the firm holds a license or (ii) 
advertising that contains the licensee name, the name of the 
firm with which the licensee is active, the city and state in 
which the licensee's office is located and the jurisdiction in 
which the licensee holds a license. "Disclosure" in the context 
of other advertising means (a) advertising by the firm that 
contains the firm's licensed name and the firm's address or (b) 
advertising by an affiliated licensee that contains the 
licensee's name, the name of the firm with which the licensee 
is active and the firm's address.  

"Institutional advertising" means advertising in which no 
real property is identified.  

"Viewable page" means a page that may or may not scroll 
beyond the borders of the screen and includes the use of 
framed pages.  

B. All advertising must be under the direct supervision of 
the principal broker or supervising broker and, in the name of 
the firm and [ , when applicable, ] comply with the disclosure 
required by §54.1-2138.1 of the Code of Virginia. The firm's 
licensed name must be clearly and legibly displayed on all 
advertising. 

C. Online advertising.  

1. Any online advertising undertaken for the purpose of 
any licensed activity is subject to the provisions of this 
chapter.  

2. All online advertising that can be viewed or experienced 
as a separate unit (i.e., e-mail messages and web pages) 
must contain disclosure as follows:  

a. The web. If a firm or licensee owns a webpage or 
controls its content, the viewable page must include 
disclosure or a link to disclosure.  

b. E-mail, newsgroups, discussion lists, bulletin boards. 
All such formats shall include disclosure at the beginning 
or end of each message. The provisions of this subsection 
do not apply to correspondence in the ordinary course of 
business.  

c. Instant messages. Disclosure is not necessary in this 
format if the firm or licensee provided the disclosures via 
another format prior to providing, or offering to provide, 
licensed services.  

d. Chat Chat/Internet-based dialogue. Disclosure is 
required prior to providing, or offering to provide, 
licensable services during the chat session, or in text 
visible on the same webpage that contains the chat 
session if the licensee controls the website hosting the 
chat session.  

e. Voice Over Net (VON). Disclosure is required prior to 
advertising or the disclosure text must be visible on the 
same webpage that contains the VON session.  

f. Banner ads. A link to disclosure is required unless the 
banner ad contains the disclosure.  

3. All online listings advertised must be kept current and 
consistent as follows: 

a. Online listing information must be consistent with the 
property description and actual status of the listing. The 
licensee shall update in a timely manner material changes 
to the listing status authorized by the seller or property 
description when the licensee controls the online site. 

b. The licensee shall make timely written requests for 
updates reflecting material changes to the listing status or 
property descriptions when a third party online listing 
service controls the website displaying the listing 
information. 

c. All listing information shall indicate in a readily 
visible manner the date that the listing information shown 
was last updated.  

D. The following activities shall be prohibited:  

1. Implying that property listed by a licensee's firm and 
advertised by the firm or licensee is for sale, exchange, rent 
or lease by the owner or by an unlicensed person;  
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2. Failing to include a notice in all advertising that the 
owner is a real estate licensee if the licensee owns or has 
any ownership interest in the property advertised and is not 
using the services of a licensed real estate entity;  

3. Failing to include the firm's licensed name on any sign 
displayed outside each place of business;  

4. Failing to obtain the written consent of the seller, 
landlord, optionor or licensor prior to advertising a specific 
identifiable property; and  

5. Failing to identify the type of services offered when 
advertising by general description a property not listed by 
the party making the advertisement.  

18VAC135-20-210. Disclosure of interest. 

A. If a licensee knows or should have known that he, any 
member of his family, his firm, any member of his firm, or 
any entity in which he has an ownership interest, is acquiring 
or attempting to acquire or is selling or leasing real property 
through purchase, sale or lease and the licensee is a party to 
the transaction, the licensee must disclose that information to 
the owner, purchaser or lessee in writing in the offer to 
purchase, the application, the offer to lease or lease. This 
disclosure shall be made to the purchaser, seller or lessee 
upon having substantive discussions about specific real 
property. 

B. A licensee selling or leasing property in which he has any 
ownership interest must disclose that he is a real estate 
licensee and he has an interest in the property to any 
purchaser or lessee in the written offer to purchase, the 
application, the offer to lease, or the lease, whichever occurs 
first. 

18VAC135-20-220. Disclosure of brokerage relationships.  

A. Purchase transactions. 

1. Unless disclosure has been previously made by a 
licensee, a licensee shall disclose to an actual or 
prospective buyer or seller who is not the client of the 
licensee and who is not represented by another licensee 
and with whom the licensee has substantive discussions 
about a specific property or properties, the person whom 
the licensee represents in a brokerage relationship, as that 
term is defined in §54.1-2130 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection, such disclosure shall be made in writing at the 
earliest practical time, but in no event later than the time 
specific real estate assistance is first provided. Any 
disclosure complying with the provisions of §54.1-2138 A 
of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed in compliance 
with this disclosure requirement. 

3. A licensee acting as a dual or designated representative 
shall obtain the written consent of all clients to the 

transaction at the earliest practical time. Such consent shall 
be presumed to have been given by a client who signs a 
disclosure complying with the provisions of §54.1-2139 of 
the Code of Virginia. Such disclosure shall be given to, and 
consent obtained from, (i) the buyer not later than the time 
an offer to purchase is presented to the licensee who will 
present the offer to the listing agent or seller, and (ii) the 
seller not later than the time the offer to purchase is 
presented to the seller. 

4. Any disclosure required by this subsection may be given 
in combination with other disclosures or information, but, 
if so, the disclosure must be conspicuous, printed in bold 
lettering, all capitals, underlined, or within a separate box 
or as otherwise provided by §54.1-2138 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. Lease transactions. 

1. Unless disclosure has been previously made by a 
licensee, a licensee shall disclose to an actual or 
prospective landlord or tenant who is not the client of the 
licensee and who is not represented by another licensee, 
that the licensee has a brokerage relationship with another 
party or parties to the transaction. Such disclosure shall be 
in writing and included in the application for lease or the 
lease itself, whichever occurs first. If the terms of the lease 
do not provide for such disclosure, the disclosure shall be 
made in writing not later than the signing of the lease. 

2. This disclosure requirement shall not apply to lessors or 
lessees in single or multi-family residential units for lease 
terms of less than three two months. 

[ 18VAC135-20-280. Improper brokerage commission. 

Actions resulting in an improper brokerage commission 
include:  

1. Offering to pay or paying a commission or other 
valuable consideration to any person for acts or services 
performed in violation of Chapter 21 (§54.1-2100 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or this chapter; 
provided, however, that referral fees and shared 
commissions may be paid to any real estate entity licensed 
in this or another jurisdiction, or to any referral entity in 
the United States, the members of which are brokers 
licensed in this or another jurisdiction and which only 
disburses commissions or referral fees to its licensed 
member brokers;  

2. Accepting a commission or other valuable consideration, 
as a real estate salesperson or associate broker, from any 
person except the licensee's principal broker at the time of 
the transaction, for (i)  the performance of any of the acts 
specified in Chapter 21 (§54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 
of the Code of Virginia or the regulations of the board or 
related to any real estate transaction, without the consent of 
that broker; or (ii) the. Unless he has notified the broker in 
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writing of the activity or activites to be pursued and 
obtained the prior written consent of the principal broker, 
no salesperson or associate broker shall (i) use of any 
information about the property, the transaction or the 
parties to the transaction, gained as a result of the 
performance of acts specified in Chapter 21 (§54.1-2100 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia without the 
written consent of the principal broker. No licensee shall or 
(ii) act as an employee of a company providing real estate 
settlement services as defined in the Real Estate Settlement 
Procedures Act (12 USC §2601 et seq.) or pursuant to a 
license issued by the Commonwealth of Virginia to 
provide real estate settlement services to clients or 
customers of the firm without written consent of the 
broker; 

3. Receiving a fee or portion thereof including a referral 
fee or a commission or other valuable consideration for 
services required by the terms of the real estate contract 
when such costs are to be paid by either one or more 
principals to the transaction unless such fact is revealed in 
writing to the principal(s) prior to the time of ordering or 
contracting for the services;  

4. Offering or paying any money or other valuable 
consideration for services required by the terms of the real 
estate contract to any party other than the principals to a 
transaction which results in a fee being paid to the licensee; 
without such fact being revealed in writing to the 
principal(s) prior to the time of ordering or contracting for 
the services;  

5. Making a listing contract or lease which provides for a 
"net" return to the seller/lessor, leaving the licensee free to 
sell or lease the property at any price he can obtain in 
excess of the "net" price named by the seller/lessor; and  

6. Charging money or other valuable consideration to or 
accepting or receiving money or other valuable 
consideration from any person or entity other than the 
licensee's client for expenditures made on behalf of that 
client without the written consent of the client. ] 

18VAC135-20-300. Misrepresentation/omission.  

Actions constituting misrepresentation or omission, or both, 
include:  

1. Using "bait and switch" tactics by advertising or offering 
real property for sale or rent with the intent not to sell or 
rent at the price or terms advertised, unless the 
advertisement or offer clearly states that the property 
advertised is limited in specific quantity and the licensee 
did in fact have at least that quantity for sale or rent;  

2. Failure by a licensee representing a seller or landlord as 
a standard agent to disclose in a timely manner to a 
prospective purchaser or tenant all material adverse facts 

pertaining to the physical condition of the property which 
are actually known by the licensee;  

3. Failing as a licensee to tender promptly to the buyer and 
seller every written offer, every written counteroffer, and 
every written rejection to purchase, option or lease 
obtained on the property involved;  

4. Failure by a licensee acting as a standard agent to 
disclose in a timely manner to the licensee's client all 
material facts related to the property or concerning the 
transaction when the failure to so disclose would constitute 
failure by the licensee to exercise ordinary care as defined 
in the brokerage agreement;  

5. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 4 of this 
section, a licensee acting as a dual representative shall not 
disclose to one client represented in the dual representation 
confidential information relating to the transaction 
obtained during the representation of another client in the 
same dual representation unless otherwise provided by 
law;  

6. Failing to include the complete terms and conditions of 
the real estate transaction in , including but not limited to 
any lease, property management agreement or offer to 
purchase;  

7. Failing to include in any application, lease, or offer to 
purchase identification of all those holding any deposits;  

8. Knowingly making any false statement or report, or 
willfully misstating the value of any land, property, or 
security for the purpose of influencing in any way the 
action of any lender upon:  

a. Applications, advance discounts, purchase agreements, 
repurchase agreements, commitments or loans;  

b. Changes in terms or extensions of time for any of the 
items listed in this subdivision 8 whether by renewal, 
deferment of action, or other means without the prior 
written consent of the principals to the transaction;  

c. Acceptance, release, or substitution of security for any 
of the items listed in subdivision 8 a of this section 
without the prior written consent of the principals to the 
transaction;  

9. Knowingly making any material misrepresentation or 
making a material misrepresentation reasonably relied 
upon by a third party to that party's detriment; and  

10. Making a false promise through agents, salespersons, 
advertising, or other means.  

18VAC135-20-345. Effect of disciplinary action on 
concurrent licenses. 

The board shall suspend, revoke or deny renewal of existing 
concurrent broker licenses when the board suspends, revokes 
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or denies renewal of another broker’s license held by the 
same individual. 

18VAC135-20-360. Proprietary school standards, 
instructor qualifications and course requirements. 

A. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for a proprietary 
school certificate shall meet the standards provided in §54.1-
2105 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for approval as 
an instructor for prelicense education shall have [ completed a 
"train the trainer" course or its equivalent and shall have ] one 
of the following qualifications: 

1. Baccalaureate degree, a Virginia real estate broker's 
license, and two consecutive years of discipline-free active 
real estate experience within the past five years 
immediately prior to application; 

2. Five consecutive years of discipline-free active 
experience acquired in the real estate field in the past seven 
years immediately prior to application and an active 
Virginia broker's license; or 

3. Expertise in a specific field of real estate who will teach 
only in the area of their expertise. For example, a licensed 
real estate appraiser, with at least five three years of active 
appraisal experience in Virginia, may be approved to teach 
Real Estate Appraisals that field. Such applicants will 
teach only in the area of their expertise and will be 
required to furnish proof of their expertise including, but 
not limited to, educational transcripts, professional 
certificates and letters of reference which will verify the 
applicant's expertise. 

C. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for approval as 
an instructor for continuing education and postlicense 
education shall have expertise in a specific field of real estate 
with at least three years of active experience and will teach 
only in the area of their expertise. Such applicants will be 
required to furnish proof of their expertise including, but not 
limited to, educational transcripts, professional certificates 
and letters of reference that will verify the applicant’s 
expertise. 

C. D. Prelicense courses must be acceptable to the board and 
are required to have a monitored, final written examination. 
Those schools which propose to offer prelicensing courses 
(Principles and Practices of Real Estate, Real Estate 
Brokerage, Real Estate Finance, Real Estate Law or Real 
Estate Appraisal, etc.) must submit a request, in writing, to 
the board prior to offering the course(s) and supply the 
following information: 

1. Course content. All Principles and Practices of Real 
Estate courses must include the 25 topic areas specified in 
18VAC135-20-400. All requests to offer broker courses 
must include a course syllabus acceptable to the board; 

2. Name of the course's text and any research materials 
used for study assignments; 

3. Description of any research assignments; 

4. Copies of test or quizzes; 

5. Information explaining how the "Principles" course will 
require 60 hours of study, or how each broker related 
course will require 45 hours of study, in compliance with 
§54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia; and 

6. Information about recordkeeping for the type of course 
delivery. 

D. E. Providers of continuing education courses shall submit 
all subjects to the board for approval prior to initially offering 
the course. Correspondence and other distance learning 
courses offered by an approved provider must include 
appropriate testing procedures to verify completion of the 
course. The board shall approve courses and the number of 
hours approved for each course based on the relevance of the 
subject to the performance of the duties set forth in §§54.1-
2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. Approval of prelicense, continuing education and 
postlicense education courses shall expire on December 31 
five years from the year in which the approval was issued, as 
indicated on the approval document. 

E. G. All schools must establish and maintain a record for 
each student. The record shall include: the student's name and 
address, the course name and clock hours attended, the course 
syllabus or outline, the name or names of the instructor, the 
date of successful completion, and the board's course code. 
Records shall be available for inspection during normal 
business hours by authorized representatives of the board. 
Schools must maintain all student and class records for a 
minimum of five years. 

F. H. All schools must provide each student with a 
certificate of course completion or other document 
documentation that the student may use as proof of course 
completion. The certificate or other document Such 
documentation shall contain the hours of credit completed. 

[ I. All providers of continuing education courses shall 
electronically transmit course completion data to the board in 
an approved format within five days of the completion of 
each individual course. The transmittal will include each 
student’s name, license number or social security number; the 
date of successful completion of the course; the school’s 
code; and the board’s code. ] 

18VAC135-20-370. Fees.  

A. The application fee for an original certificate for a 
proprietary school shall be $190. 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 4, 2008 

1420 

B. The renewal fee for proprietary school certificates 
expiring biennially on June 30 every two years from the last 
day of the month in which they were issued shall be $90. 

C. If the requirements for renewal of a proprietary school 
certificate, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not 
completed within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the 
certificate, a reinstatement fee of $135 is required. A 
certificate may be reinstated for up to one year following the 
expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee. After 
one year, the certificate may not be reinstated under any 
circumstances and the applicant must meet all requirements 
and apply as a new applicant. If the renewal requirements are 
not completed within 30 days of the expiration date noted on 
the proprietary school approval, the proprietary school shall 
no longer offer board-approved courses. 

D. The application for an original prelicense education 
instructor certificate shall be $190. 

E. The renewal fee for an a prelicense instructor certificate 
expiring biennially on June 30 every two years from the last 
day of the month in which it was issued shall be $75. 

F. If the requirements for renewal of an instructor certificate, 
including receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed 
within 30 days of the expiration date on the certificate, a 
reinstatement fee of $110 is required. A certificate may be 
reinstated for up to one year following the expiration date 
with payment of the reinstatement fee. After one year, the 
certificate may not be reinstated under any circumstances and 
the applicant must meet all requirements and apply as a new 
applicant. 

G. The board in its discretion may deny renewal of a 
certificate for the same reasons it may deny initial approval. 

18VAC135-20-390. Withdrawal of approval. 

The board may withdraw approval of any school, course or 
instructor for the following reasons: 

1. The school, instructors, courses, or subjects no longer 
meet the standards established by the board. 

2. The school or instructor solicits information from any 
person for the purpose of discovering past examination 
questions or questions which may be used in future 
examinations. 

3. The school or instructor distributes to any person copies 
of examination questions, or otherwise communicates to 
any person examination questions, without receiving the 
prior written approval of the copyright owner to distribute 
or communicate those questions. 

4. The school, through an agent or otherwise, advertises its 
services in a fraudulent, deceptive or misrepresentative 
manner. 

5. Officials, instructors or designees of the school sit for a 
real estate licensing examination for any purpose other 
than to obtain a license as a broker or salesperson. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 
FORMS 

Activate/Transfer Application, 02AT (1/02 rev. [ 4/07 
8/07 ] ). 

Add-on Business Entity License Application, 02ADDBUS 
(1/02 rev. 4/07 (rev. 8/07 ] ). 

Broker Education Requirements for Non-Reciprocal 
Examinees, 02BEDREQ (rev. 8/02 6/07). 

Branch Office License Application, 02BRANCH (rev. 8/02 
[ 4/07 8/07 ] ). 

Business Entity License Application, 02BUSENT (rev. 1/02 
[ 4/07 8/07 ] ). 

Business Entity License Transfer Application, 02BUSTR 
(rev. 1/02 [ 4/07 8/07 ] ). 

Certificate of Ownership/Individual Trading Under an 
Assumed or Fictitious Name Application, 02CRTOWN (1/02 
(rev. 7/03 8/07 ] ). 

Certification Request, 02CRTREQ (1/02 (rev. 4/07 8/07 ] ). 

Concurrent Broker Application, 02CONCUR (1/02 (rev. 
4/07 8/07 ] ). 

Consent To Suits and Service of Process Form, 02CTS (rev. 
8/02  [ 7/03 8/07 ] ). 

Experience Verification Form, 02EXP (rev. 1/02 [ 4/07 
8/07 ] ). 

Firm License Application, 02FIRM (rev. 1/03 [ 4/07 
8/07 ] ). 

Firm Name/Address Change Form, 02FNACHG (rev. 1/02 
[ 4/07 8/07 ] ). 

Firm Principal Broker/Officer Change Form, 02PBOCHG 
(rev. 1/ 02 [ 4/07 8/07 ] ). 

Principal Broker and Sole Proprietor By Exam & Upgrade 
License Application, 02PBSPLIC (rev. 8/02 [ 4/07 8/07 ] ). 

Reciprocity Applicant Instructions, 02RECINS (rev. 1/02 
5/07). 

Salesperson and Associate Broker License By Reciprocity & 
Upgrade Application, 02SABLIC 02SABPKG (rev. 8/02 
[ 4/07 8/07 ] ). 
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Supervising Broker for Branch Office/Change Form, 
02SBCHG (rev. 1/02 [ 4/07 8/07 ] ). 

Virginia Salesperson Upgrading to Associate Broker 
License by Exam Application, 02UABLIC (rev. [ 4/07 
8/07 ] ). 

Post License Education and Continuing Education Course 
Approval Application, 02CRS (rev. [ 8/05 8/07 ] ). 

Pre-licensing Education Instructor Application, 02INSTR 
(rev. [ 10/04 8/07 ] ). 

Principal Broker and Sole Proprietor License by Reciprocity 
Application, 02PBPKG (rev. [ 5/07 8/07 ] ). 

Proprietary School Certification Application, 02SCHL (rev. 
[ 9/04 8/07 ] ). 

Salesperson License by Exam Application, 02SALIC (rev. 
[ 4/07 8/07 ] ). 

Place License Inactive Form, 02INA (rev. [ 4/07 8/07 ] ). 

[ Supervising Broker Certification Form, 02SBCERT (eff. 
4/08). ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-222; Filed January 11, 2008, 2:40 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with §2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 
regulations that are necessary to meet the requirements of 
federal law or regulations, provided such regulations do not 
differ materially from those required by federal law or 
regulation. The Department of State Police will receive, 
consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at 
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-20. Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations (adding 19VAC30-20-115). 

Statutory Authority: §52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia; 49 CFR 
Part 390. 

Effective Date: March 6, 2008.  

Agency Contact: LTC Robert Kemmler, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of State Police, Bureau of 
Administrative and Support Services, P.O. Box 27472, 
Richmond, VA 23261-7472, telephone 804-674-4606, FAX 
804-674-2234, or email robert.kemmler@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment exempts private motor carriers operated 
wholly in intrastate commerce from the provisions of 49 
CFR 390.21 relating to the marking of commercial motor 
vehicles. This amendment brings the regulation into 
compliance with the governing federal regulations, 49 
CFR Part 390. 

19VAC30-20-115. Marking of commercial motor 
vehicles - §390.21. 

This section does not apply to private motor carriers 
operated wholly in intrastate commerce.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1108; Filed January 8, 2008, 11:13 a.m 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-190. Regulations Relating to 
the Issuance of Nonresident Concealed Handgun Carry 
Permits (adding 19VAC30-190-10 through 19VAC30-190-
140). 

Statutory Authority: §18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 6, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Ms. Donna Tate, Firearms Manager, 
Department of State Police, FTC, P.O. Box 27472, 
Richmond, VA 23261-7472, telephone (804) 674-2292, FAX 
(804) 674-6704, or email dtate@vsp.state.va.us. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the procedures that will be 
utilized to implement the provisions of §18.2-308 P 1 of the 
Code of Virginia, which authorized the Virginia 
Department of State Police to issue nonresident concealed 
handgun carry permits. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 190 
REGULATIONS RELATING TO THE ISSUANCE OF 
NONRESIDENT CONCEALED HANDGUN CARRY 

PERMITS 

19VAC30-190-10. Purpose. 

The 2004 Virginia General Assembly amended §18.2-308 of 
the Code of Virginia to authorize nonresidents of Virginia to 
apply for a concealed handgun permit. Nonresidents of the 
Commonwealth 21 years of age or older may apply in writing 
to the Virginia State Police for a five-year permit to carry a 
concealed handgun. These regulations set forth the procedure 
for the application for and renewal of nonresident concealed 
handgun carry permits. 

19VAC30-190-20. How to apply. 

Applicants may request an application package by 
contacting the Virginia State Police Firearms Transaction 
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Center in writing at the below address or online at 
nonrespermit@vsp.virginia.gov. 

All written requests must include the applicant’s complete 
name and mailing address. A telephone number is also 
requested. Written requests shall be sent to: 

Firearms Transaction Center 
Nonresident CHP Permits 
Criminal Justice Information Services Division 
Department of State Police 
P.O. Box 85141 
Richmond, VA  23285-5141 

The application package will include a Concealed Handgun 
Permit Application, requirement and qualification 
information, a fingerprint card, a brochure on Virginia 
Firearms Safety and Laws, a checklist, and a return envelope 
for the completed application. 

19VAC30-190-30. Application package. 

Only a complete application package for a nonresident 
concealed handgun carry permit will be processed. A 
complete application package shall include: 

1. Form SP-248, 

2. Proof of competence with a handgun,  

3. Fingerprints,  

4. Two photographs,  

5. Proof of identification, and 

6. The application fee. 

19VAC30-190-40. Application form. 

The form (SP-248 Application for Concealed Handgun 
Permit) will be provided in the application package. 
Additional copies may be downloaded and printed by visiting 
the Virginia State Police forms page at 
http://www.vsp.state.va.us. The application shall be made 
under oath before a notary or other person qualified to take 
oaths. The application must be completed in its entirety. 
Illegible applications will not be processed. 

19VAC30-190-50. Proof of competence with a handgun. 

The applicant shall demonstrate competence with a handgun 
by including in his application package a photocopy of a 
certificate of completion of any such course or class as set 
forth in §18.2-308 P 1, an affidavit from the instructor, 
school, club, organization, or group that conducted or taught 
such course or class attesting to the completion of the course 
or class by the applicant; or a copy of any document that 
shows completion of the course or class or evidences 
participation in firearms competition shall satisfy the 
requirement for demonstration of competence with a 
handgun. 

19VAC30-190-60. Fingerprint cards. 

The application package will contain a Virginia State Police 
Fingerprint Card. The applicant shall submit fingerprints on 
the card provided by the Virginia State Police for the purpose 
of obtaining the applicant's state or national criminal history 
record. 

The Virginia State Police, Firearms Transaction Center, will 
submit the prints through the Central Criminal Records 
Exchange to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the 
purpose of obtaining criminal history record information 
regarding the applicant and obtaining fingerprint 
identification information from federal records pursuant to 
criminal investigations by state and local law-enforcement 
agencies. 

Upon submission of the fingerprint impressions, the 
applicant will be required to provide a telephone number of 
the law-enforcement individual taking the prints to facilitate 
this department’s validation of print authenticity. 

Incomplete cards will be returned to the applicant for 
completion. Illegible impressions will cause the cards to be 
returned to the applicant for reprinting purposes. All other 
cards shall be destroyed upon issuance of the permit. 

19VAC30-190-70. Photographs. 

Every applicant for a nonresident concealed handgun permit 
must submit two photographs for inclusion on the permit. The 
photographs must be: 

1. 2 x 2 inches in width and height. 

2. Identical. 

3. Taken within the past six months. 

4. Color or black and white. 

5. Full face, front view with a plain white or off-white 
background with the head centered in the frame. The 
applicant's head, including both face and hair, should be 
shown from the crown of the head to the tip of the chin on 
top and bottom and from hairline side-to-side. Side or 
angled views are not accepted. 

6. On plain white or off-white backgrounds. Photos with 
dark, busy, or patterned backgrounds will not be accepted. 

7. Taken in normal street attire. Uniforms should not be 
worn in photographs except religious attire that is worn 
daily. The applicant should not wear a hat or headgear. If 
prescription glasses, a hearing device, wig or similar 
articles are normally worn, they should be worn for the 
picture.  Dark glasses or nonprescription glasses with 
tinted lenses are not acceptable unless needed for medical 
reasons. A medical certificate may be required. A 
photograph depicting a person wearing a traditional 
facemask or veil that does not permit adequate 
identification is not acceptable. 
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Digitally reproduced photographs must be reproduced 
without discernible pixels or dot patterns. 

Photocopied photographs are NOT accepted. 

Photographs will not be returned in instances of denied 
applications. 

19VAC30-190-80. Proof of identification. 

The applicant must provide a legible photocopy of a valid 
photo-ID issued by a governmental agency of the United 
States or any political subdivision thereof. 

19VAC30-190-90. Application fee. 

All completed application packages must include a money 
order or cashier’s check in the amount of $100 made payable 
to the Virginia State Police. Receipt of the application 
without payment will cause the unprocessed application 
package to be returned to the applicant. 

The application fee is nonrefundable regardless of the final 
determination of eligibility. 

19VAC30-190-100. Permit renewal. 

The renewal process is identical to the processes and costs 
associated with the original permit. It is suggested that all 
renewal application packages be submitted at least 60 days 
prior to expiration of the existing permit.  

19VAC30-190-110. Change of address. 

Permit holders are requested to notify the Virginia State 
Police, Firearms Transaction Center (FTC) of changes of 
address. Notification may be made in writing to the FTC at 
P.O. Box 85141, Richmond, VA 23285-5141, or online at 
nonrespermit@vsp.virginia.gov, and must include the permit 
file number or a photocopy of the permit. A change of 
address card will be provided to the permit holder to be 
retained with the original permit. 

19VAC30-190-120. Replacement permits. 

A replacement permit may be requested in writing and 
addressed to the FTC at P.O. Box 85141, Richmond, VA 
23285-5141. All requests for replacement must include a 
cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $5.00 made 
payable to the Virginia State Police, and one of the following: 

1. The permit file number, 

2. A photocopy of the permit, or 

3. A photocopy of a valid photo-ID issued by a 
governmental agency.  

A replacement permit will have the same expiration date as 
the permit originally issued. 

19VAC30-190-130. Revocation. 

If the permittee is later found by the Virginia State Police to 
be disqualified, the permit shall be revoked and the person 
shall return the permit after being so notified by the 
Department of State Police.  

19VAC30-190-140. Appeal process. 

If the applicant is denied a nonresident concealed handgun 
permit and does not believe that he has a previous conviction 
or other disqualification that renders him ineligible, he may 
contact the Firearms Transaction Center to discuss the 
ineligible determination and/or to provide additional 
information deemed pertinent to the final determination of 
eligibility. 

Any person denied a permit and not satisfied with the 
explanation provided by the Firearms Transaction Center may 
appeal such denial to the Superintendent of State Police 
provided that any such action is initiated within 30 days of 
the denial by the State Police.  Such appeal must be in 
writing, setting forth any grounds that the applicant wishes to 
be considered. The Superintendent of State Police shall 
consider each such appeal, and will notify the applicant in 
writing of his decision within five business days after the day 
on which the appeal is received. 

Any person denied a permit for inaccurate or false 
information may not reapply for a period of 12 months 
following the date of final denial determination by the 
Superintendent. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available to the 
public by contacting the agency contact for this regulation, or 
at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Application for Concealed Handgun Permit, SP-248 [ , eff. 
7/06 ] . 

Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit, Application Check 
List, rev. 9/07. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-37; Filed January 2, 2008, 9:09 a.m.  

. 
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FORMS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: The following forms have been filed by 
the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. The forms 
are available for public inspection at the Department of 
Mines, Minerals and Energy, 202 North Ninth Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, at the department's Big Stone Gap 
office, 3405 Mountain Empire Road, Big Stone Gap, VA 
24219, or the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. Copies 
of the forms may be obtained from David B. Spears, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 202 North Ninth 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-3212, or 
email david.spears@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 25-130. Coal Surface Mining 
Reclamation Regulations. 
FORMS 

Anniversary Notification, DMLR-PT-028 (eff. 9/99 11/07). 

Anniversary Notification, DMLR-PT-028b (eff. 11/07). 

Change Order Justification, DMLR-AML-065 (eff. 8/99). 

Ground Water Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-101 (rev. 
11/99). 

Application for Exemption Determination (Extraction of Coal 
Incidental to the Extraction Of Other Minerals), DMLR-211 
(rev. 4/96). 

Applicant Violator System (AVS) Ownership Control 
Information, DMLR-AML-003 (rev. 1/95). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Exploratory, DMLR-AML-122 
(rev. 3/98). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Construction, DMLR-AML-123 
(rev. 3/98). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Construction Lien Waiver, 
DMLR-AML-174 (rev. 3/91). 

License for Performance-Acid Mine Drainage Investigations 
and Monitoring (Abandoned Mine Land Program), DMLR-
AML-175c (11/96). 

License for Performance-Acid Mine Drainage Reclamation 
and Construction (Abandoned Mine Land Program), DMLR-
AML-176c, (rev. 12/96). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Ingress/Egress, DMLR-AML-177 
(rev. 3/98). 

Application for Recertification: DMLR 
Endorsement/Blaster's Certification, DMLR-BCME-03 (rev. 
5/05). 

Application for DMLR Endorsement: Blaster's Certification 
(Coal Surface Mining Operation), DMLR-BCME-04 (rev. 
5/05). 

Geology and Hydrology Information Part A through E, 
DMLR-CP-186 (rev. 3/86). 

Sediment and Pond Design Data Sheet, DMLR-CP-187 (rev. 
12/85). 

Notice of Temporary Cessation, DMLR-ENF-220 (rev. 2/96). 

Application for Small Operator's Assistance, DMLR-OA-106 
(rev. 12/85). 

Lands Unsuitable Petition, DMLR-OA-131 (rev. 12/85). 

Application for Permit for Coal Exploration and Reclamation 
Operations (which Remove More Than 250 Tons) and 
NPDES, DMLR-PS-062 (rev. 12/85). 

Chapter 19-Statement for Third Party-Certificate of Deposit, 
DMLR-PS-093 (rev. 12/85). 

Cognovit Note, Part I and II, DMLR-PS-095 (rev. 12/85). 

Application-Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund, DMLR-
PS-162 (rev. 7/89). 

Application for Release of Bond-Estimated Cost, DMLR-PS-
212 (rev. 3/88). 

Application for Release of Bond-Reclamation Fund, DMLR-
PS-213 (rev. 3/88). 

Example-Waiver (300 Feet from Dwelling), DMLR-PT-223 
(rev. 2/96). 

Analysis, Premining vs Postmining Productivity Comparison 
(Hayland/Pasture Land Use), DMLR-PT-012 (eff. 8/03). 

Surety Bond, DMLR-PT-013 (rev. 9/04). 

Surety Bond-Federal Lands, DMLR-PT-013A (rev. 10/95). 

Surety Bond Rider, DMLR-PT-013B (rev. 9/04). 

Map Legend, DMLR-PT-017 (rev. 2/05). 

Certificate of Deposit Example, DMLR-PT-026 (rev. 9/04). 

Form Letter From Banks Issuing a CD for Mining on Federal 
Lands, DMLR-PT-026A (rev. 8/03). 

Operator's Seeding Report, DMLR-PT-011 (rev. 3/06). 

Request for Relinquishment, DMLR-PT-027 (rev. 4/96). 

Water Supply Inventory List, DMLR-PT-030 (rev. 4/96). 

Application for Permit for Coal Surface Mining and 
Reclamation Operations and National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination Systems (NPDES), DMLR-PT-034 (rev. 2/99). 

Request for DMLR Permit Data, DMLR-PT-034info (eff. 
11/07). 
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Application for Permit: Coal Surface Mining and 
Reclamation Operations, DMLR-PT-034D (rev. 8/98 8/07). 

Coal Exploration Notice, DMLR-PT-051 (rev. 11/98). 

Well Construction Data Sheet, DMLR-WCD-034D (rev. 
5/04). 

Sediment Basin Design Data Sheet, DMLR-PT-086 (rev. 
10/95). 

Impoundment Construction and Annual Certification, 
DMLR-PT-092 (rev. 10/95). 

Road Construction Certification, DMLR-PT-098 (rev. 10/95). 

Ground Water Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-101 (rev. 
2/95). 

Rainfall Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-102 (rev. 8/98). 

Pre-Blast Survey, DMLR-PT-104 (rev. 10/95). 

Excess Spoil Fills and Refuse Embankments Construction 
Certification, DMLR-PT-105 (rev. 4/96). 

Stage-Area Storage Computations, DMLR-PT-111 (rev. 
10/95). 

NPDES Discharge Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-119 (rev. 
2/95). 

Water Monitoring Report-Electronic File/Printout 
Certification, DMLR-PT-119C (rev. 5/95; included in 
DMLR-PT-119). 

Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund Application, DMLR-
PT-162 (rev. 4/96). 

Conditions-Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund, DMLR-
PT-167 (rev. 10/95). 

Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund Tax Reporting Form, 
DMLR-PT-178 (rev. 10/95). 

Surface Water Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-210 (rev. 
8/98). 

Application For Performance Bond Release, DMLR-PT-212 
(rev. 4/96). 

Public Notice: Application for Transfer, Assignment, or Sale 
of Permit Rights under Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code 
of Virginia, DMLR-PT-219 (8/96). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia-Cost 
Estimate, Phase I, DMLR-PT-225 (rev. 4/96). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia-Cost 
Estimate, Phase II, DMLR-PT-226 (rev. 4/96). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia-Cost 
Estimate, Phase III, DMLR-PT-227 (rev. 4/96). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia-Pool 
Bonding, Incremental Bond Reduction, DMLR-PT-228 (rev. 
4/96). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia-Pool 
Bonding, Entire Permit Bond Reduction, DMLR-PT-229 
(rev. 9/95). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia-Pool 
Bonding, Entire Permit Bond Release, DMLR-PT-230 (rev. 
4/96). 

Verification of Public Display of Application, DMLR-PT-236 
(8/01). 

Affidavit (Permit Application Information: Ownership and 
Control Information and Violation History Information), 
DMLR-PT-240 (rev. 12/98 7/07). 

Stream Channel Diversion(s) Certification, DMLR-PT-233 
(rev. 2/96). 

Quarterly Acid-Base Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-239 
(rev. 6/95). 

Affidavit (No Legal Change in a Company's Identity), 
DMLR-PT-250 (rev. 12/98). 

Blasting Plan Data, DMLR-PT-103 (rev. 4/96). 

Affidavit (Reclamation Fee Payment), DMLR-PT-244 (rev. 
2/96 7/07). 

Application-National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(NPDES) Permit-Short Form C, DMLR-PT-128 (rev. 5/96). 

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) 
Short Form C-Instructions, DMLR-PT-128A (rev. 5/96). 

Impoundment Inspection Report, DMLR-PT-251 (rev. 
12/93). 

Water Sample Tag, DMLR-TS-107 (rev. 3/83). 

Surface Water Baseline Data Summary, DMLR-TS-114 (rev. 
4/82). 

Diversion Design Computation Sheet, DMLR-TS-120 (rev. 
12/85). 

Sediment Channel Design Data Sheet, DMLR-TS-127 (rev. 
12/85). 

Virginia Stream Survey, DMLR-TS-217 (rev. 1/87). 

Line Transect-Forest Land Count, DMLR-PT-224 (rev. 2/96). 
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Applicant Violator System (AVS) Ownership & Control 
Information, DMLR-AML-003 (rev. 4/97). 

Application for Permit Renewal Coal Surface Mining and 
Reclamation Operations, DMLR-PT-034R (eff. 6/97). 

Application for Coal Exploration Permit and National 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit, DMLR-PT-
062 (formerly DMLR-PS-062) (rev. 6/97). 

Conditions-Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund, DMLR-
PT-167 (rev. 10/95). 

Vibration Observations, DMLR-ENF-032V (eff. 9/97). 

Application for Small Operator Assistance, DMLR-PT-106 
(formerly CP-106) (rev. 9/97). 

Application-National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
Application Instructions, DMLR-PT-128 (rev. 9/97). 

Blasting Plan Data, DMLR-PT-103 (rev. 10/97). 

Request for Relinquishment, DMLR-PT-027 (rev. 1/98). 

Written Findings, DMLR-PT-237 (rev. 1/98). 

Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit, DMLR-PT-255 (rev. 
9/04). 

Confirmation of Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit, 
DMLR-PT-255A (eff. 8/03). 

DMLR-AML-312, Affidavit DMLR-AML-312 (eff. 7/98). 

Indemnity Agreement - Self Bond, DMLR-PT-221 (eff. 
12/07). 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

January 7, 2008 

Administrative Letter 2008-01 

To:  All Property and Casualty Insurers and Rate Service 
Organizations Licensed in Virginia 

Re:  Filing Procedures for Compliance with the Provisions of 
the Terrorism Risk Insurance Program Reauthorization 
Act of 2007 

Several provisions of the initial Terrorism Risk Insurance Act 
of 2002 and the Terrorism Risk Insurance Extension Act of 
2005 have been amended in the 2007 extension and 
reauthorization.  The intent of this letter is to advise you of 
certain provisions of the Terrorism Risk Insurance Program 
Reauthorization Act of 2007 ("the 2007 Act") that may 
require insurers to submit a filing in this state to revise the 
policy forms and endorsements or associated rules and rates 
impacted by the Act. 

One such provision is a change to the definition of a certified 
"act of terrorism" that eliminates the requirement that an 
individual or individuals that carry out an act of terrorism be 
acting on behalf of a foreign person or foreign interest. In 
short, this means that acts formerly considered "domestic" 
terrorism, or designated as "other acts of terrorism" or "non-
certified acts of terrorism" may now be certified "acts of 
terrorism" under the 2007 Act. 

The revised Section 102(1)(A) states, "The term ‘act of 
terrorism’ means any act that is certified by the Secretary [of 
the Treasury], in concurrence with the Secretary of State, and 
the Attorney General of the United States—(i) to be an act of 
terrorism; (ii) to be a violent act or an act that is dangerous 
to—(I) human life; (II) property; or (III) infrastructure; (iii) to 
have resulted in damage within the United States, or outside 
the United States in the case of—(I) an air carrier or vessel 
described in paragraph (5)(B); or (II) the premises of a United 
States mission; and (iv) to have been committed by an 
individual or individuals, as part of an effort to coerce the 
civilian population of the United States or to influence the 
policy or affect the conduct of the United States Government 
by coercion." 

Section 102(1)(B) of the 2007 Act states "No act shall be 
certified by the Secretary as an act of terrorism if—(i) the act 
is committed as part of the course of a war declared by the 
Congress, except that this clause shall not apply with respect 
to any coverage for workers’ compensation; or (ii) property 
and casualty insurance losses resulting from the act, in the 
aggregate, do not exceed $5,000,000." 

The 2007 Act also contains a program trigger of $100 million 
in aggregate industry insured losses resulting from a certified 
act of terrorism before federal reimbursement is activated. 

Another change introduced in the 2007 Act is a new 
disclosure requirement for any policy issued after enactment. 
Specifically, in addition to previous disclosure requirements, 
insurers must now also provide clear and conspicuous 
disclosure to the policyholder of the existence of the $100 
billion cap under Section 103(e)(2), at the time of offer, 
purchase, and renewal of the policy. Such disclosure notices 
are not subject to review or approval in Virginia and should 
not be submitted. 

If an insurer relies on a rate service organization to file loss 
costs and related rating systems on its behalf, no rate filing is 
required unless an insurer plans to use a different loss cost 
multiplier than is currently on file for coverage for certified 
losses. Insurers that develop and file rates independently may 
choose to maintain their currently filed rates or submit a new 
filing.  No supporting documentation, other than a properly 
completed form COF-1, is required for such filings.  Rule, 
rate, and loss costs multiplier filings will be accepted on a 
file-and-use basis, in accordance with §38.2-1906 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

However, notwithstanding the above paragraph, insurers 
electing to file independent workers’ compensation rates for 
terrorism exposures that do not rely upon the approved loss 
costs filed on their behalf by the National Council on 
Compensation Insurance are subject to the 60-day prior filing 
requirements of §38.1-1912 of the Code of Virginia and must 
include full actuarial support for their proposed rates. 

Each insurer must submit for approval the policy language 
that it intends to use in this state to the extent that the insurer 
has not authorized a rate service organization to submit such 
filings on its behalf. Policy forms must define acts of 
terrorism in language consistent with the 2007 Act.  Insurers 
should attempt to mirror, in their independent form filings, 
the language filed on their behalf by rate service 
organizations, to the extent possible, in order to expedite the 
review and approval of such filings. The definitions, terms 
and conditions should be complete and should clearly and 
accurately describe the coverage that will be provided in, or 
excluded from, the policy. Insurers must include language 
that clearly explains the limitations on coverage that may 
apply when certified losses exceed $100 billion in the 
aggregate for all lines of insurance covered by the 2007 Act. 

Insurers must withdraw or replace any currently-approved 
forms that are not in compliance with the 2007 Act, which 
would include any policy forms that make a distinction 
between acts of a foreign person or foreign interest and acts 
of a domestic person or domestic interest. 

Given that the 2007 Act does not contain language that 
nullifies or preempts state laws regarding filing requirements, 
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and in consideration of the time constraints in the 2007 Act, 
the Bureau has issued Administrative Order 11803, a copy of 
which is enclosed.  This administrative order provides a 
temporary suspension of the 30-day prior approval provisions 
of §38.2-317 of the Code of Virginia with respect to terrorism 
forms or endorsements developed in compliance with the 
2007 Act.  Such form filings will be accepted on a file-and-
use basis until the administrative order expires on April 1, 
2008.  The Bureau reserves the right to require any necessary 
corrections after a comprehensive review of the forms has 
been completed. Terrorism form filings received after April 1, 
2008 will again be subject to the 30-day prior approval 
provisions of §38.2-317 of the Code of Virginia. 

Insurers and rate service organizations are encouraged to 
accelerate filing activity in order to achieve compliance with 
the 2007 Act.  In order to assist in this effort, the Bureau will 
perform an expedited review and acknowledgment of any 
filings required by the 2007 Act, provided the attached 
Expedited Filing Transmittal Document is completed, signed, 
and attached to the submission.  In order to make use of this 
voluntary speed to market initiative for revised terrorism-
related forms, rules, and rates, insurers must certify on the 
form that the filing is in compliance with the terms of the 
Terrorism Risk Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 
2007 and the laws of this state. We encourage filers to take 
advantage of the SERFF system for submitting such filings; 
however, expedited handling will apply to both SERFF 
filings and paper filings if the Expedited Filing Transmittal 
Document is completed and attached. 

The 2007 Act is effective until December 31, 2014, unless 
extended by Congress.  The expedited filing procedures 
described in this administrative letter shall take immediate 
effect and shall expire on April 1, 2008. 

/s/ Alfred W. Gross 
Commissioner of Insurance 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
BUREAU OF INSURANCE 

AT RICHMOND, JANUARY 7, 2008 

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 11803 

ORDER SUSPENDING THE REQUIREMENT FOR 
PRIOR APPROVAL OF CERTAIN POLICY FORMS 

OR ENDORSEMENTS REQUIRED FOR 
COMPLIANCE WITH THE TERRORISM RISK 

INSURANCE PROGRAM REAUTHORIZATION ACT 
OF 2007 PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF 

§ 38.2-317 F OF THE CODE OF VIRGINIA 

WHEREAS, it appearing to the Commissioner of Insurance 
that the requirement under § 38.2-317 A of the Code of 
Virginia that policy forms or endorsements be filed for 
approval at least 30 days prior to their effective date is not 
appropriate when such forms must be used by insurers at an 
earlier date in order to comply with the provisions of the 
Terrorism Risk Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 
2007 ("the 2007 Act"), and that such requirements should be 
temporarily suspended in order to assist insurers in their 
efforts to comply with the 2007 Act; 

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that the 30-day prior 
approval requirements of § 38.2-317 A are hereby suspended 
by entry of this order, pursuant to the provisions of § 38.2-
317 F of the Code of Virginia, with respect to the filing of 
policy forms or endorsements necessary for compliance with 
the 2007 Act.  This suspension is effective immediately and 
shall expire on April 1, 2008. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that such forms must comply 
with all other applicable provisions of Title 38.2 of the Code 
of Virginia; and the Commissioner reserves the right to 
require any necessary amendments and corrections after such 
time as a comprehensive review of the exempted forms has 
been performed. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF shall be sent to Mary M. 
Bannister, Deputy Commissioner of Insurance; to all licensed 
rate service organizations; and to all insurance companies that 
are affected thereby. 
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DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Danville 
Investors, LLC 

Citizens may comment on a proposed consent order for a 
development in the City of Danville/Pittsylvania County, 
Virginia. 

Public comment period: February 4, 2008, to March 5, 2008. 

Purpose of notice: To invite the public to comment on a 
proposed consent order. A consent order is issued to a 
business owner or other responsible party to perform specific 
actions that will bring the entity into compliance with the 
relevant law and regulations. It is developed cooperatively 
with the development and entered into by mutual agreement. 

Consent order description: The Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) proposes to issue a consent order to Danville 
Investors, LLC, to address violations of the Virginia 
regulations. The development is located on Rt. 41 North and 
Rt. 743, at the City of Danville/Pittsylvania County line. The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve administrative 
deficiencies of the Virginia Water Protection Program during 
construction of an apartment development, and requires 
payment of a civil charge. 

How a decision is made:  After public comments have been 
considered, DEQ will make a final decision. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public 
by email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by close of business on the final 
day of the public comment period. 

To review the consent order: The public may review the 
proposed consent order on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: G. Marvin Booth, III, Department of 
Environmental Quality, South Central Regional Office, 7705 
Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502, telephone (434) 
582-5120 ext. 6237, FAX (434) 582-5125, or email 
gmbooth@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load - Accomack County 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will host 
a public meeting on a water quality study for Holdens Creek, 
Sandy Bottom Branch, Unnamed Tributary to Sandy Bottom 
Branch, Unnamed Tributary to Pitts Creek, and Petit Branch 
all located in Accomack County on Wednesday, February 13, 
2008. 

The meeting will start at 6 p.m. in the Arcadia Middle School 
cafeteria located at 29485 Horsey Road in Oak Hall. The 

purpose of the meeting is to provide information and discuss 
the study with community members and local government. 

Petit Branch (VAT-D02R-01), Holdens Creek (VAT-C10E-
01), Sandy Bottom Branch (VAT-C10R-02), and Unnamed 
Tributary to Sandy Bottom Branch (VAT-C10R-01), were 
identified in Virginia’s 1998 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 
Report as impaired due to violations of the state’s water 
quality standard for bacteria and do not support the 
Recreation Use.  Segment VAT-C09R-01 of Unnamed 
Tributary to Pitts Creek was listed in Virginia’s 1998 303(d) 
TMDL Priority List and Report because it did not support the 
Aquatic Life Use due to violations of the dissolved oxygen 
water quality standard. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and §62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia, require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia’s 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report and 
subsequent Water Quality Assessment Reports. 

During the study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load for the impaired waters.  A TMDL is the total amount of 
a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards.  To restore water quality, pollutant levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount.  The Virginia 
Departments of Environmental Quality, Conservation and 
Recreation, and Health are working to identify the sources of 
pollution in the watersheds of these streams. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from February 13, 2008, to March 14, 
2008.  For additional information or to submit comments, 
contact Jennifer Howell, Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2111, or email jshowell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Additional information is also available on the DEQ website 
at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Total Maximum Daily Load - Accotink Creek and 
Difficult Run 

Announcement of Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) 
studies to restore water quality in parts of Accotink Creek 
and Difficult Run that have benthic and bacteria 
impairments. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the Virginia Department 
of Conservation and Recreation announce the third Technical 
Advisory Committee (TAC) meeting for the Accotink Creek 
and Difficult Run TMDL studies. 

Technical advisory committee meeting: Tuesday, February 5, 
2008 from 10 a.m. – Noon, Fairfax County Government 
Center, Conference Rooms 2 and 3, 12000 Government 
Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035. 



General Notices/Errata 

Volume 24, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 4, 2008 

1431 

Meeting description: This is the third technical advisory 
committee meeting for this project.  The purpose of this 
meeting is to present draft allocation scenarios and the 
reductions required to reach TMDL goals. 

Description of study: This study addresses two streams 
located in Fairfax County: Accotink Creek and Difficult Run.  

Below is a description of the impaired portions of Accotink 
Creek and Difficult Run that will be addressed in this study: 

 

 

Stream Name Locality Impairments Area 
(miles) Upstream Limit Downstream Limit 

Accotink Creek Fairfax County 
City of Fairfax Fecal Coliform Bacteria 7.35 

Confluence of 
Accotink Creek with 

Calamo Branch 

Start of the tidal 
waters of Accotink 

Bay 

Difficult Run Fairfax County 
City of Fairfax 

E. Coli Bacteria 
Benthic 2.93 

Confluence of 
Difficult Run with 

Captain Hickory Run 

Confluence of 
Difficult Run with 
the Potomac River 

This study covers portions of Accotink Creek and Difficult 
Run that were identified as impaired on the Clean Water Act 
§303(d) list for not supporting the primary contact recreation 
use due to elevated levels of bacteria, as well as a portion of 
Difficult Run that was listed on the 303(d) list for not 
meeting the aquatic life use due to poor health in the benthic 
biological community.  Virginia agencies are working to 
identify the sources of bacteria contamination in the impaired 
portions of Accotink Creek and Difficult Run, and to identify 
the stressors that are affecting the benthic community in 
Difficult Run.  During the study, DEQ will develop a total 
maximum daily load for each impaired stream segment, for 
each specific impaired use.  A TMDL is the total amount of a 
pollutant a water body can receive and still meet water 
quality standards.  To restore water quality, contamination 
levels have to be reduced to the TMDL allocated amount. 

How to comment:  The public comment period on the 
materials presented at the TAC meeting will extend from 
February 5, 2008, to March 6, 2008.  DEQ accepts written 
comments by email, fax, or postal mail. Written comments 
should include the name, address, and telephone number of 
the person commenting, and be received by DEQ during the 
comment period. Please send all comments to the contact 
listed below. 

Contact for additional information: Katie Conaway, Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, email 
mkconaway@deq.virginia.gov. 

Restore Water Quality Upham Brook 
Public meeting: Training Room, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, Virginia, on February 25, 2008, from 
7 p.m. to 9 p.m.  A Technical Advisory meeting also will be 
held on February 25, 2008 in the Training Room from 2 p.m. 
until 4 p.m.  In case of inclement weather, check the DEQ 
website for a rescheduled date. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality and the Department of Conservation 
and Recreation are announcing the finalizing of a study to 
restore water quality, a public comment opportunity, a 
Technical Advisory Committee meeting, and public meeting. 

Meeting description:  Final technical advisory committee and 
public meetings on a study to restore water quality 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in the waters 
of Upham Brook and it’s tributaries, totalling 48.0 river miles 
in Henrico County and the City of Richmond.  These streams 
are impaired for failure to meet the Primary Contact 
(Recreational) designated use because of bacterial standard 
violations. 

The study reports the sources of bacterial contamination and 
recommends total maximum daily loads, or TMDLs, for the 
impaired waters.  A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 
water body can contain and still meet water quality standards.  
To restore water quality, bacterial levels have to be reduced to 
the TMDL amount. 

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL includes 
a public comment period, including public meetings.  After 
public comments have been considered and addressed, DEQ will 
submit the TMDL report to the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, fax 
or postal mail.  Written comments should include the name, 
address and telephone number of the person commenting and be 
received by DEQ during the comment period, February 25, 
2008, to March 26, 2008.  DEQ also accepts written and oral 
comments at the public meeting announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Mark Alling, TMDL 
Manager, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5021, FAX (804)-527-5106, 
email msalling@deq.virginia.gov. 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Drinking Water Construction Funding 

VDH will offer funding informational meetings at six locations throughout the state.  Attendance is on a first come basis and is limited 
to 50 people at each location. 
Material will focus on Drinking Water Construction funding available through VDH.  The Drinking Water State Revolving Fund 
(DWSRF) Program and the Water Supply Assistance Fund (WSAGF) Program will be discussed.  You will be asked for your specific 
suggestions and opinions. 
You will be advised on program updates and then guided through program criteria, program applications, and the project scheduling 
steps needed for smooth project implementation. 
If you plan to attend, please return the form below by February 22, 2008 so we may properly plan the meeting.  You may mail it to 
Theresa Hewlett at the above address or FAX at (804) 864-7521.  If you have any questions, please call Theresa Hewlett at (804) 864-
7501. 
 

I (we) wish to attend the meeting indicated below: 
□  Lexington 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Tuesday, February 26, 2008 at the Virginia Military Institute’s Preston 

Library, Turman Room, Lexington, VA 
□  Danville  9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Wednesday, February 27, 2008 at the Pittsylvania/Danville Health District’s 

Auditorium, 326 Taylor Drive, Danville, VA 
□  Abingdon 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m., Thursday, February 28, 2008 at the Southwest VA Higher Education Center, 

Room 240, Abingdon, VA 
□  Chesterfield 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Monday, March 3, 2008 at the Chesterfield County Health Department’s 

Multi-purpose Room, 9501 Lucy Corr Circle, Chesterfield, VA 

□  Suffolk Area 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Tuesday, March 4, 2008 at the Town of Windsor’s Municipal Building 
Counsel Chamber, 8 East Windsor Blvd., Windsor, VA. (Isle of Wight County) 

□  Culpeper 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Wednesday, March 5, 2008 at the County of Culpeper’s Board of Supervisors 
Room (rear entrance to Administration Bldg. and 3-hr. parking across the street), 302 North Main 
Street, Culpeper, VA 

There will be _______ persons in my party as follows: 
Name   Address   Phone   Representing 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

* * * 
 

We are pleased to announce several opportunities for 
drinking water funding.  Construction applications may be 
submitted year round.  However, applications received after 
the due date stated below will be considered for funding in 
following cycle.  As described below, funding is made 
possible by our Drinking Water State Revolving Fund 
(DWSRF) Program.  We anticipate having at least $10 
million.  Also the enclosed attachment describes our Water 
Supply Assistance Grant Fund Program.  Our FY 2009 
DWSRF Intended Use Plan will be developed using your 
input on these issues. 

(1) 1452(k) Source Water Protection Initiatives - (Yellow 
application) Must be postmarked by March 28, 2008. 

This provision allows VDH to loan money for activities to 
protect important drinking water resources.  Loan funds 
are available to: (1) community and non-profit 
noncommunity waterworks to acquire land/conservation 
easements and (2) to community waterworks, only, to 
establish local, voluntary incentive-based protection 
measures. 

(2) Construction Funds – (Cream application) Must be 
postmarked by March 28, 2008. 

Private and public owners of community waterworks and 
nonprofit noncommunity waterworks are eligible to apply 
for construction funds. VDH makes selections based on 
criteria described in the Program Design Manual, such as 
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existing public health problems, noncompliance, 
affordability, regionalization, the availability of matching 
funds, etc.  Readiness to proceed with construction is a key 
element.  A Preliminary Engineering Report must be 
submitted if required by VDH.  An instruction packet and 
Construction Project Schedule are included. 

(3) Set-Aside Suggestion Forms – (White form) Must be 
postmarked by March 28, 2008. 

Anyone has the opportunity to suggest new or continuing 
set-aside (nonconstruction) activities.  Set-aside funds help 
VDH assist waterworks owners to prepare for future 
drinking water challenges and assure the sustainability of 
safe drinking water.   

(4) Planning & Design Grants – (Gray application) Must 
be postmarked by August 29, 2008. 

Private and public owners of community waterworks are 
eligible to apply for these grant funds.  Grants can be up to 
$25,000 per project for small, rural, financially stressed, 
community waterworks serving fewer than 3,300 persons.  
Eligible projects may include preliminary engineering 
planning, design of plans and specifications, performance 
of source water quality and quantity studies, drilling test 
wells to determine source feasibility, or other similar 
technical assistance projects.  These funds could assist the 
waterworks owner in future submittals for construction 
funds. 

The VDH’s Program Design Manual describes the features of 
the above opportunities for funding. After receiving the 
aforementioned public input, VDH will develop a draft 
Intended Use Plan for public review and comment.  When 
developed in August, the draft Intended Use Plan will 
describe specific details for use of the funds.  A public 
meeting is planned for October and written comments will be 
accepted before we submit a final version to the USEPA for 
approval. 

You may request the applications, set-aside suggestion form, 
Program Design Manual and information from and forward 
any comments to Dale Kitchen, P.E., FCAP Project 
Supervisor, by writing, calling, or faxing at the above 
address.  The materials are also accessible on our website 
www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinkingwater/financial. 

 

* * * 

Funding is made possible by our Water Supply Assistance 
Grant Fund which is all grant funding. 

The 1999 General Assembly created the Water Supply 
Assistance Grant (WSAG) Fund in Section 32.1-171.2 of the 
Code of Virginia.  The purpose of the WSAG is to make 
grant funds available to localities and owners of waterworks 
to assist in the provision of drinking water. 

Funds are available by submitting an application postmarked 
on or before the dates indicated for the following: 

(1) Planning Grants – Application must be postmarked by 
August 29, 2008. 

Of available funding, $60,000 or 16.67% will be used for 
planning needs.  Your application cannot exceed this 
amount. 

In ranking of applications, preference is given to those that 
address problems of small, rural, community waterworks 
with multi-jurisdictional support. The applicant submits 
the current VDH planning application to VDH. To 
promote coordination of funding and streamline the 
process for applicants, grants are prioritized in accordance 
with rating criteria of the current DWSRF Program. For 
WSAGF funding purposes only, up to fifty (50) extra 
points are added to the DWSRF rating criteria relative to 
the Stress Index rank. 

Eligible activities may include (but not be limited to): 
Capacity building activities addressing regionalization or 
consolidation, performance of source water quality and 
quantity studies, drilling test wells to determine source 
feasibility, income surveys, preliminary engineering 
planning, design and preparation of plans and 
specifications, or other similar technical assistance 
projects. 

(2) Surface Water Development or Improvement Grants – 
Application must be postmarked by March 28, 2008. 

Of available funding, $200,000 or 55.55% will be used for 
community waterworks surface source water development 
or improvement activities.  Your application cannot exceed 
this amount. 

The applicant submits the current VDH construction 
application to VDH.  In ranking of applications, preference 
is given to those that address problems of small, rural, 
community waterworks with multi-jurisdictional support.  

Eligible activities may include: land purchase, options to 
purchase land, general site development costs, and dam 
upgrade and construction. 

(3) Small Project Construction Grants – Application must 
be postmarked by March 28, 2008. 

Of available funding, $100,000 or 27.78% will be used for 
small project construction that is defined as a project 
whose total project cost does not exceed $50,000. Eligible 
activities may include (but not be limited to): upgrade or 
construction of well or spring sources, waterlines, storage 
tanks, and treatment. 

The applicant submits the current VDH construction 
application to VDH.  To promote coordination of funding 
and streamline the process for applicants, grants are 
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prioritized in accordance with rating criteria of the current 
DWSRF Program. For WSAGF purposes only, up to thirty 
(30) extra points are added to the VDH rating criteria 
relative to the Stress Index rank. Preference is given to 
community waterworks. This priority system ensures that 
all eligible acute or chronic health/ SDWA compliance 
projects are funded before any other eligible project.  

The VDH’s WSAGF Program Guidelines describes the 
features of the above opportunities for funding.  

You may request the applications or Program Guidelines 
from us by writing, calling, or faxing at the above address.  
The applications are also accessible on our website 
www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinkingwater/financial. 

January 9, 2008 
DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Notice of Opportunity for Public Comment - 
Guidelines for Determining the Length of Stay of 

Juveniles Indeterminately Committed to the 
Department of Juvenile Justice ("Length of Stay 

Guidelines") 
NOTICE is hereby given that the Board of Juvenile Justice is 
considering modifications to its Guidelines for Determining 
the Length of Stay of Juveniles Indeterminately Committed 
to the Department of Juvenile Justice ("Length of Stay 
Guidelines") as adopted by the Board of Juvenile Justice on 
October 24, 2001.  The board is opening a 45-day public 
comment period and will consider written comments 
submitted from February 4, 2008, through March 20, 2008. 

In addition to written public comments, the board will 
provide a public hearing on the proposed Length of Stay 
Guidelines on Tuesday, April 8, 2008, from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. 
at the General Assembly Building, House Room C, 9th & 
Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  The board will 
also provide a brief public comment period during its 
regularly scheduled business meeting on Wednesday, April 
9, 2008, at 10 a.m. during the board meeting in House Room 
C of the General Assembly Building, 9th & Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Background – Statutory Authority & Mandated Solicitation 
of Public Comments 

Except for juveniles committed as "serious juvenile 
offenders" under §16.1-285.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
commitments to the department "shall be for an 
indeterminate period having regard to the welfare of the 
juvenile and interests of the public" (Virginia Code §16.1-
285).  Virginia Code §66-10 gives the State Board of 
Juvenile Justice the authority to establish length-of-stay 
guidelines for juveniles indeterminately committed to the 
department.  Virginia Code §66-10 further requires the State 
Board of Juvenile Justice to make the guidelines available for 
public comment. 

Purpose and Intent of the Revision. The modifications are 
intended to update the Length of Stay Guidelines that were 
adopted in 2001.  The department is granted broad discretion 
to determine when a juvenile should be released, and the 
State Board of Juvenile Justice is directed to provide 
"guidelines" that the department consults in making decisions 
concerning a ward’s length of stay and release.  Broadly 
speaking, the role of the board’s guidelines is to express the 
factors that should be weighed in deciding when to release an 
indeterminately committed juvenile.  The department is 
responsible for applying these guidelines generally and for 
making exceptions with regard to the welfare of the juvenile 
and the interests of the public. 

Copies of the Proposed Length of Stay Guidelines. A copy of 
the 2001 Length of Stay Guidelines, which is currently in 
effect, is available from the Regulatory Town Hall at 
www.townhall.virginia.gov, Department (Board) of Juvenile 
Justice, Guidance Documents.  The draft of the proposed 
Length of Stay Guidelines may be obtained (1) from the 
department’s website at www.djj.virginia.gov; (2) from the 
Legislative and Regulatory Unit at the Department of 
Juvenile Justice 700 E. Franklin Street, 4th Floor, P.O. Box 
1110, Richmond, Virginia 23218-1110; (3) by calling Janet 
Van Cuyk at (804) 371-4097 or email at 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov; or (4) from the Regulatory 
Town Hall, Future Meetings, Department (Board) of Juvenile 
Justice, April 8, 2008. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Elimination of the Calendar of Events Section 

Effective July 1, 2007, the Calendar of Events section is no 
longer published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 
Chapter 300 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly amended the 
Administrative Process Act by eliminating the requirement 
that all state agency meeting notices be published in the 
Virginia Register.  In lieu of publication in the Virginia 
Register, the Virginia Freedom of Information Act was 
amended to require that agencies post meeting notices on the 
agency's website and on the Commonwealth Calendar 
maintained by the Virginia Information Technologies 
Agency.  To access the Commonwealth Calendar, please visit 
the Commonwealth of Virginia's homepage at 
www.virginia.gov and click on the calendar on the right side 
of the screen. Public hearing information is still published in 
the Register and can be found with the corresponding 
proposed regulation. 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219.
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Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based 
application called RIS for filing regulations and related items 
for publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office 
has worked closely with the Department of Planning and 
Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and 
enhance one another by sharing pertinent regulatory 
information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form 
only; however, until further notice, agencies must continue to 
file print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation. 

Publication: 23:25 VA.R. 4100 August 20, 2007. 

Correction to Notice of Intended Regulatory Action: 

Correct the Virginia Register document number printed at the 
bottom of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action from 
"R07-805" to "R07-128." 
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS 

 




